Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Italy & its Islands > Alps > Traditions of South Tyrol

Traditions of South Tyrol

Hospitality & harmony in the mountains
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mr G Wynd  St. Andrews August 2018

Outstanding hotel - bedroom, public rooms, garden, all beautifully kept. Immaculate service - professional, friendly, respectful, attentive, responsive, caring. Superb food - breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. Wonderful position - breathtaking scenery, short distances, great bus service. Lots of really memorable walks interspersed with delightful mountain cafes

 

Mr R Ireland  Romney Marsh August 2018

A really lovely holiday again with Inntravel. The location, hotel and scenery was amazing. Many thanks to the hotel proprietors for all their help and assistance thoughout. Food in the hotel was really special with themed nights, afternoon cakes and excellent service from all the staff. There is a lovely relaxing spa and wellbeing service offered in the hotel, which we used on a couple of occasions to revitalise our bodies and minds. The use of the local free bus and train pass, with free bike for the day was incredible and really easy to use. Cycling in this area was a pleasure with a lovely cycle path that follows the valley river for miles, drop the bike off and catch the train back. The routes were really well way marked, hardly needing to refer to the notes or maps. Well done Inntravel you provide an excellent service, with attention to detail clearly very apparent.

 

Mrs C L Putney  Cirencester July 2018

One of the best of our many Inntravel holidays. The Goldene Rose hotel is very special and in a lovely part of the world. Rooms are great, and the food and wine excellent, and very plentiful with great breakfasts, excellent 5 course suppers and lovely tea and cakes which are generously offered from 3 to 5. After many itinerant Inntravel holidays it is nice to have one where you stay in one place but have a marvellous choice of walks from that one place. The bus makes it very easy to access different walks. All of the walks were great and each had their own highlights. Each had at least one mountain hut offering an inviting place to stop and eat. On route A: Unserer Frau & Vernagt, I would suggest taking the bus to Vernagt, following the recommended route clockwise round the lake then walking back to Karthaus. This avoids the need to wait for a bus at the end of the day and ensures lunch stops are available at a suitable time. We didn't request a stay a Bella Vista as we felt this would take 2 days and we wanted to make the most of our time there. Merano was good for a rest day and the botanical gardens very nice. We walked up to the gardens and took the bus down but taking it up as well would give one more time in Merano. Route C: Meraner Hohenweg is less demanding than the others but quite different so well worth doing. We walked further along the path than the Eishof and were rewarded by the sight of Ibex and Marmots. 

Anon   July 2018

We chose this holiday because of the flexibility of the walking and the availability of a wide range of other activities if we chose not to walk. This meant that my osteoarthritic knees had as much or as little challenge as they needed for the day. In the event, using two walking poles for the first time, I managed to exceed my expectations of distance because the trails were generally excellent, with good surfaces and well used. Close study of the map, alongside the Inntravel notes, allowed us to identify the routes which avoided very steep ascents and descents. We were enthralled by the wonderful Alpine scenery, the multitude of wildflowers and butterflies and a sighting of a black squirrel. A day trip to visit Otzi, the Ice Man (whose body was found nearby to Karthaus), was well worth it although we had to queue for a while to get into the museum. Karthaus itself was magical, with art installations for the annual Arts Festival complementing the wonderful ambience of the historical monastic buildings and its location on the Via Monachorum, with the themed Silentium trail to follow (permanent signboards are in German and Italian). The tranquil hotel was excellent for rest and recuperation, with the 5 course dinners providing a good variety of beautifully cooked local food (no dish was repeated in the week we were there) and easy substitutions for dietary difficulties.  The outdoor dining and beautiful gardens added to the experience. The comfortable bed was blissful at the end of a long day but the private sauna made soothing aching muscles even more pleasurable.  All in all a wonderful week of Alpine walking in a variety of terrains as well as sight-seeing, cable car trips and good food.

Anon, Newcastle upon Tyne.   June 2018

We combined the High Dolomites with Traditions of South Tyrol and it worked very well. This was probably one of our best Inntravel holidays with great hotels and walks. We are definitely grade 2 walkers rather than grade 3 but making use of cable cars and chair lifts we were able to access some fantastic walks. A highlight in the High Dolomites was taking the chair lift up to Williamshutte and climbing to Plattkofel Hutte where we explored the plateau paths around the hutte, seeing edelweiss in profusion on the way to Plattkofelalm and enjoying amazing views. Lunch at the Plattkofelalm ( visible from Plattkofel Hutte) which makes its own bread and cheese is recommended. 

The transfer by car to Karthaus for Traditions of South Tyrol was very easy.

The Goldene Rose Hotel is a wonderful comfortable hotel, well placed for walks accessed by efficient local buses up and down the valley. Again, the walking and views are spectacular. The meals are excellent and staff and the owners, Paul and Steffi, very friendly and helpful. The highlight here was the night in the refugio at over 2,800M. This is a traditional wooden refugio with great views over the glacier (see it soon before it melts away, the retreat of the glacier in photos from 1968 at the refugio is frightening). We got the cable car up to over 3000M and walked down to the refugio - a steep but stunning walk in the high mountains. After arriving at the refugio we had lunch on the terrace overlooking the mountains then explored a path  that goes over the border into Austria, not far at all. Dinner was very good, rustic mountain food and plenty of it. Next morning we walked down the path 3 with views over the mountain ranges as far as the eye can see. This is a lovely well graded path though it took us longer than the optimistic sign at the top suggested! 

We took a trip to Bolzano to see Otzi which was well worth the two bus rides to get there. We caught Bus 201 to Bolzano from Merano instead of the train which worked well for us as it drops off in the centre of Bolzano. The cycle ride to Meran was also great fun.

To finish our holiday in Verona, we enjoyed a meal at the Antica Bottega del Vino, one of the Inntravel recommended restaurants then saw the opera Turandot at the Arena. A great end to an amazing holiday.

Inntravel does it again!

Mrs E Beaver  Leeds June 2018

I can only echo what other holidaymakers have said: beautiful village, outstanding hotel (especially rooms and food) and lovely quiet valley, but well signposted, easy to follow walking routes. As others have mentioned, it is useful to 'brush up' on a bit of German (or Italian) for this holiday as English isn't as widely used as in parts of Austria we've visited.

Mr J Mackinnon  Haddington June 2018

Zur Goldene Rose remains one of our favourite places and it really is superb. The hotel in Matschner was a bit disappointing but to compare it with Zur Goldene Rose would be unfair.  It was nothing like as good as the hotel we stayed in near Jehnbach on an Inntravel Try it Out Winter Break; a week there was too long.

Mr R Batson  London June 2018

The Goldene Rose is a brilliant hotel - nothing was too much trouble. And the walking in the Senales valley is fabulous.

Mrs J Styles  Chelmsford June 2018

This is the first time we have travelled with Inntravel and the holiday lived up to all of our expectations. The location of the hotel and walks available, coupled with the excellent food, wine and service we received there, meant we had a relaxing, enjoyable week, so much so that we booked another walking holiday with Inntravel as soon as we got home. 

Anon   September 2017

With the excellent Golden Rose Hotel in the interesting and pretty little village of Certosa providing a base, the Senales Valley provides an unusually wide range of walking for a full week. The young and fit can explore the higher reaches of the Oztaler range at 3000m (using the Bella Vista and perhaps Similaun refuges), while the rest of us can have a wonderful week's walking in what is a remote, quiet and traditional High Sud Tyrol Alpine valley.

As footnotes, the top of the cable car at Maso Corto is at 3205m and that altitude should not be taken for granted; with Maso Corto at 2000m and Certosa at 1330m taking buses up the valley and walking down makes for easier walking; snow in late September impeded us.   

Mr C Weir  New Zealand August 2017

We chose this holiday as it offered the opportunity to be based in one location for a week without the need for daily transfers and were not disappointend. Val Senales has numerous walks and these dovetail effectively with the very efficient local transport network. Mr & Mrs Gruner and their team looked after us admirably. For us, the highlight of the week was the trip led by Paul Gruner to his alpine hut (Schone Aussicht Hutte) where we enjoyed a marvellous lunch surrounded by very impressive mountain peaks.

Mrs S Fordyce  Matlock August 2017

All our earlier Inntravel walking holidays have been moving from place to place and this was the first time we had stayed at one hotel for the week.  We met Steffi at the Discovery Day at Harrogate and had wanted to go to the Golden Rose since then.  It was a perfect place to stay, very welcoming and friendly, fantastic food and a beautiful area to explore.  And being able to spend a night at the Refuge was an added bonus.

 

Mrs N Watson  Denbigh July 2017

We've travelled with Inntravel 5 times now, and this one was one of the best. The South Tyrol is beautiful. We loved the walks, especially Val di Fosse. But the Goldene Rose hotel was the best surprise of all. Incredibly welcoming and superbly comfortable. We had upgraded to a Rosenzimmer suite (highly recommended). Beds and ambience were fantastic. Sleep was blissful even though we overlooked the village on a corner (quadruble glazing cuts out every sound). We loved it so much that we declined the offer of a night at Bella Vista. Didnt want to leave! We used the cable car to visit that for the day instead. The entire hotel exudes luxury, peace and recuperation. Food was amazing, with 5 courses every night. Vegetarian options were no problem at all with plenty of choice from the "a la carte" menu if you ask. We stopped overnight en route at the Weissez Kreuz Hotel in Innsbruck. Granted that wasn't "silent", but the medieval street atmosphere totally made up for it. What a characterful place.

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers enjoyed Traditions of South Tyrol after our city break in Innsbruck

Mrs R Trump  Usk July 2017

We were lucky enough to have the 'penthouse'. This was a real treat although other rooms we saw looked more than adequate. The biggest treat of all were the Grüners, so hands-on without being obtrusive and so charming. The Goldene Rose is a seriously good hotel. 

Dr C McDermott  Pudsey July 2017

Blissful location and fabulous outdoor opportunities.

Mr B Brooksbank  Frome June 2017

Very friendly welcome and service from all hotel staff.  A personal highlight was the visit to Trauttmansdorff Castle gardens which were outstanding.  We were also lucky enough on one of our walks to see a family of ibex.

Mr J Mackinnon  Haddington June 2017

Zur Goldene Rose is an exceptional hotel with a wide range of beautiful walks in the Schnalstal. The first and fourth hotels on week 1 were excellent, the second so/so but Baur am See was poor; there are better options in Toblach, even staying in one of the rifugios. 

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers did our Dolomites Three Peaks holiday followed by our Traditions of South Tyrol holiday (the Zur Goldene Rose is the accommodation for the latter holiday).

 

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›