Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617005

+44 (0)1653 617005search
      our holidays > Winter Snow Breaks > Norway > Rustad Hotel, Sjusjøen

Rustad Hotel, Sjusjøen

Tranquil yet dramatic scenery above Lillehammer

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs A Robinson  North Walsham February 2017

Superb, well-groomed trails. We particularly enjoyed the routes over the fells.

Take plenty of lunch because the cafés may not be open and the portions at dinner are quite small if you've been skiing all day. And take a travel kettle to avoid paying to have your flask filled. 

Mrs A Martin  Epsom February 2017

Personal highlight was being able to ski further and faster than we had done when we visited in 2010!  We had a fantastic week - thank you to all at Inntravel and at the Rustad.

anon   February 2017

Sjusjoen - the X-c skiing is safe and easy and great for older people like me who think they are getting too old for it! The Rustad Hotel is very, very comfortable and the staff very helpful. The journey from Oslo is very easy.

Hindsaeter - the food was excellent but overall the holiday was a little disappointing; not just the lack of good, fluffy snow but in comparison the Hotel lacked warmth (charm really). The lounges are not places to spend the evening (too large and cold) and as the guest rooms are quite small this is not ideal.

Alison, London   January 2017

Please note that the hotel doesn't provide shampoo or showergel and only very miniature bars of soap. It would be helpful if Inntravel could advise guests of this in the information pack as it is frustrating to have to go to the local supermarket to buy these items. In our experience most hotels provide these as standard.

The cross country skiing is literally from the hotel door and the choice of trails is excellent. The hotel is clean and friendly.

Mrs L Parker  Wells February 2016
Arriving in Oslo in early February in the rain, surrounded by green fields was a bit of a shock..... Snow appeared as the train travelled north and, during the taxi drive from Lillehammer to Rustad, it became reassuringly thicker. It appears that Scandinavia has had the same sort of "special" weather that we have had in the UK this winter.
The week was very good. There were days of crystal clear air when the snow glittered and the icicles on the fir trees sparkled in the low angle of the winter sun. The trails were beautifully groomed as ever and the silence and sense of isolation are always nourishing for the soul. Personal highlights were: skiing down the Birkebeiner to Lillehammer and catching the bus back, managing much longer trails than in previous years and finding the newly rebuilt "wigwam" on the Kroksjoen Lake, complete with cushioned benches, in time for a mid-morning break. Also, hot chocolate and cinnamon buns in front of the open fire in the cafe at Ljosheim.
Mr G Hood  Stockport February 2016
The Rustad Hotel was excellent, located in the heart of an extensive network of cross country trails which were well maintained. We will definitely return.
Sally  South Devon January 2016
We loved the fact that for each of the 6 days we went on different trails in different directions.... what great scenery, peace, tranquillity and space. There are little cafes in each of the local settlements too which were all different and gave a lovely experience of meeting the local people, they varied from 6km to 14km away in distance from, the Rustad Hotel.  
Great for classic and for skating cross-country skiing.
I enjoyed the opportunity to practise speaking a little Norwegian and French too! We will definitely be returning to the Rustad Hotel - every other guest from many nationalities as well as English, whom we met in the Hotel seemed to have been there at least 10 times! Next time we will be taking a travel kettle, flask and a supply of tea bags and we recommend others do too.

 
Mr A Kukielka  Guildford January 2016
Excellent first experience of Nordic skiing in a fantastic setting in the company of very friendly people. Brilliant short notice organisation by Inntravel, we will definitely use them again.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›