Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Spain & its Islands > Canary Islands > Canyons, Caves & Coast of Gran Canaria

Canyons, Caves & Coast of Gran Canaria

An island on a grand scale

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anon   May 2019

The views of Mount Teide from the Parador and the walk up to Roque Nublo were the major highlights on this holiday. The walks were varied with some through forests, others on exposed ridges and some requiring steep ascents and descents of the many barrancos. One useful tip would be to acquire detailed walking maps of the areas to be visited as many paths are not shown on the standard 1 to 50,000 maps.

Mrs J Aitchison  Nottingham April 2019

A great variety of routes, showing the different sides of the landscape of Gran Canaria, with spectacular, breathtaking views and beautiful flower meadows (April departure). The varied accommodation was excellent. I was very impressed also that the message about my being vegetarian had been passed on to our hosts. 

Mr M Storey  Stratford-upon-avon February 2019

Highlights: every day's walking was fabulous. We were amazed by the scenery - we hadn't realised that Gran Canaria was so scenic and varied. We were very impressed by the lush vegetation in the north of the island. We walked in early March and were blessed by excellent weather but we could imagine some of the tracks being very challenging in poor weather.

Anon   February 2019

The highlights were the walk from Cruz Grande to Cruz de Tejeda via Roque Nublo which was a great challenge and then the ravine walk the next day. Probably the most testing walking we have done on an Inntravel holiday.

Ms C Williams  Teddington January 2019

Truly stunning walking across a wide variety of terrains - we loved every minute of it!

Mr W Bowie  Peebles December 2018

Delightful holiday with varied, if at times challenging walking. The descent of the real path to El Sao was well worth the effort. We had warm (mid 20s deg C), clear and sunny weather, which for December we understand is not always the case, but really made it for us. Accommodation was very good with welcoming staff, although evening meals could at times be a little disappointing. Overall a most enjoyable week.

Mr C Glover  Tunbridge Wells November 2018

Excellent views and the walks through the pine forests are particularly memorable. Spectacular scenery of the barrancos. We devised our own route to walk from Artenara to Tejeda using the map provided but this proved to be a mistake as the paths marked on the map did not seem to exist and we spent too much time and walked far too far. However, if it is possible to include in the walking directions an easy-ish route it would give people the option to walk to Tejeda from Artenara as there is plenty of time to do so in a day.

We found our walking poles extremely helpful, particularly in steep descents, and suggest clients are advised to this effect.  

Mrs P Haworth  Dawlish November 2018

Highlights included: The views from the terrace at the Parador (when we eventually saw them due to mist/rain). All of the tracks were superb with different scenery throughout the trip from mountains to pine forests with autumn colours. We also saw some amazing rainbows (although would have preferred to have seen the sun). Relaxing by the pool at the Finca on the last morning surrounded by orange trees.

Mr AR Jones  Burton-on-trent November 2018

This fairly challenging walking holiday does not fail to deliver stunning scenery and a thigh crunching experience. The transfer day from San Bartolome to Cruz de Terjede was the highlight of the week, long, strenuous but very beautiful, ending with a relaxing seat in front of a roaring log fire at the El Refugio. We think the next transfer day from Cruz de Terjede to Fontanales was equally beautiful but a day of continuous rain and low cloud meant we had to guess what it should have looked like. We also recommend that you take Inntravel's advice when staying at The Rural Finca Las Longueras to have lunch in Puerto de las Nieves as there are many sea front restaurants to choose from. Take a taxi back, as the walk along the road is not a great walk to end the week on, but don't miss the little Botanical Garden and the Necopolis.

Mr W Sayer  Ledbury October 2018

The highlight of the trip was Cruz de Tejeda and we would happily have spent more days there to explore further. We recommend getting fit before you start the trip and carrying more water than you expect, especially if it's very hot.

Dr JDR Vass  Dunblane April 2018

Fontanales was very good but the Finca Las Longueras was a gem. The necropolis [near Agaete] was unexpectedly fascinating and lunch at the coast all you had suggested. Some more clarity about the possible incidence of wet weather on the top might have helped as if it is cloudy/misty there is a limited list of options at Cruz de Tejeda. The restaurant there was good but they do want you in and out at speed in sharp contrast to most places in Spain, mainland or islands! Never was food produced so quickly or cleared at such speed!

As soon as the weather improved/we descended the scenery and surroundings were simply SUPER.

Ms J Baker  London April 2018

Highlights were the first day circular walk and the walk from Fontanales to Las Longueras for views and flowers.

Peter & Anne Backhouse, Edinburgh   April 2018

The walks were mostly long and strenuous but we really enjoyed the way the landscape and vegetation changed, depending on the altitude and direction. The Hotel Las Longueras and the visit to the coffee plantation and vineyard at Finca La Laja combined to make a relaxing conclusion to the week.

archie   March 2018

Wonderful mixture of scenery, views and flowers. Excellent hospitality and interesting food. Challenging, well-described walking...

Mr S Richards  Birmingham March 2018

This was one of the best weeks walking I have ever done! 

Dr R Nicholas  Abergavenny February 2018

Day 2 walk, despite being long, was amazing, particularly the detour to the Roque Noble. Good 3G or 4G mobile signal in the hotels without wifi, allowing you to use a smartphone as a hotspot to connect tablets, etc, to watch UK TV, if required (if you have enough data available!)

Mr N Blake  Oswestry February 2018

The scenery was fantastic and each day of the walk provided different views and interesting surroundings. The walking notes were detailed and easy to follow and provided interesting background information. The variety of plants and trees was surprising and added to the enjoyment of the walks. There was plenty of opportunity to sample local food and drink in the hotels and at lunchtimes. We hope to book with Inntravel again soon.

Mr J Niblett  Pinner February 2018

Our first Inntravel holiday was a great success and we will definitely consider Inntravel for all future trips of this type. I would recommend anyone to spend an extra day at Cruz de Tejeda. There are a number of interesting walking options from there and the views from the ridge just outside the hotel of the Tejeda Valley, surrounding mountains and as far as Mount Teide on Tenerife are to die for. Throughout, there are several long, steep descents on rough paths so that walking poles are definitely worthy of consideration. Hotel Las Longueras was a great place to end the trip with a fantastic view of the mountains from the breakfast area, a lovely garden to relax in and an opportunity to chat to other guests at the communal dinner table.

Dr S Brown  Sheffield February 2018

Spectacular scenery but head for heights needed. Challenging walking but distances fine. Friendly local people, and some lovely cafes in Artenara. Sadly the weather during our weeks walking was very wet!

Mrs J McGeough  Ireland January 2018

We had a fantastic holiday despite quite extreme weather conditions. The walks were challenging and the landscape breathtaking. We enjoyed meeting other walkers on the same route and ended up sharing walks and mealtimes together. We recommend bringing gear for all weathers as we had hail stones, 3 degrees celsius and torrential rain which we weren't expecting - next time we will pack rain ponchos and thermals!  We recommend a little cafe on the descent into Agaete at the converted church at Refugio El Hornillo - run by German hosts - we had a delicious lunch, warm hospitality and a very welcome break. 

Mr G Healey  Norway January 2018

Beautiful scenery - when you can see it. In January the hills and mountains can be in cloud and the north side of the island can be cold and wet, pack appropriate clothing.  Book any personal transfers well in advance and make sure that they are confirmed.

Mr M Wilson  Derby January 2018

Interesting holiday gives a flavour of true Gran Canaria. Walking good, have to be relatively fit to do all the walks, we enjoyed it, would do another similar holiday. Great views.

Ms S Ornellas  Braunton January 2018

We enjoyed walking independently and it was great to arrive at the next accommodation and discover that our bags were already there! We also enjoyed meeting other Inntravellers staying at various hotels throughout our holiday.

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers combined the walks Hidden Gem of the Canaries and Canyons, Caves & Coast of Gran Canaria

Mr R Cohen  London December 2017

We had a fantastic holiday and very much regret returning to England! We all - including our two sons aged 18 and 20 - enjoyed every aspect of the holiday, especially the stunning scenery, the warm hospitality and the excellent food. We extended the trip to 12 days by adding three extra nights to the beginning of the holiday (on our own) and two to the end (extended by Inntravel). For those extra days we contacted Rambling Roger (www.ramblingroger.com) to buy walk plans and take advice on where to stay at the start of holiday (Hotel Casa de Los Cammellos in Aguimes).

Based on our experience, we would also recommend early December as a good time for the trip. We had no rain until we were safely in the final hotel and all of the paths were reasonably firm and not overgrown. Day time temperatures were great for walking (approx. 20 degrees centigrade) and the nights were cool in the mountains, warmer by the coast. The downside is a parched landscape (except in the beutiful woods) and fewer flowers and trees in bloom, but we could still pick oranges, prickly pears, almonds and even some guavas and figs. (We should mention that Grand Canaria had suffered drought conditions that year - 2017).

 

Anon   November 2017

Tranquility of walks was lovely, we barely saw anyone with the exception of day 2 near Roque Nublo. Some beautiful forest walks with trees covered in lichens. Good views and variety.

 

Mr C Shelley  Lancaster November 2017

Tremendous scenery on the island, and more history than we thought. Accommodation top-notch, even taking in the disturbances caused by the fire.

Anon   October 2017

Fabulous and varied scenery, with highlights being the cave village of Artenara and the views of and from Roque Nublo.

Mrs S Stott  Glasgow October 2017

Walking highlights were the Roque Nublo day and the there and back from Cruz de Tejeda to Artenara with the caves on the way. All the walks were highlights really! 

Lovely local wine - mainly from Lanzarote - was cheap and delicious. All the breakfasts were excellent and set us up for big walking days. 

 

Mr J Illingworth  Hope Valley October 2017

Due to a forest fire a few days prior to our departure date, we were unable to stay at the Parador Hotel. Inntravel did a great job in rearranging our accommodation and providing revised walk routes and notes so that our holiday itinerary was as near as to the original as possible. Like previous reviewers, we found walking poles were necessary, especially on the long, steep descent to Agaete. We had lovely weather and a great holiday. Thanks Inntravel.

Mr T Hill  Esher March 2017

Fabulous scenery and a really beautiful route. The evening meals at the first two hotels are as good as you will ever get and the rooms are all fabulous.

Dr M Michie  Middlesbrough March 2017

Great variety of walking on really well made and signed paths. Sometimes cloudy and windy but the mix of clouds and sun combined with the remarkable landscapes was often spectacularly scenic. So not guaranteed winter sun every day, but guaranteed super walking if you've remembered wet weather gear and a compass.

 

Mr J Smith  King's Lynn March 2017

The best walking holiday we have been on, would do it again tomorrow. Don't forget walking poles, they are essential!

Mrs P Martin-Fagg  High Wycombe March 2017

This was a spectacular and varied walk through rugged mountains and across some softer pasture land, and we felt we had been able to experience the "real" Gran Canaria thanks to the excellent routes planned by Inntravel. We would reiterate comments from others and strongly recommend walking poles as the very steep cobbled paths become treacherous in wet weather. We walked in late March and found that it was challenging at times due to the weather conditions and the nature of the mountainous terrain. Inntravel's route notes were spot on, easy to follow and provided useful guidance as well as some interesting additional information on the area. The hotels were mostly excellent but despite the warmest of welcomes by the patron at Fontanales, the cabanas were miserably cold and the lack of natural light was unpleasant. 

Mrs C Black  Duns March 2017

Overall very good, could have done with more walking notes for the 3 nights in Tenerife specially as we had a car there anyway.

Mrs P Bloomer  Chelmsford March 2017

We were delighted to find GC so varied from classic barren volcanic areas, through pine forests, canyons and green fertile valleys. The walks were stunningly beautiful (with the exception of our last day!), the trails were well defined and on the whole easy to follow. We were extremely lucky to meet an English geologist at Roque Nublo who was willing to share with us his in depth knowledge of the geological history of our location as we gazed across to Tenerife from The Roque. A real highlight for us.

.

Mrs S Green  Crawley February 2017

Fabulous walking through so many different landscapes, from pine forests to tropical ravines, Gran Canaria really is its own mini continent. Loved the independance of self guided and then the comfort of the accommodation with no hassle transfer of our luggage. We had glorious weather in the first week of Feb. blue skies throughout. I will definately use Inntravel again, just deciding where to go next.

RJ Brown   January 2017

Highlights: Dazzling starry nights - don't forget to look up before you go to bed. The spectacular view from our terrace at the Parador at sunrise and sunset of the sacred stones of Gran Canaria clouded in mist. Dreamy. Pine-scented paths and the tap, tap, tapping of island woodpeckers. Eucalyptus forests and their stringent fragrance refreshing the journey. Picnic at the Roque Nubla. Almond trees blooming across a bleak landscape. The vintage hospitality at Hotel Rural Finca Las Longueras. The two-kilometre descent of the barranca into the canyon on the route to San Pedro. The aroma of the coffee beans roasting on the patio of the coffee plantation and vineyards at San Pedro. Don't miss the tour and tasting there. The well-curated self-tour over the tombs at the necropolis at Aegate. Sunday afternoon walk to Artenara and a visit to the cave dwellings there. Discovering the writings of Oliva Stone from 1863-64 and her book 'Tenerife and its Six Satellites'. 

Not so great was the number of times we had to walk along roads, especially to and from Hotel Rural Finca Las Longueras. The walk to Aegate via the wind turbines was dreary, but at least not on the road. We thought the 25 euro charge for the spa at the Parador was over the top. Service at the Parador was functional, but lacked any warmth or attention to detail.   

Dr J Macdonald  Strathpeffer January 2017

Another wonderful walking holiday, our third splendid winter excursion to the Canaries with Inntravel. We enjoyed the Barranco de la Virgen, and especially the spectacular descent from Fagajusta to El Sao. The informality of the Cabanas at Fontanales made a very pleasant change from the more formal hotels in the rest of the trip.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›