Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617001

+44 (0)1653 617001search
      our holidays > Journeys in SlowMotion > Portugal > On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront

Lisbon, Coimbra & Porto

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mr J Steer  Sevenoaks August 2017

In Lisbon, eat upstairs at Chapito restaurant, super food and views. The Zambesi restaurant was advised but we were not impressed, it was African influenced food (Mozambique). I have been all over East/South Africa and have experience in that cuisine....perhaps we were unlucky with our choices, and the menu will lead to misunderstandings....which in my case led to a pretty verbal exchange with a very rude waitress!  Both restaurants are very close to the Hotel.

Mr R Poxton  Twickenham August 2017

We really enjoyed the whole holiday. The walking tours were an excellent means to discover and explore the three cities - despite our having some previous experience of Lisbon and Porto. All the walks inevitably had quite hilly sections - this didn't bother us but some guidance on the best ways to get from bottom to top may have helped. We probably should've taken taxis into the town centre in Coimbra - the fine dining option struck us as pricey and limited options. For Porto the options are numerous and nearby - it's easy enough to avoid the busy ones with the (wonderful) view of the bridge.

Mr M Lloyd  Ilkeston August 2017

The itinerary was, on the whole, excellent giving a lot of useful information. All the hotels used were of a very good class and the breakfast in each was of a high standard. My favourite was the Solar Do Castelo in Lisbon. The situation of the hotel, the staff, the room, the service and breakfast were excellent. I would, without any doubt, use Inntravel again and I would recommend them to all my family and friends.

Jane Ellis  Manchester July 2017
Our 2nd "Inntravel" holiday - it will certainly not be our last! We had a lovely 6 days exploring these 3 Portuguese cities, all distinctly different but all very interesting. Our highlights are the castle in Lisbon, the locations of the Solar do Castelo & the Pestana hotels in Lisbon & Porto respectively & the our visit to a port wine house. We really enjoy the flexibility offered by these holidays, where the need to book hotels & make travel plans is taken care of, leaving us to enjoy the fun of planning our days. Thank you to everyone at Inntravel for another lovely holiday experience.
Mrs L Hughes  Weston-super-mare April 2017

A superb insight to Portugal and 3 wonderful cities. Plenty to do in Lisbon and Porto and relax in Coimbra. Porto is stunning and was our favourite by far. 

Dr W Shatwell  Kenilworth March 2017

As usual the holiday was very well organised by Inn travel with their customary attention to detail and selection of comfortable hotels.  We splashed out and had dinner at the restaurant in the Hotel das Lagrimas in Coimbra - although it no longer has its Michelin star the dinner and the service were faultless.  We both really liked our visit to the university in Coimbra.

In Porto we particularly enjoyed a visit to the modern art museum (Serralves) set in beautifully kept grounds with impressive Eucalyptus trees  and interesting outdoor sculpture.  The art museum buildings are architecturally interesting in themselves.  We had an excellent buffet lunch at a reasonable price.

Anon   February 2017

After numerous walking holidays with Inntravel, this was our first Self-Guided Journey by Rail and we loved it.  As usual, your choice of hotels are varied and excellent, along with concise information on travel and local places to visit. We will definitely be back again.

Anon   January 2017

We like Lisbon a lot but the highlight for us was the beautiful waterfront at Porto and to be staying in a hotel right on it. There was so much to do and we were very glad we had booked two extra nights in Lisbon and one extra night in Porto. The accommodation and the breakfast in all three hotels was excellent. 

Ann and Lucy   October 2016

We loved the restaurant Clara's am Castelo. Fantastic value for money, Great food and lovely people. It is tiny so you must pre book.

Recommend trip to Sintra if you can cope with the public transport challenge! The most useful tip is that you can buy tickets for the train at the little shop in Rossio station diagonally opposite the ticket office thus avoiding the horrendous queue for tickets.

We loved being up at the castle in Lisbon at sunset. We couldn't get in the restaurant either day though. Been better to have booked before we travelled.

We visited Taylors in Porto. We thought well worth the walk and climb. It was very quiet and peaceful. The self guided tour was good. The restaurant looked lovely although we didn't try it. Lovely garden to sit and enjoy your free samples at the end. No high pressure selling at all.

Generally an an excellent holiday. Perfect mix of enough time to relax but plenty to see and do. The helpful notes and advice really make all the difference. We felt we saw everything and got to some more out of the way spots. Enjoyable to avoid driving as well and trains were very good. We especially enjoyed the perfect weather at this time of year and some amazing sunset views. Highly recommended.

 

 

Anon   September 2016

We were very pleased that we opted for an extra night in Lisbon as it gave us time to visit Sintra - well worth it.  Two nights in Coimbra was fine but, again, there was so much to see and do in Porto that we were pleased that we had booked an extra night there.

Anonymous  . April 2016
The Hotel Britannia in Lisbon is a delightful Art Deco Hotel and very near a metro. Travel around Lisbon very easy. 
The Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas had building work going on and it was a 20 to 30 minute walk (depending on mobility) into Coimbra. Lovely town but transport in town is not mapped at each bus stop so difficult to know which bus to get. 
The Hotel Britannia was a delight, great location, lovely modern bedroom and lovely view of river and surrounding area, all staff very helpful, breakfast was delicious and lots of choice.
Dr R Chamberlain Duerden   Sandbach April 2016
Finding the hotel in the first place - the map is OK but not altogether clear, and of course our taxi driver thought he knew better...!  I'd suggest mentioning the arch where it looks as though you are going into the castle - go through that and you're pretty much there.
The three places are each lovely in their own way, and the hotels all very good, although see above re the outstanding Solar do Castelo!  We did different things in each place, but in all of them we did a fair amount of wandering about the narrow streets, which really was delightful to do, and allowed us to find lovely little hidden restaurants.
The people are friendly and welcoming - and delighted if you manage to say 'Obrigada', if nothing else!
Mr JP Wroe  Carshalton February 2016
We would like to recommend the restaurant Ribera Square - on leaving the hotel it is diagonally across the square to the left by the old fountain.  Small, very friendly owner with excellent English, very good and reasonably priced food.  They offered us a tasting of several wines even though we were only ordering two glasses, and a complimentary port.  My steak in mushroom sauce was excellent.

Mr S Hayward  Middlesbrough January 2016
We particularly loved Porto.  The location of the hotel on the historic quayside, the warm welcome, stunning views, beautiful buildings, quirky, arty, individual shops and delicious food. Fabulous!

Mr Haffenden  Aylesford October 2015
Lisbon - A visit to the castle grounds at twilight is a must as is a meal at the Claras em Castelo restaurant.
 
Coimbra - Both the market and the university library are well worth a visit.
 
Porto - A personal tasting at Graham's in the library was a definite highlight.   The market wasn't worth the walk.
Anonymous  . October 2015
This was our first visit to Portugal but it won't be our last; we had a great time. Recommendations have to be personal but ours include:
* Buy a Lisboacard and a Portocard to get around the two cities - takes the hassle out of travel.
* The Museu Nacional do Azulejo in Lisbon is terrific; take a bus, it's a long walk otherwise.
* Portuguese beer doesn't have to be tasteless fizz; visit the Museum of Beer (it's a cafe) in the Praca do Comercio. (NB: The food is reputed to be mediocre.)
* Instead of pre-booking a visit to a port lodge in Porto, we just went down to the area mid-afternoon (on a Monday). We avoided the big names which were rammed with coach parties and went instead to Ramos Pinto. The last English-language tour of the day had 7 people in it and was very entertaining.
* For ludicrously cheap lunches in Porto, go to the Galeria de Paris cafe in the street of the same name. How can you not like a restaurant which has a 6-foot Sylvester and Tweety standing on the bar?
Mrs P Mole  Dundee September 2015
We combined two holidays into a 10-day trip. Lisbon and the Waterfront with Porto and the Douro valley. We flew into Lisbon and out from Porto, having 3 nights in Lisbon, 2 in Coimbra, 2 in Porto, 2 in Chanceleiros and 1 last night in Porto. We tried to fit in too much sightseeing on day 2 in Lisbon but then decided to take things in a more relaxed fashion. It made for an interesting, varied and enjoyable holiday staying in some lovely hotels and enjoying some superb views, wines and Portuguese food. The tiled fronts to so many of the buildings and the elaborate tiled railway stations (even small ones) were memorable features; also the view from Hotel Pestana Porto bedroom window.
Mrs Bowden  Kent September 2015
We went to three cities, all brilliant, but all completely different from one another. We also wished we had added an additional day in Porto (we had already added an additional day in Lisbon).
Mr Taverner  Hampshire May 2015
We were pleasantly surprised by the cities we visited. Coimbra was a special highlight.
Mrs Philips  Essex April 2015
This is our second 'journey' holiday with Inntravel and we very much look forward to more. The sense of travelling independently but with the added benefit with expert organisation appeals and the walking notes ensure we get the most out of each town/city. We hope that you continue to expand your range of this type of holiday which we enjoy in addition to your core offering.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›