Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617003

+44 (0)1653 617003search
      our holidays > Cycling Holidays > Italy & its islands > The South > Pedalling through Puglia

Pedalling through Puglia

Salento, the heel of Italy
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anon   April 2019

We had a wonderful holiday in Puglia - our first time to visit this area - and it was our third cycling holiday. The food in both Masseria Copertini and Masseria Alcorico was exceptionally good and in all accommodation we were welcomed warmly by families/staff. The rooms and terrace in Masseria Panareo and rooms & pool in Masseria Chicco Rizzo were wonderful. Not all hotels had their pools open at this time of year. The bikes were excellent, the maps & routes accurate with interesting information and we particularly enjoyed the minor roads through olive groves on the circuits near Otranto and Gagliano del Capo.

Mr R Bosanquet  Newcastle Upon Tyne October 2018

All in all we had a wonderful 8 days. The hotels were all comfortable and served excellent local food. I would certainly cycle with Inntravel again.

Anon   September 2018

We had a wonderful holiday, loved the cycling and seeing a beautiful rural and coastal part of Italy.

P and R   September 2018

It was a great holiday which we both enjoyed from start to finish. Excellent cycling and wonderful places to stay. Getting to the very tip of the heel of Italy was particularly satisfying. 

Mr P Lacey  Shepton Mallet May 2018

Stand out points:-  dinner at Massaria Copertini - outstanding!  The coastal ride from Vernole to Ortranto was stunning.  Puglia generally is a fabulous area to visit.

 

Joanne Bell  Harrogate May 2018
This is our second Inn Travel cycling holiday and as with the first one it was extremely well organised. The routes were quite varied, some longer than others and some flatter than others! Day 1 was quite long with some hills which was a bit of a challenge when you are tired from the previous day's travel, but it was manageable and the second hotel was lovely when you arrived. The longer ride to Gallipoli was flat so I'd recommend it because it was one of the nicer rides. The last ride wasn't pleasant on the main roads so if there's an option for a transfer I'd take it and omit this ride altogether. The circular routes on days 2 and 4 were lovely. Plenty of lovely smells of Jasmine and herbs and great views along the way and places to visit. The accommodation was also very varied giving you a flavour of what is available in the region. Farmhouses to hotels and all were of an excellent standard. Some of the menu choices are interesting, certainly not for picky eaters! Two of the pasta dishes were like nothing I had ever eaten and not in a good way, but on the whole the food was very good and so was the service. Would I recommend this holiday? Definitely! We are already wondering where to try next.
Mrs R Sword  Scarborough May 2018

First, third and last ‘hotels’ were very special. [Masseria Copertini, Masseria Alcorico & Masseria Chicco Rizzo]

Swimming in the Mediterranean was lovely and virtually empty beaches.

The cycling was well organised and well balanced.

Mrs C Green   April 2018

Coastal routes were the best. A trip to Ortranto in the evening is a must - as better without bikes.

Mr J Hughes  Swindon October 2017

A great holiday through lovely scenery with just enough exercise to justify the substantial evening meals! Good arrangements, choice of routes and accommodation. On day 3 there is an excellent cafe at Castro Marina (in fact a choice of 2) down by the seafront promenade area - just follow signs to "Marina" and on day 1 in Torre dell'Orso, a lovely cafe with a terrace and lovely view of the bay, attached to a hotel and right at the base of the Torre, just 100m off to the left as you cycle along the one way system.

Anon   October 2017

We love Italy and enjoyed the variety of this holiday. We felt it gave us a good coverage of southern Puglia with wonderful coastal views and interesting towns, Otranto, Gallipoli and Lecce especially. There is a lot of road cycling but generally there was not a great deal of traffic and the gradients were mostly manageable. Roadside rubbish is an issue but sadly one that seems to exist in a lot of southern Italy. We found the last day of cycling the least enjoyable being both a less interesting route and busier. Masseria Panareo was a real treat and we did not want to leave! Both this and Masseria Chicco Rizzo have stunning swimming pools. The bikes were brilliant with smooth gears, good brakes and easy to use panniers. Some of the road surfaces, especially around the towns and more built up areas, are poor and rather challenging for the backside, it might be worth considering extra padding! 

anon   June 2017

This is a perfect way to explore an unspoilt part of Italy and enjoy the local produce in accommodation with plenty of character.

Shaun from Henley on Thames   June 2017

I believe that this trip is misrepresented in its description--Salento is an economically poor, harsh and rubbish strewn place with few sandy beaches interspersed with a cutting pumice coastline. The local food is predominated by tough durum based pasta with little herb or spice to enliven the pasta course--antipasta is varied and on occaisons very good. Little fish was available despite our gazes being longingly cast out to sea. The trip notes and routings are very poor indeed--this is our 6th Inntravel cycle experience and the worst thus far. It was not value for money.

Inntravel response

We are sorry that you did not enjoy this holiday as much as others you have done with us. It is normally well received by customers and we are confident that it is appropriately represented in our brochure and on the website, and that our route notes are accurate, as borne out by the positive feedback we receive. 

Mr T Hoare  Bedford May 2017

Chicco Rizzo - the best hotel. Perfect pool, beautiful grounds, exceptional staff.

Torre Vado - great sandy beaches. 10 euros for loungers and parasol.

Gallipoli - interesting, buzzy town. A nice change from the countryside.

Profumo di Mare restaurant - a must. Fabulous giant prawns and the best fried bread( sounds odd but it works)

Cycling along the quiet lanes flanked by olive groves as far as the eye can see, breathing in scents of fennel, honeysuckle and oregano, the sun warm on your back - heaven!

Dr P Cartwright  Ashbourne May 2017

Beautiful scenery, wild flowers, food and wine in an unspoilt part of Italy. Friendly reception in beautiful and varied accommodations.

Mr I Scott  Ashbourne May 2017

An excellent trip. Beautiful sea views and olive groves. Bear in mind that coastal routes with cliffs do have occasional significant gradients. The notes on entry to Ortranto need to take account of a new bypass dual carriageway.

Anon   April 2017

A fabulous holiday around beautiful countryside which ran like clockwork. We really enjoyed the route (which was generally easy to follow save a few gremlins in one way systems) and spent happy days cycling in the sun with plenty of coffee stops and sightseeing on the way. There are a few hills on Day 3 but other than that the cycling was very easy, including the optional 60km ride which we loved and which was completely flat so we thought was well worth doing. The bikes were very heavy but were fine for a week. The accommodation was a of a good standard and Masserias Panareo and Chicco Rizzo particularly stood out. Highlights of the trip from a sightseeing point of view were Gallipolli and Lecce - both beautiful places and because we were slightly off season both were quiet which added to their charm.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›