Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617001

+44 (0)1653 617001search
      our holidays > Journeys in SlowMotion > Portugal > Cities, Palaces & Wines

Cities, Palaces & Wines

From colourful Porto to dazzling Sintra
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

anon   September 2017

Sintra was my favourite; it was a smaller city, easier to get around. If you are wanting slow travel - that I equate with a relaxing holiday - I would miss the bigger, busier cities like Lisbon.

Anon, Kent.   September 2017

This was one of our best holidays and we enjoyed every minute of it apart from the 50 mins queuing for tickets at the station in Porto! The standard of accommodation was consistently good and we were delighted with the rooms we were allocated, as well as by the distinctly different characters of the five hotels we stayed in. Highlights included a very interesting and enjoyable visit to Porto and Grahams, a delightful stay at Chanceleiros, the discovery of Coimbra and the Quinta das Lagrimas, the Solar do Castelo in Lisbon, the delights of Sintra and of Montserrate in particular, delicious seafood, outstanding breakfasts, all round good value wining and dining, friendly service, generous concessions to seniors.

Mrs C Meyrick  Oakham September 2017

Our first Inntravel holiday was thirty years ago, in the Auvergne. Since then we've walked with you in different parts of Europe and the States and had some wonderful experiences. Now our joints are creaking, and going uphill is harder (so is downhill actually!) and the prospect of 15km a day is daunting. So we were delighted to find this holiday, which still fits the Inntravel model of travel and discovery, but allowed us to explore sitting down. We had a very good holiday, and went to several places that we'd wanted to visit for some time. Thank you. 

Mr C Paul  Horsham July 2017

This self-guided hoilday to Portugal worked like clockwork, tranport arrangements spot on with fantastic food and hotels. For us the highlight was Porto where Inntravel selected the hotel with the best location right on the waterfront - Pestana - but you must upgrade to a river view room. Then finish off the trip with a real treat at the Palacio de Seteais in Sintra, where comfort and personal service are taken to the next level, and where you are greeted by name and not treated as just another customer.

Anon   July 2017

Highlight: In Porto we found an excellent vegetarian restaurant called Da Terra in Rue de Silveira which is on the way to the hotel from the station.  It is buffet style - eat as much as you like of both hot and cold dishes for just under 10 euros.  A real find!

Mrs M Woodward  Loughton May 2017

Like most Inntravellers, we were most impressed with the Chancelleiros hotel - amazing place. So much so that we would have liked an extra night as the only full day was busy with winery tour and boat trip! Also in hindsight we would have done the holiday in reverse to have the relaxing time at Chancelleiros nearer to the end. Also loved Porto (and hotel) so will return to all places.

Mrs H Waters  France May 2017

The hotels were well picked and the places visited were very good, luckily a lot of Portuguese speak English, which helped a lot at the stations when buying tickets and asking platform info, as not all stations show destination boards on the actual platforms. Chanceleiros was the most memorable place to stay, relaxing atmosphere, host with a good sense of humor and excellent food.

Anon   April 2017

We found the arrangements faultless and the detail accurate and up to date.

The accomodations on the Valley of Gold section were individual and fascinating with two fantastic hosts. The walking journeys took us to delightful destinations through idyllic countryside. A perfect de stress activity.

Well done Inntravel!

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers combined Valley of Gold with Cities, Palaces & Wine.

Mrs S Moore  USA April 2017

Travelling in Portugal on Inntravel's Self-Guided Journey by Rail was like travelling with a friend who has been there before, and who offers advice on the best places to visit and sights to see. They booked beautiful, comfortable hotels for us, and their advice and recommendations for walks and sightseeing were spot on. As a country, Portugal offers many choices of places and tours, and as a tourist it can be daunting to figure out where to go and what to do. Inntravel made those decisions easier with their seasoned advice. Thank you for guiding our visit to this beautiful land. 

Mr D Cunliffe  Worcester September 2016

Highlights:  University Student Rag Week in Porto provided many musical entertainments in streets. Lunch in students' restaurant in Coimbra University. "Yellow Boat" 90 minute cruise in Lisbon from Placa de Comercial.Tuc-tuc ride in Lisbon.

Anon   September 2016

So relaxed seeing the country by train.

Anon   September 2016

Altogether a delightful holiday. Excellent accommodation - but we expect that with you - and good walking notes.

Your restaurant recommendations were very good.  In Porto, Chez Lapin looked after us very well indeed on a night of torrential rain (started after we began our meal) but the star attraction was Vinhas d'Alho. What a great place.

In Lisbon we really emjoyed Chapitos.  Just make sure you get there on time - by 7.30 people were being turned away.

Mr S Lavelle  Sutton Coldfield September 2016

We advise getting rail tickets in Porto early.

Porto and Chanceleiros were, for me, the standout locations, on a trip where every stop was very good!

Mr J Lee  Stoke-on-trent July 2016

Each Hotel was excellent in different ways, it is difficult to decide which is the best as all were very good. Spending two or three nights in different locations gave us a great opportunity to see the real every day life of the cities. We had a Fado Concert in Porto at Casa da Guitarra on Av Vimara Peres on the Porto side of Eiffel's Bridge. We had 1 hour of beautiful singing and guitar music and a glass of port during the interval for €10.00 from 6-7pm. To be recommended.

We had a guided tour of the Tivoli Palacio de Seteais by the Hotel manager and he sent us a group photo for free.

In Porto the walk to Graham's Port Quinta for a tasting and guided tour was a wonderful way to start the holiday after our long wait on the runway at manchester.

Anonymous  . May 2016
Everything was a highlight! We especially loved the hotels in Lisbon and in the Douro. We ate at the hotels in Coimbra and Sintra and the food at both was outstanding.  Other meals we had at other restaurants were also very good. We found the Portuguese very friendly and helpful.  The train travel was great with free Wifi on the main line from Porto-Coimbra-Lisbon. The walking notes were brilliant as we felt we saw everything and took us routes we wouldn't have found ourselves. Our recommendation is to definitely take a taxi from Sintra railway station to the hotel.
Lynne  Chicago April 2016
We had a lovely time. Traveling by train was much more relaxing than driving ourselves. The accommodations were all fabulous. You folks do a remarkable job on choosing hotels. Traveling in Portugal in April does have its downsides, namely rain. It rained everyday but one. However, it was not continuous and, remarkably, downpours only occurred when we were visiting a museum, eating or traveling. The upside to April is the lack of other tourists.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›