Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617005

+44 (0)1653 617005search
      our holidays > Winter Snow Breaks > Austria > Hotel Kitzspitz, St Jakob

Hotel Kitzspitz, St Jakob

The quiet side of the Tyrol

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

TC   March 2019

An excellent venue for beginner and intermediate X/C skiing, with a range of Blue, Red and Black trails. The trails were well presented and the choice of trails was good from this particular hotel with many circular routes available. Some other venues in the valley would have meant the need for the bus each day, although the bus service was frequent and efficient. Hotel could not be faulted. Clean; great food; reasonably priced drinks; good sauna/steam bath to unwind after 4 or 5 hours of skiing. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Ms J Dickinson  Wellington February 2019

A wonderful friendly, relaxed hotel that is not too big. The food was excellent and you will never go hungry! The spa facilities at Kitzspitz are exceptional, although would recommend pre booking massages or treatments before you arrive on holiday, as were fully booked when we were there. The proximity to the slopes and X country trails is a real bonus and makes the holiday very relaxed and hassle free. The free bus service through the valley is also very convenient and makes getting around very straightforward. Would throughly recommend St Jakob. 

Anon   January 2019

A friendly hotel with excellent facilities. The valley is well-equipped for cross-country ski-ing in its five different centres and the bus service is excellent.

Mrs J Duke  Trowbridge February 2018

The local bus services made getting around very easy.

Be prepared for the number of children and families using the hotel, so not so ideal for those of us looking for a more peaceful and quiet holiday environment

Anon   February 2018

Excellent hotel and facilities. Food delicious and plentiful with a lot of variety. Very friendly staff. Hotel well situated for slopes and trails which were well groomed. Altogether a very enjoyable holiday.  We hope to return. Taxi transfers arranged by Inntravel were well organised, comfortable and on time. Many thanks Inntravel. 

Mrs E Armstrong  Truro February 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. The hotel was excellent with good food and happy staff and the indoor/outdoor pool was the icing on the cake. Easy cross-country trails which were perfectly groomed were accessed from the hotel doorstep and with a free bus pass, numerous other trails of varied difficulty were easy to get to. The views from St Jacob's cross were spectacular particularly as we were blessed with fine weather and excellent snow conditions.

Dr D Fothergill  Kirkby Stephen January 2018

Good for intermediate skier, very good for split days because of proximity to tracks. Very good access to variety of downhill centres. Leisure facilities excellent, especially the outdoor pool. Yoga classes a bonus.

Mr J Watts-Russell  Peterborough March 2017

The hotel provides lunch and tea which is amazing.  The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Mr S Beioley  Stroud February 2017

Delightful blue run to St Ukrich and back. Don't pig out on first courses at dinner because the puddings are always amazing. Hotel is hot, no thick jumpers required on voyage. All in all, a good place to start cross country skiing, the trails were so quiet and sometimes there were no other people in view in any direction. Stunning. 

Mrs C Trevarton  Wareham January 2017

The location of Hotel Kitzspitz was excellent, close to skishop, lifts and skibus stop. The village was a pleasant 5 mins walk away. We enjoyed learning cross-country skiing, but also found that the winter walking was stunning. The impression we got from brochure information was that all the villages were about the same size, but St Jakob was very small, and Fieberbrunn quite large and busy. This wasn't a problem just a surprise!

Mr P Wetherall  Malvern January 2017

We went for a walking holiday not to ski (downhill or cross-country). Wide variety of reasonably level paths of varying lengths. Many of the winter walking paths are actually on (unploughed) roads with modest amounts of traffic. We were fortunate that the last three and a half days were brilliantly sunny and cold following light snow the previous few nights which enhanced the scenery. The local regional bus (free with guest card) made many walks easily accessible but it is important to note that places like Fieberbrunn Bahnof, Hochfilzen Bahnof, even Hochfilzen village itself, and some stops between St Jakob and St Ulrich are not served by every service. One piece of advice: if it is really sunny, it is definitely more pleasing (and comfortable) to walk South to North (ie Hochfilzen to St Ulrich or St Jakob to St Adolari church) rather than the other way as the sun is really quite low even in the middle of the day in January.

The ability to return to the hotel for a (free) light lunch after a morning's walking was an unexpected pleasure. Similarly, coffee (or tea) and cake in the afternoon as the temperatures dropped and the light faded was a treat not to be missed. This did mean that we tailored our walks to take advantage of these temptations!

The transfer arrangements between airport and hotel were excellent.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›