Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Italy & its Islands > Sardinia > Golden Dunes of the Costa Verde

Golden Dunes of the Costa Verde

Sardinia - from silver mountains to golden dunes

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Ms S Buckley  Australia May 2019

The highlight for us was the fabulous landscape of the remote western side of Sardinia. Spectacular coastal scenery, historical mining landscapes, mountain vistas. Hearty local food was devoured and enjoyed with gusto. 

Mrs F Millyard  Thatcham May 2019

Peaceful walks with stunning views and the added interest of the old mines. Walking on the beach was an envigorating, uplifting end to 3 of the days. The accommodation was as expected with no problems and good food. It was foggy and wet when we climbed Monte Arcuentu so were advised by the transfer driver to skip the final ascent. Finding the path down was not easy but we found our way after some tricky backtracking. We didn't take the upgrade to the hotel at the end which made the walk longer, despite the moans from my party we were all delighted with the Sciopadroxiu bungalows. We all agreed this was a wonderful holiday. 

Richard, Southsea   May 2019

Very well-chosen part of the world (surprisingly remote and very beautiful), with a set of walks which provided variety and some lovely scenery.  The overnight stays (and catering) were all delightful.  We chose the optional stay at Le Dune and were pleased to have done so - it is a very stylish and comfortable hotel and made a great end to a memorable week.

Mr J Oliver  Brentwood April 2019

Very isolated. We were unlucky with the weather but enjoyed the walks greatly. 

Mr B Gofton  Cupar April 2019

We are not sure how many Inntravel trips we have done over the years, however this was as good as the others, and we look forward to discovering more. You always put us in some great places to stay, and the welcome from the staff at the places we stay is always warm and friendly. All of them had their good points, from the local food we had, and sitting outside for breakfast at Sardus Peter with that view was stunning. The final residence in Piscinis obviously caters for a lot of people, however there were only a few of us, and once again they looked after us giving us superb home made pizzas on the last day. This gave us a really good insight into Sardinia and provided us with some great walking. 

E Flanagan, Belfast   March 2019

Inntravel as a tour operator was excellent throughout. Very accommodating, outstanding customer service. The Costa Verde although beautiful was more remote than we were expecting and few English speakers. Some of the walks lacked variety with very long, continuous gravel paths. The coastal walks were stunning as was the mountain day, although it took us much longer than indicated on the notes. The inland walks through derelict mining areas were less interesting. The welcome of the hosts and the locally produced food was superb. Overall it was a delightful week's walking and we were very lucky with the weather so early in the season (March). We would certainly recommend Inntravel as an operator and look forward to researching our next trip. 

Mr G Major  Ballymena March 2019

The people were lovely and the hosts most welcoming. Better to have some Italian as English not spoken much.

Anon   September 2018

Glorious scenery on peaceful walks over very different terrains. Loved having three days on the coast and three days inland. The climb day was exhilarating. Ending three days on beaches with warm clear water to swim in was a joy. Accommodation all good, though basic we always had good showers and clean rooms. Included dinners were all good, with fresh and plentiful food, but breakfasts very limited. We could only buy lunch out on two of the days but loved having picnics in the countryside, although after four cheese and tomato sandwiches on quite hard bread we were keen for something different! Gelato in Buggerru and lunch at Port Magu on final day were highlights. Fabulous holiday, highly recommended, especially with the extra day we added go explore Cagliari. 

Miss J A Hampshire  Bristol August 2018

This is a very interesting holiday with some varied walks-  stunning sea views and beaches, mountains and ruins of old mining buildings. The welcome we received at all the places we stayed was probably the best we have ever had on an Inntravel holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. You felt they really wanted us to be there. And the food was fantastic. Simonetta's meals at la Miniera Fiorita were outstanding and so delicious. We had a jolly evening with the  other guests at Sa Perda Marcada and dining on the terrace of Hotel Sardus Pater, trying the local specialities you mention in your booklet while enjoying the view of the bay, was unforgettable.

It was extremely hot at the beginning of September and we simply could not do the Monte Arcuentu climb. However, we found our own excellent route by going back up our previous day's walk as far as the mining buidings on the promentary. From just above here we found a beautiful waymarked circular route with lovely views. From Montevecchio itself there are also several waymarked routes.

Dr E Robertson  Edinburgh June 2018

Our first Inntravel. Advice - be careful choosing level of walking. Boots essential on this route. Fun meeting others a day ahead on our route and comparing notes. Social aspect of meals pleasant. 

Mr M Cornish  Haywards Heath June 2018

A really enjoyable week with just the right amount of challenge for me. Unfortunately I was unable to find the route to the summit of Hercules Mountain - maybe the storms earlier in the year were a contributory factor, or possibly just my incompetence!

The quality of the first three accommodations was first class (all well described on the website). As a solo traveller I particularly enjoyed the communal dinning at Sa Perda Marcada and La Miniera Fiorita.

On reflection, I wouldn't recommend the upgrade to Hotel Le Dune. It is in a great location but it also has delusions of grandeur (and a ridiculously overpriced bar!) that I found clashed with the rustic and very friendly charm of the other locations. Having had a look around Sciopadroxiu on my final day I think it would have would have been a better match with what had gone before.

Mrs S Pearce  Felixstowe June 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed exploring this totally unspoilt region of Sardinia and the stays in the agriturismos made us feel immersed in the lifestyle of the local people.

Mrs R Lane  Southampton May 2018

This was one of the best Inntravel walks we have done. We enjoyed every day even with the torrential rain that we experienced on our second walk. The walks were varied and interesting. Some of the paths had been damaged by the recent floods but this did not detract from the pleasure we had of walking in this lovely area. 

The Mclarens   May 2018

Our first Inntravel walking holiday was more than a decade ago as a means of getting fit for a trip to the Nepal. It was a disaster, only because the hotels and the food were extrordinarly good and instead of getting fit we got fat!
We have had many Inntravel holidays since, picked largely because of the excellence of your selected hotels. We accept that due to the undeveloped nature of Sardinia, you have little option on accommodation but whether it is right to put the Inntravel label on some of the places on this trip is questionable. We had to make our own bed and had an overflowing bin at La Miniera and "going down to dinner" took on a whole new meaning at Sciopadroxiu. We are sure our neighbours in the "bungalows" were fine lads but we did not expect to have to squeeze past a line of their motorbikes to get to bed. We did not come to any harm and we had a good holiday but we paid extra to travel with Inntravel and expected much better accommodation than this. Inntravel would do well to use only the Hotel Le Dune at the end of this holiday.
While we were generally disappointed in the standard of accommodation, Sa Perda Marcada was very good. Our hostess Elena was not only beautiful and most hospitable but she provided tea making facilities, something all Inntravel hostelries without a cafe should provide. In round terms, we started at about 9am, walked for 5 hours a day, which got us in at mid-afternoon and the evening meal was at 8 or 8.30 pm. It is a very long wait after a strenuous walk with only water to drink.

Inntravel response

Accommodation options are indeed limited in this sparsely populated region. We're sorry that La Miniera Fiorita disappointed you, as they usually receive high praise; and it's unfortunate if the group of bikers at Sciopadroxiu disturbed you in any way, as each bungalow door is easily accessed without going past the others and the motorbikes were parked right outside the relevant door. The upgrade to Hotel Le Dune is very highly rated, though we like to be able to offer both price options, and Le Dune is only available to us for one month of the season this year, as they open later and close earlier than any other hotel we use.

Mrs S Giles  Orpington May 2018

If you don't like crowded walking tracks and paths, or busy towns, this walking holiday certainly fits the bill. Despite the poor weather and the damage caused by the heavy rains in Sardinia at the beginning of May, my husband and I found the area we were walking in to be extremely pleasant, green, scenic, peaceful, and interesting as far as the abandoned mines and villages were concerned.  All the accommodation was of a high quality, easy to find at the end of a long day's walk, and the hoteliers seemed pleased to see us. The food was excellent and the gluten free meals provided for me were wonderful. The hosts put a lot of effort into the meals. The route notes were extremely accurate which was greatly appreciated as some of the paths were not particularly well waymarked. There was some beach walking but mostly the paths and tracks were very rocky and rutted so sand in one's shoes wasn't too much of a problem.

The main highlight was definitely climbing Monte Arcuentu (Hercules Mountain) and luckily we had a lovely sunny day so the views were spectacular. The climb is hot and steep, both going up and coming down, but very much worth it. Now, where to walk next???

Mr J Merrick  Gloucester May 2018

Through no fault of Inntravel, we must say that the holiday was not what we anticipated. We arrived in Sardinia on the tail end of terrible thunderstorms in early May that caused considerable damage to the islands infrastructure and the walking trails in particular. Rivers and streams that would normally be dry, were in full flood and the higher parts of the island shrouded in thick low cloud.

Anyway, despite all of this we did enjoy our holiday! For the first and final two days we had fine, warm weather and managed to see what a beautiful island Sardinia is. We even laughed our way through the fog and rain on occasions!

All of our evening meals were first class and we met some interesting characters around the communal dining tables. We were also delighted to receive unlimited wine at Sa Perda Marcada and La Miniera Fiorita and came home with Euros to spare!

We did not get to see Piscinas, which was a disappointment, because the access road had been damaged by flood water erosion, necessitating a last minute change of hotel. We are thankful to Inntravel for making the accommodation and transport rearrangements and we enjoyed our alternative stay in Pula, in the sunshine and in the pool!

With regards to the first question [on the post-holiday questionnaire] 'How would you rate your overall level of satisfaction with your holiday' we felt that 3 stars was appropriate given that we did not have the experience we anticipated. We acknowledge that this was in no way your fault and will gladly use your services again in the future.

 

 

Mrs Quare, Suffolk   October 2017

HIGHLIGHT: Although it was a challenge, we enjoyed the walk, ascent/descent to Monte Arcuentu. The view from the summit was wonderful and, as it was a clear day, one could see for miles along the coast. It really did feel like being 'on top of the world'.

Mr J Scaife  East Grinstead September 2017

Personal highlight for us was getting up and looking over Mount Arcuentu at the view, absolutely wonderful. Also coming down to Scivu beach. Absolutely gorgeous and so deserted. For me, Sue Scaife, swimming was a highlight. Warm water and sandy underfoot.  

Ms J Jacques  St. Albans September 2017

We were blessed with mostly glorious weather. We loved the variety in the walks from beautiful beaches to industrial decay. We met some good people: always a smart test for a holiday - and liked sharing leisurely meals. The Agriturismo system is vital in rural areas like this and we feel it's important to support it. The Sardinians we met were very simpatico.

Mambo   September 2017

Really beautiful countryside and lovely walking. Staying at little places, off the beaten track was great.

Mrs J Morgan  London June 2017

We have been on several walking holidays with Inntravel but this trip was definitely one to remember. Sardinia was an enchanting island - albeit we saw only a tiny part of it. My brother was amazed we did  not come across any evidence of the Nuragic civilisation but the part we were in was so gloriously remote. We walked all day and saw no-one. Bliss! Your publicity was spot on. Beautiful scenery and really nice accommodation with excellent locally produced food. A slight hiccup with the last one at Sciopadroxiu Bungalows which you sorted immediately - great customer service. I really can't fault this one. Lots of have people have said since "I've always wanted to go to Sardinia" - my answer has been Go. And if you want a good walking holiday - do this one!

Mrs K Bennett, Newcastle under Lyme   June 2017

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Despite being far hotter than we had anticipated, the sense of achievement, the anticipation of a cool shower and a cold beer at the next destination and the great food and good company at dinner combined to make us want to do it all again, the sooner the better.

Ms V Vose  Broadstairs June 2017

It was very hot but we are used to hot weather but I imagine that some travellers may find it too hot in June! But, as usual we really enjoyed our holiday especially the dinners with other travellers. We met some lovely Germans and Dutch......

Geoff from Yorkshire   May 2017

Highlight: Wonderful peaceful ambience. The lush, breathtaking and beautiful range of shrubbery, scrub and dunes. Being surprised time and again by the wonderful mix of fragrances gently issuing onto the paths as we walked along them. Being introduced to the hugely significant long term, social and natural histories of the area.

Very friendly people - particularly the kiosk vendors met near the end of the 3rd, 4th 5th day walks (only day one has a mid walk refreshment amenity).

As a non-meat eater, and a non caffeine drinker, I was delighted by the range and excellence of the evening meals prepared for us.

Mr N Baggott  Reading April 2017

A delightful, well-paced walking holiday with perfect weather for walking, lots of blue sky and sunshine but not too hot. The landscape has a breathtaking wild beauty with an amazing abundance of spring flowers. The views of the beaches are stunning and the sand dunes at Piscinas quite amazing. It was very quiet in late April/early May, it feels remote and is pretty deserted although we did occasionally see mountain bikers or other walkers.

 

The remains of centuries of mining activity are fascinating, some spendid sites although several uncared for and decaying since restoration work 15 or 20 years ago.

 

All the places we stayed in were delightful, with some truly outstanding local food and our hosts always friendly and welcoming.

 

Mr R Seppings  King's Lynn April 2017

The walks through the mining area were amazing, especially day 6 from Piscinas to Ingurtusu and back. The Laveria is just phenomenal. Missing out this walk would be a crying shame.

Ms M Fritz  Haywards Heath April 2017

Beautiful area to walk in with stunning views especially on the coast.  Some challenging walks - especially the Hercules Mountain Walk, but worth the effort for the view from the top.

Mr D Sidwell  Tring April 2017

Going in early April means you'll have almost everywhere to yourself - we saw 7 people on the walks and one of them was a local bloke picking mushrooms. 

Highlights:

Monte Arcuento climb 

Massive, beautiful and empty beaches

Simonetta's cooking at Miniera Fiorita

The warm and welcoming people

The spring flowers were just wonderful - we saw 5 different types of orchids (and thousands of them), irises, lilies, lavender, rock roses, genista, and the mad bright pink scabrethia on the dunes.

Hints:

Early season the evenings were cool, don't forget your fleece layer and big socks (although everywhere has heating and provides extra blankets)

It's a very quiet and undeveloped area of the world, so don't expect night life, although the wifi was fine at every place

Anon   March 2017

We had a wonderful trip apart from our initial mishap with Ellen's passport. As always, we loved the holiday and have nothing but praise for Inntravel. Ocassionally the walking notes were a little difficult to follow, but we always find our way in the end. I always mean to make notes on our printed sheets but never get round to it....sorry!

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›