Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617003

+44 (0)1653 617003search
      our holidays > Cycling Holidays > Slovenia > In the Shadow of the Julian Alps

In the Shadow of the Julian Alps

Slovenia’s Lake Bled & idyllic countryside
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Judy McC Edinburgh   May 2019

Of our four Inntravel cycling trips this has been our favourite (only knocking Denmark off top slot because of stunning scenery!). Slovenian people just the loveliest friendly helpful people, whenever we stopped to consult direction notes someone would stop to ask if we needed help. Cycle to Lake Fusine a high spot (literally... quite a climb) with amazing scenery. Two hotels with swimming pools a real asset after a hot days cycling. Very inexpensive compared to other EU countries. €1.20 for coffees.

Tips

1 Vintgar Gorge was very entry expensive at €10/person for a 1.5K walk with loads of bus parties and very crowded so we did and immediate uturn and avoided and this was early summer season  so either go before sunrise or direct us elsewhere

2 A lot of ‘Mercator’ supermarkets at most villages so picnic in fields much nicer than below average food in local bars and in several villages there were no places to-eat

3 Kranskja Gora,  Charlie ice cream cafe in pedestrian area square... Kolodvorska Ulica...has best home made gelataria ice cream

4 Vegan public kitchen in Bled ... vegan burgers with salad worth a detour https://public-vegan-kitchen-bled.business.site/ At side if shopping centre.

Sandra   May 2019

Overall a lovely holiday with some beautiful scenery. However spoilt slightly by the unseasonally cold and wet weather.

Mr R Alesbury  Waterlooville September 2018

Slovenia - what a fantastic country and hidden European gem. Well done to Inntravel for discovering this idyllic little country with so much to offer in all seasons. From Lake Bled to the Italian Alps this area is absolutely stunning with friendly people to match. There is no 'hustle and bustle' wherever you go and everyone seems so relaxed, perhaps its in the mountain air. The cycling routes from Lake Bled to the crystal blue lakes across the Italian border are fantastic with much of the route on designated cycle paths that are in excellent condition. This was slightly more challenging than previous experiences but we completed all of the routes with very little training beforehand. Two of the hotels were very businesslike and modern which meant that they felt a little formal for our liking. That aside the facilities i.e. swimming pools were very good as you would expect from a business hotel. The Chefs Dinner (inc. at Hotel Lambergh) was amazing and not at all what we were expecting. It felt more like a taster menu that you would get from a very high standard restaurant. Hotel Ribno was our favourite. Log cabin style hotel in keeping with the alpine feel. Nowhere near as modern and up to date as the other two but much more relaxing and informal, may need to revisit in the winter months when it is snowing! Give yourself a day in Ljubljana if you get the chance, lovely capital and very different to the rest of the Slovenian experience which has been excellent. We would highly recommend this cycling tour in Slovenia.

Anon   September 2018

A really enjoyable introduction to Slovenia which had beautiful, peaceful scenery with a good variety of cycle routes. We were very fortunate to have delightful weather and the hotels were restful. The local people we encountered were always helpful and friendly. We felt the trip was very aptly named as we appreciated the magnificent landscapes of the Julian Alps.

Dr S Gregson  Sidcup August 2018

Slovenia is an undiscovered gem. Beautiful scenery, great accommodation. Perfect for cycling even when wet!

Mrs T Brown  USA August 2018

Perhaps offer a "Gourmet" and a "Basic" food/accommodation option with associated price. There is an amazing Hotel with fabulous meals in Bled that we visited on our dinner day off. I'd have happily paid more for a nicer hotel room in cases 1 and 3 and for more interesting/tasty meals overall! On itinerary personal highlights - Lake Bled. Loved Vrsic Pass (not on the itinerary, but makes a great option for more adventurous travellers!) Also Lake Bohinje - send people there instead of the beekeeping places! It's beautiful!

Miss S Neville  Kingston Upon Thames August 2018

We loved our cycling holiday. The routes were fun and exciting and we loved seeing the wonderful places we got to see and visit along the way. I would really recommend this holiday to everyone. 

Mr M Galea   July 2018

As Inntravel cycling groupies, we found this holiday the toughest cycling we have done to date; the clue is in the title: The Julian Alps. But it was fantastic, with beautiful scenery, great cycling, open water swimming in the icy cold lakes, beautiful villages and interesting and very different hotels. The cycles were very good and without any problems.

We stayed on one night in Ljubljiana and you would be missing a treat not to spend 24 hours in the city (we were entertained to a leg of the world Beach Volley Ball tour - apparently the Slovenians are very good at it).

Our family of six have Inntravel cycled in Mallorca, Catalunya, Puglia, the Czech Republic and the Danish Riviera. All have been exceptional holidays but cycling in Slovenia surpassed our expectations and was voted the best to date.

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers combined the cycling holiday In the Shadow of the Julian Alps with our Ljubljana City add on

Mr D Hopps  Wetherby July 2018

Glorious scenery which makes you wonder how Slovenia has gone relatively unnoticed for so long and, even allowing for Inntravel's high standards, the best bikes we have ever had.

Mr D Elkin  Wimborne June 2018

We very much enjoyed our Slovenian cycling holiday.  This partly because of the country's beautiful scenery, partly because of the excellent Inntravel route and partly due to our good fortune with the weather.  On several days we woke to what looked like rain, but by the time we got going it was blue skies, puffs of cloud and balmy cycling weather.  The hotels were well positioned and their staff were always friendly.  The eating in/out balance was about right.  We appreciated that the hotels Spik and Lambergh were more 4* than 3*. This was the first time we had done this type of holiday, and are keen to try another one.

Anon   May 2018

Slovenia is a beautiful country full of people who are obviously very keen (and tidy) gardeners. Everything is spotless, yet the atmosphere is very relaxed. The food is perhaps not as good as in France or Italy, but it we had plenty of good food.

Shadow of the Julian Alps is a very good introduction to cycling holidays for people like us who use our bikes a lot but have never done a long trip before. We also enjoyed meeting and interacting with the two groups who started the trip a day before we did.

The e-bike was brilliant. People have the idea that it's cheating and that the bike does all the work for you, but that is not the case. You still do the work, and if you mostly have it off (as I did) and rarely above "eco," you are doing plenty of work -- but can really enjoy the holiday because you know that you can get that little bit of help if you need it. You'll be pushing hard, but you'll still be cycling rather than walking up that last bit. I think my husband would have enjoyed the holiday more with an e-bike and you should more proactively promote this option.

Mr G Taylor  Lancing May 2018

Overall an excellent holiday and a spectacular place to visit.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›