Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > UK > The Hardy Way

The Hardy Way

The verdant landscapes of Wessex
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anon   May 2019

Follow directions very carefully especially in woodland even if wet or tired then you cannot get lost.

Mrs L Jones  South Croydon May 2019

This was our first British Inntravel holiday and it was as efficiently organised as any of the European ones we have taken previously. The walking was varied and interesting and just the right level for us.  Dorset is quintesentially English and these walks show off the countryside to its best advantage. The food was very good at all the places we stayed but neither La Fosse nor La Fleur de Lys provide dinner on Sundays. To maximise the access to the excellent cuisine plan your holiday carefully.

Anon   April 2019

A lovely introduction to rural Dorset. We enjoyed all the walks but a particular highlight for us was the section from Sixpenny Handley to Tollard Royal across Cranborne Chase. The bluebells and other spring flowers were delightful. The Larmer Tree Gardens are well worth a visit. 

The holiday met all our expectations.

Sharon Fratepietro  USA July 2018
This was a superb walking trip, one of the best of many trips we've made over the years in many countries. The beauty and serenity of Dorset exceeded my hope and expectations. Golden brown fields, tall green trees and gentle hills made every day a joy. Charming villages and few tourists added to the stress-free experience. Perfect directions by Inntravel made getting lost all but impossible. The accommodations were very good, and the one tip I'd offer is to ask Inntravel to request rooms located as far as possible from outside dining facilities at the inns.
Mrs J Wood  China July 2018

This was one of the best, most relaxing holidays we've ever had. Walking with nothing to do but look at the scenery, chat, follow directions, and stop at a country pub every day...  Heaven!  We will definitely be booking with you again.

Mr A Poole  Burton-on-trent July 2018

Although the walking was good the highlights were the quality of the 3 inns. All excellent but the meal at La Fleur de Lys was 'a cut above'.

Pauline and Dave   June 2017

We saw a deer crossing the path in front of us which was a 'wow' and later saw a fox stalking a small creatuture in the grass.

Sandie and Richard   June 2017

A very interesting and varied walk through lovely landscapes replete with historical interest of many kinds from different eras. The village churches along the way are well worth visiting.The hotels and restaurants are excellent.

Mrs G Robson  Leeds May 2017

This was a wonderful holiday despite the rain at the start of the week. The route passed through glorious countryside, lovely villages, beautifully cultivated farmland, beautiful meadows and ancient forests. The paths were usually very clearly signposted and easy to follow. At times the slopes up to the viewpoints were challenging but well worth the effort to get there with glorious 360 degree views as far as the coast and Salisbury. It was very quiet and relaxing walking......apart from the steep slopes!!! All the accommodation was very good and different. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the food excellent. The tasting menu at La Fosse was delicious and excellent value. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday and I am looking forward to my next adventure with Inntravel.

Mr T Swaisland  Winchester May 2017

Do not buy packed lunches from either Cranbourn or Museum they are very poor and cost £30 for 2. Do eat in the hotels in the evenings however the food is excellent.

Mrs V Smith  Cheadle April 2017

Very enjoyable with the weather being much better than forecast...

It might be worth mentioning that, as is indicated in the Inn handbook, at Cranborne there is no mobile phone coverage except for vodaphone. With hindsight, we might have given more precise details of our whereabouts to family! Coverage was also patchy in Farnham.

Mr R Hardway  Rhyl April 2017

The food at La Fleur de Lys was excellent.

Shaftsbury was well worth exploring.

Nice to get to see the villages with many houses with thatched roofs, and pleasant surrounding countryside.

Guernsey   April 2017

A good holiday, with satisfying walks. If booking again, might try to avoid bank holiday, as some of the public transport (to start of the walk) was not operating. We were lucky with the weather, but if we had been walking in the rain, not sure how we would have dried our clothes.

Mr P Schiffman  USA April 2017

The walks were wonderful and quite varied in terrain and features.  The villages were all delightful as was all the accommodation.  The meals - both included and optional - at The Inn at Cranborn, The Museum Inn, and The Fleur de Lys - were sensationa.  We were also so fortunate to have glorious dry weather in early April, when the fields were ablaze with yellow rapeseed and the hedges with white  blackthorne blossoms.  Don't miss having a drink on the front garden at the Drover's Inn in Gussage All Saints!

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›