Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Spain & its Islands > Andalucía > A Walking Week with Chris Stewart

A Walking Week with Chris Stewart

Las Alpujarras – land of olive and almond trees

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs J Reid  Galashiels October 2017

This holiday was everything and more than we could have hoped for. It was our first time walking with a group and as such we did not quite know what to expect. We were extremely fortunate to be in the company of a like-minded group of individuals. Christ Stewart was an amazing companion on the walks and on the evenings he joined us for dinner. Our visit to his home El Valero was incredible. It brought his books to life. We felt very privileged to be welcomed to his home by him and his wife. It will be one of our most memorable holiday experiences

Mr P Neale  Royston October 2017

A nice relaxing and very enjoyable holiday. Chris Stewart is a great walking companion and our visit to El Valero for lunch was a real provilege and joy for us all. 

Mrs R Tooze  Rugby October 2017

Everything about this holiday was positive. Flights and transfers were punctual and comfortable. The village accommodation at Las Chimeneas was excellent, the communal facilities were good, food first class, and service faultless. There was a variety of wines, beers and spirits available, as well as soft drinks, all at very reasonable prices. Our hosts, Emma and David, were very attentive. Chris Stewart was great company, entertaining us with his tales as well as playing guitar. Highlights of the week were the visit to Chris and Ana's place, El Valero, and the paella lunch cooked over a fire-pit at Emma and David's finca. We do not consider ourselves to be particularly fit but found that the walks were achievable within our ability, and the scenery is stunning. Overall, we would recommend this holiday and would consider returning ourselves to experience the area at a different time of year.

Mr S Davies  Reading October 2017

This was our first group walking holiday and we very much enjoyed the experience, although it was a group of varied ability and my wife cannot rush on uphill stretches - of which there are many!! Meeting, walking and talking with Chris Stewart was the reason behind this holiday choice and we were not disappointed. The hospitality extended to us all by Chris and Ana, at El Valero, was warm and generous and certainly memorable. Chris, David and Emma are so enthusiastic about the history, culture and geography of the region that one could not fail to be enthralled. David and Emma are excellent hosts and are supported by a wonderful team at Las Chimeneas. Definitely a venue to recommend to others.

Anon   November 2016

A really wonderful week away - beautiful scenery; fresh, clear mountain air; fine, varied walking; delicious food; excellent company and knowledgeable, entertaining guides. Great to meet Chris Stewart and learn at first hand about his love for Las Alpujarras. I felt like I had been away for much longer. So glad we managed to fit in the evening trip to the Alhambra as well - truly memorable.

Mrs P Wilson  North Yorkshire September 2015
Both David and Chris were very good and amusing raconteurs and imparted a lot of historic and other information.
We enjoyed our time with them and feel that our minor criticisms would have turned a good holiday in to a super one.
Your brochure states local Spanish food but this, while excellent, had been anglicised too much and we feel we can eat more typical Spanish food at home.  We do not expect meat and 2 veg at main course when abroad.
Anonymous  Gloucestershire September 2015
David & Emma are remarkable people and we applaud their venture. David's talks to us were full of information, as well as being humorous.  The presence of Chris Stewart was a treat, and we all enjoyed being in his company and benefitting from his extraordinary knowledge of so many subjects. The hospitality of Chris & Ana made our lunch at El Valero memorable and the high point of our holiday.
Anonymous  London September 2015
A very enjoyable holiday, (with some difficult walking) countryside very interesting.
Mr Fox  Llandudno September 2015
The evening and morning spent in Granada gave a lovely flavour of the city. David and Emma run a fabulous characterful country village hotel which we enjoyed. They and Chris Stewart are fountains of local information and history and made each day enjoyable. Highlights would be the day we walked in and out of Chris Stewart's farm and the afternoon of great hospitality and company, and we must mention David's talk on the history of the Alpujarras, Spain and Europe outside the local church with freshly picked grapes... Brilliant !
Mr Green  Stroud September 2015
This was a delightful holiday.  Our hosts (Chris, David and Emma) were excellent in all respects.  Between them, they gave us a wonderful insight into the history, culture and way of life of this fascinating area.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›