Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Italy & its Islands > Other Regions > Olive Groves, Vineyards & Abbeys

Olive Groves, Vineyards & Abbeys

Umbria, Italy’s ‘mystical heart’

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Lucyju Devon   May 2019

A very good mix of exploring towns on some days, and long peaceful walks through lovely countryside on the other days. The walk down the valley to the Monastery of St Pietro was wonderful and its setting so beautiful as we arrived. A very satisfying last two days there.

Ken & Lorraine   May 2019

The restaurant in Abbazia San Pietro in Valle was superb. Carla is a great host

Ms N Orlowski  New Zealand April 2019

We had the time of our lives doing the two walks. Inntravel's organisation and partners in Italy were superb and everything ran like a well-oiled machine. Inntravel really took us off the beaten track - usually you only know about those trails thanks to the insider knowledge gained by spending a lot of time in a region. We loved every aspect of the holiday - the walking, the accommodation, the towns and villages, the food, the countryside, the Italians. Mille grazie.

Anon   September 2018

Spoleto was a fascinating town to explore with a wealth of museums, churches and palaces while the Abbazia di San Pietro was simply stunning in its beauty and simplicity. The evening meals at Hora Media were wonderful example of Italian cooking at its best using local ingredients presided over by the enchanting Carla who not only taught us about the food and wine but gave us an impromptu Italian lesson....wonderful

Mrs A Bruce  Warminster May 2018

My son and I absolutely loved it and would not hesitate to recommend Inntravel and umbria especially....totally wonderful.

Thanks for doing a great job.

 

Mrs L Lance  Reading May 2018

The walks were varied and perfect. Stunning views and vistas. Assisi was a highlight. The Basilica of St Francis in particular is an incredibly powerful and moving experience. I rate this holiday as one of our best experiences with Inntravel. Starting to plan the next one. 

Nancy B   May 2018

We just loved the Abbazia San Pietro. We did the walk to the fortress on the other side of the valley, which was a nice hike, but we also found the abandoned fortress to be very interesting.
We loved Spello (which you recommended as a day trip from Assisi) and ended up spending five days there after the Inntravel part of our trip. Loved the Albergo Teatro in Spello both because of the perfect location and also how incredibly lovely the staff were. (We think we were the only ones in the hotel!). I, personally, would rather stay in Spello than Assisi. It cast its spell on me and on my partner, Terry. (My second favorite town: Bevagna). Spoleto was a very easy place to be for two days and a fun town to explore because there is so much to do and see there, and yet it is not a big place.
We met a lovely group of four Brits also traveling with Inntravel. It was a lot of fun for us to get to know them. (We shared transfers and ended up sharing meals.) I have used four travel companies for walking tours, and (quite honestly), Inntravel was the best. You were incredibly nice, thorough, and responsive. We always felt taken care of.

Mr P Butchers  Royston May 2018

Assisi is well worth an extra day. Unknown to us, the spring festival was in progress and this added to our enjoyment. Eating out was a pleasure. The restaurants we tried were consistently good, with friendly service and useful recommendations for wine and menu options. San Pietro delle Valle was a real highlight.

Mr P Newby  Bury St. Edmunds October 2017

Varied and very beautiful walks. The walk notes were absolutely spot-on and far more accurate than some popular walking books in the UK. The highlight had to be the walk from Force delle Porelle down to the Nera Valley and the Abbazia di San Pietro. Absolutely stunning countryside and the contrast between the wooded hills and the green river valley was wonderful.

Special mention must be made of the restaurant at San Pietro, this was really high-end imaginative cooking. Both chef and front of house were excellent. They were justly proud of the ingredients they used down to offering us cheese they had just bought and some of the best olive oil we have had in Italy.

Mrs R Child  Crediton October 2017

We highly recommend the restaurant Anticha Serre in Bevagna, modest cost for superb food.

Cocoa   September 2017

Inntravel's organization was great, everything worked like clockwork. We had a great holiday, all six of us!  Before we left we were wondering about the detail of the turn-by-turn instructions, without a daily map... but it all worked out perfectly. We had terrific weather, beautiful countryside, friendly people and great food!! And the walking was fun! All six of us felt it was the most enjoyable week of our holiday time in Italy. Thanks everyone at Inntravel!

 

 

Mr H Alexander  Edinburgh September 2017

In Assisi suggest avoiding the cafe in Rocca Maggiore in favour of Ristorante San Lorenzo just below 100 meters below Berkley Villa. At Spoletto, a most memorable dinner at Ristorante 'Il tempio del Giusto', Via Arco di Druso. Also Il Mio Vinaio, close by. 

Dr A Grayling  London September 2017

An excellent holiday, walking through a lovely landscape, enjoying historic towns, eating fine food and drinking good wines. On the food front, Pane e Pomodoro in Bevagna, which has only been open for a few months, was a great find. Delicious food and reasonably priced considering the high quality. The food provided in the monastery restaurant was also excellent. The monsatery hotel was a great place to end at and had the best breakfast as well.

Mr J. Wood  Dunstable September 2017

The highlight was our last two nights at the abbey in San Pietra in Valle. Quite beautiful and utterly peaceful. Also we all enjoyed our sightseeing of Assisi. Stunning city.

Mr D Wallace  Woolacombe June 2017

A brilliant holiday with culture, exercise, scenic views and good weather. Only passed about 10 people walking the same route in the 5 days after Assisi. The abbey was a most beautiful place to finish the holiday. Your staff were excellent and able to rearrange our taxi when our flight was delayed. Thank you all.

Mrs H Beioley  Stroud May 2017

This was a delightful walk through a changing landscape with charming towns. The circular walks around the towns were well planned and rewarding. The Abbazia was a remarkable and enchanting finale to the walk. We had been concerned that the walks would not be long enough but they were. We added in an extra night in Perugia (stayed at the Hotel Rosalba) which was well worth a visit.  

Anon   May 2017

Coming from Australia, it was a wonderful experience to visit Umbria in springtime. The colourful wild flowers amongst olive groves, vines and woodland is a sight that I will never forget. The people we met along the way were also a highlight. Somehow we found a way to communicate with people as we walked along using sign language and our limited Italian. A memorable day was when a local invited us to sample his own home made wines. He didn't speak one word of english, but we got by. This was our first walk using Inntravel, and hopefully not our last.

Mrs B Pretty  Wadebridge April 2017

The holiday was just what we needed in terms of relaxtion, discovery of a new area to us and interaction with the local people. We would recommend this holiday. Indeed prior to leaving we were telling our friends about it all.

Mrs G Penton  Benfleet April 2017

Once again a superbly well organised holiday with Inntravel with too many highlights to mention. All the walks were delightful and so well planned, but one highlight had to be the final walk through the mountains, with spring flowers and trees in blossom. We really enjoyed Bevagna - a lovely village to relax in. We had a very good meal there at Osteria del Podesta (along the main street to the right of the hotel front). In Montefalco we ate in the Piazza del Commune at the Hosteleria Federico II which provided a very good light lunch in the bustle of the square. In Spoleto we had a splendid dinner at the Apollinare - very friendly atmosphere and excellent food at a reasonable price. In Assisi we enjoyed Il Vicoletto (Vicolo dei Macelli Vecchi). 

In Spoleto there is a lovely short walk round the bottom of the Rocca past the Ponte delle Torri, and the underground escalators were a useful way of getting from A to B.

Many thanks once again to Inntravel - we will be back!

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›