Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > France > Other Regions > Land of the Crusades

Land of the Crusades

The Tarn - timeless medieval landscapes

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mr R Elen  Woking June 2017

Meals in the restaurants were rather basic and had very similar menus. The exceptions were a very good meal at Le Ménagier in Castelnau and the included evening meal at Donnazac.

Eilis O'Brien  Ireland June 2017
Caught France in a heat wave but plenty of water, hats and sunblock kept us on trail. Puycelci is just charming; Delphine is a wonderful host and a really interesting person, so - if you are interested in history, music and Europe - take time to chat! We stayed on the top floor suite with the balcony facing east so got to experience an extraordinary sunrise with the birds darting through the early morning mist. Her home is a wonderful combination of eclectic, the historical and the beautiful. We walked to Bruniquel and were "too late" for lunch in the only open restaurant - but as lots of things in France, patience meant they looked after us with a great salad platter when they were ready. Delphine collected us and was kindly patient as we were in the wrong place for our rendezvous. We moved on as our walk took us but this is the spot to which we will return.
D Preece  London June 2017
We loved this holiday. A beautiful part of France - incredible ancient villages and wonderful accomodation. An extra day at Les Vents Bleus is definitely recommended. Delphine's (Puycelci) picnic of crudités and a tiny sandwich might not be enough for you - we had to supplement it with an extra chunk of cheese. Lovely meal at le Menagerie in Castlenau - the sort of thing you fantasise about after several hours of long, hot walking! A meal at Hostellerie de Vieux Cordes was rather an anticlimax and didn't meet expectations. Our second night we decided to flee the tourist trap and headed down the hill (other end of Cordes from Maison Bakea) to Bistrot Cordais, which also has a terrace with great views and we had a lovely relaxed evening there. We didn't feel quite ready to come home at the end of this holiday, and wished we'd had a few more days walking. Thank you Inntravel.
Mrs F Maguire  Thatcham May 2017

We found that the bed and breakfast arrangement did not suit us as frequently we needed an early start to avoid the heat and predicted bad weather which meant we had a long wait to gain access to the new accommodation and so in future we would choose walks with hotels involved.

Inntravel response

This holiday uses four high-quality, family-run chambre d'hôtes (guesthouses). The majority of our guests particularly enjoy the more personal experience that this sort of accommodation offers despite them not necessarily have all the amenities and services, or indeed staff, that a hotel does; check-in is typically after 4pm to allow the guesthouse owner time to prepare the rooms and do the grocery shopping - but we understand that this can be problematic if unseasonably hot weather demands early starts for the walks.

Mrs E Lende  USA April 2017

This was a lovely walk through beautiful farm lands and forests. The towns that we passed by and stayed in were charming. Altogether a wonderful walk that was characteristic of Inntravel's high quality.

Mr M Saunders  Monmouth April 2017

A fantastic holiday. The countryside was varied ranging from forest, woodland, vineyards and pastures containing a beautiful variety of wild flowers. The bastides exuded a lifstyle from times gone by, especially in the evenings when strolling around the ancient buildings in Puycelsi and Cordes....and there's even the chance to experience the historical character whilst staying there in the chambres d'hôtes. The quality of the accommodation was very good and enough food in the picnics to allow for double the walking !

Ms J Thompson  Llandeilo October 2016

A brilliant trip with faultless walking notes, reliable transport service and wonderful hosts at the Chambres D'Hotes. It's a lovely part of France and I was blessed with very good weather. I took advantage of many of the recommendations provided by Inntravel and previous travellers on places to eat and things to see. One other thing I would recommend visiting is the Chocolate and Sugar museum in Cordes. The displays that have been created by this talented confectioner are truly amazing.

Mr D Lemkow  Canada September 2016

Walking holiday exceeded our expectations. Particularly enjoyed the lovely chamber d'hotes. Highlights included meeting Delphine at Chez Delphine and the wonderful meals provided by our hosts at Les Vents Bleus and La Maison Bakea. Would suggest adding another day at Les Vents Bleus to explore Albi. We are already planning our next Inntravel holiday.

Anon   September 2016

Lovely quiet area and charming hosts (without exception). Fascinating towns, architecture and local history.

Mr & Mrs X, Winchester   September 2016

Wonderful scenery and bags of history but probably the most enjoyable was our two nights' experience at Fred's Le Roc. We also enjoyed the hedgerow foraging of ripe figs, plums, apples and pears not to mention blackberries, walnuts and quince.

Miss A Devlin  Swansea June 2016

We had a marvellous holiday.  Excellent walking through quiet countryside, vinyards, fields of ripe crops, woods and always interesting places to see. The medieval towns of Puycelsi, Castelnau and Cordes were wonderful places to explore and the accommodation on this trip was a real highlight - charming, individual chambre d'hote where we were always welcomed warmly and fed well.

Nick Brown, Birmingham   June 2016

Another good holiday from Inntravel. Unfortunately, the weather could have been better but the walking and walk notes were excellent. Highlights included Fred and the team at Le Roc Cafe. We really enjoyed being there as France kick-off Euro 2016. All of the accomodation was good with charming hosts (Delphine drove us to Bruniquel to start a walk, Catherine at La Croix Sud was happy to book the new restaurant in the village for us on arrival) but Les Vents Bleus provided both great accomodation and a wonderful evening meal. Olivier the owner also took us into Albi which we thoroughly enjoyed. Indeed, we would recommend anyone doing this holiday to ensure they have a day there. We also had an extra night at Castelnau but would not recommend this as there is not really sufficient variety of activity to warrant it. Castelnau does have an interesting gallery and a good new restaurant (Le Menagier) but not enough for a full day.

La Maison Bakea is a wonderful place, quite unique with a very peaceful atmosphere. Marie and Gilles are charming and we were fortunate enough to be offered an evening meal which was excellent. It may be worth contacting them in advance about this.

Mr P Boorman   Truro April 2016
This was our third holiday with Inntravel and we were not disappointed.  The destination villages were full of history and interest and the accommodation was varied in character but all of a very high standard.  Some parts stand out - the welcome and service by Fred at the La Roc Cafe was very special and the meal at Les Vents Bleus was superb and served with care and dedication.  The final stay at La Maison Bakéa in Cordes was memorable for the quality and antiquity of the building.  All linked together by the taxi (concierge) service offered by Phil.
Mr J Parsons  Cheshire September 2015
Absolutely splendid. The quality of interest and charm in the bastide towns exceeded expectations. It well worth adding on a day in Albi; indeed a day and a half might have been better.
Finally we both agree that the welcome, friendliness and help offered by all the hosts was quite outstanding.
Mr Godfrey   London August 2015
Each guesthouse was beautifully individual with their own particular style.  They all reflected the personalities of the owners and the area.
The common factors were; the warmth of the welcome, the attention to detail and the genuine feeling that the owners wanted us to enjoy our time with them.  They suggested lovely places to eat, museums to visit and provided outstanding picnics (fresh homemade quiches, salads, local produce and beautifully presented)
We cannot praise the walking notes enough.  They were beautifully detailed with the extra notes on things to look out for and the timings were very useful. It was like having a knowledgeable guide walking with us. The routes across the French countryside in an area we didn't know well were stunning. Staying in the houses in the bastide towns was also a treat. The holiday exceeded our expectations.

Ms P  London May 2015
We were absolutely delighted with the quality of the accommodation and with the service which each host provided. The only slip came with our final luggage transfer, which was simply forgotten until we rang to chase it.
Thank you for an excellent holiday, which we feel represented very good value for money. The highlight was the beauty of the landscapes through which we walked.
Ms Watson  Monmouthshire May 2015
We enjoyed the wildlife and beauty of countryside.
It was very helpful that Inntravel booked train and taxi for us. All arrangements went very smoothly.
The accommodation owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful at all establishments.
Mrs Atkinson  Devon April 2015
The landlady at Puycelci took the trouble to tell Inntravel that there was a concert in the village that we might like. Inntravel took the trouble to talk to us. Tickets were booked and we had a wonderful evening.
On day one from Puycelci, the route was rapidly impassable due to flooding. We managed to find another bridge further upstream. The taxi driver found us in the evening to make sure we were OK. Very Kind of him. I think the weather was exceptionally bad.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›