Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Austria > In the Shadow of the Dachstein

In the Shadow of the Dachstein

Steiermark’s dramatic mountains

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Ms J Gupta-Gwilliam  Malton September 2018

I usually go on hotel to hotel walks with Inntravel, but following a knee operation I thought a single centre would be a wiser idea. This holiday was ideal, as it provided a good, comfy base and the use of the Sommercard, so when my lack of fitness showed I was able to plan to shorten the walk and take the bus. I was very impressed with the extra facilities at the hotel, in particular the sauna. Afternoon cake was probably a mistake, but a very tasty one. The walks that Inntravel suggest are excellent, using chair lifts for one to avoid a very long climb, free with the card. However next year I will be back to walking on each day, for me more of an adventure.

Mr N Sanders  Didcot August 2018

The Hotel Matschner is welcoming, comfortable, spacious, unpretentious and friendly, and Ramsau is a wonderful base for the full range of walks from gentle strolls across meadows to high-altitude adventures. It's lovely.

anon   August 2018

The hotel was perfectly placed for great walking. We followed four of your suggested walks and did one of the hotel guided walks, this being a great addition to the hotel‘s services. Perhaps my best ever walking holiday!

Mr J Mackinnon  Haddington June 2018

Zur Goldene Rose remains one of our favourite places and it really is superb. The hotel in Matschner was a bit disappointing but to compare it with Zur Goldene Rose would be unfair.  It was nothing like as good as the hotel we stayed in near Jehnbach on an Inntravel Try it Out Winter Break; a week there was too long.

Anon   September 2017

Overall this was an excellent holiday and I woiuld not hesitate to recommend the hotel and Inntravel.

Mr G Laurie  Glasgow July 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Ramsau, assisted by keeping the rain and thunderstorms to overnight. Hotel Matschner is a perfect base and the owners and staff could not have been more helpful in every respect. Inntravel walk recommendations are excellent and varied, the highlights being a sunny Sunday afternoon on the glacier (however adapted boots are required to walk on the snow, even with walking poles) and the Bachalm walk with breathtaking scenery. if time pemits, take a Hotel-guided walk - Nicole is an excellent guide. Find time to have a morning in Schladming, it is a charming town.

All in all, the first of more Inntravel/Austria vacations.

Anon   June 2017

Highlight: Walk 3 - Beneath the Dachstein was our favourite. Fantastic views and varied walking.

Anon   June 2017

A thoroughly enjoyable first holiday booked through Inntravel. Hotel excellent, wonderful walking. Documents and maps etc very professionally produced. Will definitely book another holiday through Inntravel.

Mrs A Slade  Huddersfield June 2017

This was an excellent holiday for us because we really enjoyed the flexibility of choosing our walks on a daily basis depending on the weather and on how much energy we had on that day. The weather in the Alps can vary quickly and one day when there were thunderstorms and heavy rain all morning it was good to be able to remain in the comfortable hotel.

The area was one with truly stunning scenery which we could enjoy from near the hotel, from low level valley walks as well as during some amazingly beautiful walks high up on the edge of the Dachstein mountains including on the glacier itself.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›