Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Slovenia > Hidden Italy & Slovenia with Lakes & Julian Alps

Hidden Italy & Slovenia with Lakes & Julian Alps

West Slovenia - Soča Valley & Lake Bled

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Ms L Hanlon  Paisley September 2017

It should be no surprise to hear that two weeks in Hidden Italy, the Soca Valley of Slovenia and the Julian Alps provided enormous cultural variety, many sites of historical interest and access to beautiful countryside. What might be a surprise is to hear is that, even though it rained a great deal (as can happen in the mountains), we still had a wonderful time. The rivers were in powerful spate, the clouds created a moody atmosphere and from time to time they lifted to reveal spectacular views. All in all, an experience that we would recommend to others. 

Maces and Ellaways   August 2017

Thank you Inntravel for arranging a fabulous walking holiday in Slovenia for us. The whole trip went perfectly smoothly, totally without a hitch, from being picked up at Trieste airport, through all the transfers to the hotels, to being dropped off at Ljubljana airport for our flight home. All the hotels expected us and knew exactly what was arranged for us. All the spacious taxis arrived exactly on time for the transfers. Everyone involved was friendly and helpful. The Balloch family at Locanda al Castello in particular went out of their way to look after us.

There were so many highlights it is hard to list them all. The hotels were on the whole excellent choices, with Locanda al Castello, Dobra Vila and Vila Bled standing out. Although the meals throughout were very good, the vote for best restaurant goes to Dobra Vila by some margin. It deserves a Michelin star or two, for the service, the ambience and the superb interpretation and presentation of the local flavours. The set 4-course dinners (with options to change individual courses to suit personal tastes) were culinary masterpieces and we really appreciated the effort that must have gone into preparing the multitude of items served in the delicious buffet breakfasts. A restaurant option that we can thoroughly recommend trying as an alternative to the restaurant at Vila Bled is Garden Village, a short distance away just opposite the hotel entrance. It is set in beautiful gardens where they grow the ingredients for their superb food.

We loved all of the walks – they were varied and always interesting, and the instructions were first class. We had no problems other than in some minor details where the Slovenians have been replacing some of their signs, and there were one or two suspect distance measurements. The first long walk, from Monte Matajur to Kobarid, ended with a long slog down a rocky forest path and then down a featureless road, but it is probably hard to find another suitable route. Our only negative points relate to Hotel Jezero in Bohinj, where our rooms on the third floor at the back of the hotel were subjected to a lot of noise from refuse collectors and service vehicles that woke us from 5am on both days, and where the service in the soulless restaurant was very poor.  

There is no way that we could have set out such a well organised, varied itinerary had we done it ourselves and we will definitely use Inntravel when next we take a walking holiday. 

Dr C Lynch  Tunbridge Wells August 2017

The Vintgar Gorge was intensely crowded and for that reason was not especially enjoyable.  We preferred the Mostnica Gorge which was busy in some places but deserted in others.

Dennis Tanner   August 2017

Take the Cicerone guide and make the walks even better if you want more challenge/interest. Good kayaking on the Soca from Bovec. Taxi transfers all very agreeable to early starts. 

Dr J White  New Zealand July 2017

What a wonderful walk and wonderful country.  Pristine, scenically beautiful, fantastic people and great accomodation.  The walk does have some challenging parts and it is probably not for the complete novice.  However, for those with a little experience it is superb and leaves one with a great sense of acccomplishment.

Ms Seymour, Bath   July 2017

What a fabulous way to discover a country! All the directions were excellent, the taxi transfers were 100% reliable, the scenery was outstanding, the wildlife was beautiful (especially the flowers) and the villages we stayed in were varied and fun to explore. We suggest you pack a towel and swimming costume; although the streams and rivers are very cold, we took many welcome dips. Swimming in the two Lakes was wonderful too. We were very lucky with the weather and were only caught in one storm; make sure you carry a waterproof on every walk because when it rains, it pours! We have had the most wonderful holiday. We will definitely return to Slovenia and we will use Inntravel again to explore elsewhere. 

Anon   July 2017

Kranjska Gora was our favourite place from the point of view of walking and general ambience. Other highlights include the many waterfalls and staying at Hotel Vila Bled. The historical museum at Kobarid was really interesting and combined with the walk around the various First World War battle sites was very informative. We learnt a great deal about an aspect of history rarely mentioned in the UK. We found the town of Bled to be very busy and the Vintgar Gorge was almost impossible to walk through because of the number of people taken there on coach trips, especially at weekends. Overall the holiday was really worthwhile.

Mr D Surridge  Australia July 2017

Overall a great holiday. The detailed walking notes made wayfinding easy, allowing us to enjoy the walking without getting lost! Spectacular scenery particulary in the Socca Valley. A good chance to explore parts of Slovenia that are a little more off the well beaten 'tourist track', small villages and alpine meadows a pleasure to walk through. Accommodation of a good standard. Accommodation and dinner at Locanda Al Castello, and dinner at Hotel Hvala were exceptional. Transfers all seamless and friendly.

 

 

Dr C Penn  Salisbury September 2016

Overall a lovely holiday.  Our first visit, but we now love Slovenia.

ANON   September 2016

This was the first time we had ever used a company for planning a trip and for the most part, we were very pleased. The hotels with the exception of one were great, the transfers made life very easy and the routes got us to places we would have never known about. We were glad that Inn Travel was willing to work with us to substitute some high mountain huts for a couple of the hotels as I would have been disappointed to walk with the mountains all around me and never getting to do some high mountain hiking and climbs. We would definitely consider using Inn Travel again.

anon   August 2016

Highlights: boat on Lake Bohinj, followed by cable car and walk to the top of Mount Vogel.  

Villa Preseren in Bled was also a highlight. Despite the busy location and restaurant, the room overlooking the lake was quiet and we had a very restful stay there.    

C & D, London   July 2016

Tips:

1. Get ViewRanger App (+ maps) and use it - app is free, maps (other than basic free ones) are not - not a substitute for a paper map / compass, but a fantastic extra.

2. PeakFinder App is worth having (not free, but cheap).

3. Insect repellent - Avon Skin So Soft Original Dry Oil Body Spray with Jojoba and Citronella - recommended to us and the first time we've used it - and will now be using it every time - excellent.

4. AccuWeather for weather forecasts - when thunderstorms are forecast, take heed.

5. Buses - Vozni Red / Alpetours online timetables are available - and all the buses we used ran pretty much on time and were cheap.

6. Cable cars and chair lifts - there are some that run in Summer - great for starting out on higher level walks.

 

Highlights:

The welcome in (most) hotels.

Just how friendly and helpful the locals are - and how well so many speak English.

Waterfalls and gorges - rivers and lakes.

Views from the tops.

Fish - eating it - and, if you want, catching it (not my thing, but we met one guy in the Lepena valley who said he regularly drives down from Finland because it has the best fly fishing anywhere) - we also saw a 13kg fish being landed one evening in Bled.

Meat - just say that Slovenian portions can be generous!

Anon   July 2016

Excellent holiday, beautiful unspoilt scenery. Inntravel provided precise and accurate information for all aspects of the holiday, cannot speak more highly of you (again).

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›