Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617005

+44 (0)1653 617005search
      our holidays > Winter Snow Breaks > Norway > Spidsbergseter Hotel, Rondane

Spidsbergseter Hotel, Rondane

On a panoramic plateau in the highlands
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs R Williams  Reigate April 2019

A lovely, friendly hotel, with great rooms, food and facilities. Good variety of trails.

Michael Browder   March 2019

Fantastic trip, fantastic and isolated ski area with great views - we would go back!

 

Mrs H Butler  Fleet March 2019

Our second visit. Hotel still as good, food wonderful and staff very helpful. Ski equipment excellent and the skiing as wonderful as last year. One thing to note - all skis are now the type with skins so no need for waxing. Can't wait to come back.

Dr V Pringle  Glenrothes February 2019

We had not tried cross country skiing before and so we took a couple of lessons. The tuition was great and we felt comfortable venturing further away from the hotel on the trails within a couple of days. There are lots of relatively flat trails near to the hotel where it was good to learn the basics. We loved the  fact that you could go for an hour or so on the trails and not see anyone else. The food in the hotel was amazing. We thought it couldn't get any better then on the last night the buffet had an even bigger selection of delicious food. 

Innes   February 2019

Spidsbergseter Hotel excellent for families, with plenty of entertainment for young children in the evenings to allow parents to relax. Food quality excellent with plenty of choice and friendly staff. 

 

Mr F Wolsey  Norwich February 2019

Very friendly staff. Snow shoeing guided tour was excellent although hard work, wonderful views of frozen waterfall. Food out of this world, wonderful choice of unusual foods and great selection of salmon.

Mr C Wymbs  Whitstable February 2019

The most smoothly connected holiday transfers I have ever had. A winter wonderland that was even better than I had dreamed possible.

Mrs A Robinson  North Walsham February 2019

There is a good variety of trails on this network for the whole ability range. Highlights for us were skiing through snow drifts on a very windy but sunny day high up in the Rondane National Park when we had the trail to ourselves, and skiing to the top of Svartfjellet from where we had the most amazing 360 degree views.

We had our first experience of waxless 'skin' skis which we found to excellent in all the conditions we experienced during the week (-10 to +5 degrees, fresh snow through to ice).

Anonymous   February 2019

An amazing place on the edge of the Rondane with a great mix of sheltered trails below the treeline and spectacular trails above, perfectly prepared. The hotel has an unrivalled mix of friendliness and informality, amazing buffet dining, and wonderful facilities such as the pool and sauna which we made good use of.

Mr R Churcher  Bristol February 2019

My third trip to Spidsbergseter - great hotel and brilliant tracks.

Mrs E Robertson  Beauly February 2019

Ski trails excellent for beginners and intermediates. Staff very friendly and efficient and great food.

Tony G   February 2019

We would both like to thank Inntravel for organising this holiday for us. It is rare to use this term, but we both thought the whole experience was perfect!

Dr M Padfield  Loughborough January 2019

This was our second holiday at Spidsbergseter and it was even better that the first! We explored all corners of the ski domain, able to match the various trips to weather conditions and our stamina; also mindful of the "hazards" ie arrows on the map marking difficult hills. Some of those really are difficult - we took skis off or side-stepped. 

We had the most magnificent views of all the distant mountain ranges on several days when the weather was clear and fine; humbling and awe-inspiring.

Particular highlights were some incredible dawn colours, seen from the restaurant during breakfast: intense salmon pinks and purples, with soft lilac, pale blue and blossom pink in the opposite direction; all gradually changing as the sun rose. Then, the magnificent dinners.......

Mr R Bryant  Stroud January 2019

This was a second visit to Spidsbergseter after a very successful 2018 trip. The hotel is in an excellent position and the choice of loipe is very extensive and the signposting is without fault. The higher routes provide magnificent views towards the Rondane National Park. The only great disadvantage of a holiday in Norway is that I always come back home with weight gain because of the abundance and variety of food but considering the amount of exercise each day it is somewhat surprising! The swimming pool and jacuzzi are wonderful.

CQ, Sheffield   January 2019

The cross-country skiing experience was very good for us as beginners, with a couple of lessons to start us off and gentle tracks to go along, (with a good choice of more challenging tracks also available). The ski equipment was very good, and there was a good drying room. The hotel was very good, the beds comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. We went in the low season, so there were relatively few people on the slopes and we usually had the pool to ourselves. The weather was very cold when we were there, with a couple of days of blizzards, but with lots of layers of clothes we were actually very warm when skiing, although mitts were better than gloves. The hotel food was very good with a fantastic choice of dishes, but you may be a bit limited if you were a vegetarian. Having seen the prices of food in restaurants elsewhere, we were very glad that the food was all included and we could make up our own packed lunch/hot drinks in flasks in the morning to take out skiing. The hotel provided free flasks, but we didn't use them as we had brought our own. Inntravel guests also get an afternoon tea provided at 4 pm, which we only found out about by chance - it isn't advertised anywhere. You can borrow a hairdryer from reception, or use the one in the pool changing room. There were lots of quaint sitting rooms in the hotel, and a room with lots of books and games to play which you might need as there are very limited English TV channels.

All in all, a great holiday- we would certainly consider going back for more!

Mrs H Purchase  Liss December 2018

A beautiful area with great views. Very helpful staff. Are there any bigger rooms?

Anon   March 2018

An excellent location and set-up for beginner and medium ability cross-country skiers. Excellent tuition...

Paula Roberts, Llanberis   March 2018

Our holiday was an excellent intro to cross country skiing.

There  are plenty of well signposted trails to follow, both high up into the mountains and on more level ground. 

My husband has very restricted sight and the well groomed tracks allowed him to whizz on ahead to the next junction.

The meals in the Spistbergseter are great, the packed lunch option well worth it, there isn't much else around to keep you going if you're out all day.

Easter was busy, lots of families out for a break and lots of snow based activites on for children. They are all better skiiers than us and were usually overtaking us. Everyone was tired from all the skiing by the end of the day, the evenings were quiet enough.

The Aquavit barn was shut over the break but it was easy enoughto get a taster in the bar.

All in all, an excellent break, the location and the Inntravel arrangements were excellent

Ms M Kelly  Ireland March 2018

This holiday was delightful. We enjoyed every aspect from the hotel and friendly staff,to the wonderful food, the pool and sauna  and the beautiful trails. We found our first lesson challenging as we were complete beginners and I don't think Yll (our very nice and patient instructor) could comprehend just how unstable on ski's we were, even on the very flat. We did improve over the week though and enjoyed it all the more as we did! We hope to return.

Maria and Tina

Ms A Sheehy  High Peak March 2018

An excellent experience in so many ways.

Anon   March 2018

Our stay in the Spidsbergsetter hotel was extremely relaxing. The staff were all super responsive and friendly. We just went about the facilities of the hotel without a care. When we asked for small adjustments (e.g. renting snow shoes instead of skis for a day), they were offered immediately at no extra cost. The facilities (esp. pool & sauna) were excellent, and the food amazing. The area was great for a week's worth of exploration (we had never done cross country skiiing before). Brilliant stay for a relaxing and indulgent couple's break.

Helen Butler  Fleet, Hampshire March 2018
The Spidsbergseter Hotel is one of the most relaxing hotels we've stayed in. The food is excellent, particularly the extensive buffet on most evenings and there were really nice touches like being greeted by the chef at Sunday's breakfast with a selection of homemade breads including the best brioche we've tasted! All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We tried the waxless skis (skins not the fishscales used in Europe) and were very impressed and would highly recommend them. They remained the same at the end of a long day unlike the waxed skis which can start to slip towards the end of the day. The ski trails were very varied, you could choose to do a longer, gentler route or go up onto the top of the fells for magnificent views and more challenging skiing. We chose our routes each day according to the weather and preparation of the tracks - the live weblink showing the state of all the track preparation was really useful. A fantastic holiday all round.
Mrs H Butler  Fleet March 2018

The ski trails were the best we've ever done, it was possible to vary our routes depending on weather, how we felt, etc., with very little duplication. We would highly recommend the waxless skis. The hotel was one of the most relaxing hotels we've stayed in, the food was very good and the staff were delightful.

Anon   February 2018

The Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane is located in the middle of the Rondane National Park, with cross-country skiing possible straight from the doorstep. The routes are beautifully maintained and incredibly scenic. There are plenty of routes for beginners and more advanced cross-country skiers. We travelled as a family of three, staying in a mountain apartment for a week. The apartment was very clean, functional, quiet and very warm, with beautiful views across snow fields to the mountains beyond.
All the hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very family friendly. We hired cross-country ski equipment from the hotel and since we had never tried it before, we booked a lesson with the hotel's ski instructor. He was very patient, constructive and supportive throughout. There were various activities available, arranged by the hotel, including snowshoeing, guided cross-country ski tours and husky dog sledding. We decided to book the husky dog sledding and can highly recommend it, as it was a fantastic experience.
The hotel is unique in many ways. Besides being able to cross-country ski straight from the door, there is an indoor swimming pool from which you can watch the sunset over the mountains, a climbing wall within the pool area, a toddler pool, a jacuzzi, a steam room and a sauna. The communal areas are made up of a variety of cosy lounges, some with lovely wood burning fires, which give the hotel a relaxing atmosphere. The food was amazing with a plentiful breakfast buffet and an equally diverse range of options for evening meal. We plan to stay again next year.

Mr R McGrath  Helmsdale January 2018

At the Fefor Hotel you can hire with a returnable deposit a small plastic lunch box to take your lunch out on the trail.

 If you are a complete beginner then you would be better placed at the Spitsbergseter Hotel as the terrain is much more suitable.

 

Mr J Campbell  Southampton January 2018

Overeating was a serious hazard on this holiday as the food was excellent in all four places we stayed - the breakfast at Erzscheidergården Hotell in Røros and the evening meals at Spidsbergseter deserve special mention for their outstanding quality and generous portions.

In Oslo we enjoyed a local ferry ride around the small islands in the fjord which was free with the Oslo Pass.

We recommend the Frati Italian restaurant in Trondheim which has great beer as well as reasonably priced dishes, which explains why it's so popular!

Thanks Inntravel for another fantastic holiday!

Mr R Bryant  Stroud January 2018

This was my 26th cross-country skiing holiday since I started in 1972! Spidsbergseter was superb in many ways: the hotel is excellent, the staff are welcoming, the skiing tracks are extensive and in excellent condition but even more impressive is the signposting of tracks together with details of where you are on the signposts (a map on each post). For beginner skiers there is a good choice of low, undulating tracks but there are tracks leading to much higher ground that enable one to take in the breathtaking panorama of mountains and forests - pure heaven. I returned home about 4lb heavier which indicates that the food is plentiful!!

Mrs D Morgan  Nuneaton January 2018

From the hotel you can follow tracks around the lake, through forests, over fells and up high around the mountains so there is a great variety within quite a compact area, with some easy and undulating and some with more challenging ascents and descents. The scenery is beautiful, the hotel friendly and comfortable, and we very much enjoyed our week. Thank you for finding this hotel Inntravel, we certainly hope to return!

Mr P Haynes  Richmond January 2018

Inntravel were great in all aspects of our booking, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and the hotel was lovely and homely with fantastic food prepared by a wonderful chef.  We loved everything about our trip and especially the experience of our wonderful travel agents.  Very big THANK YOU!

Anon   January 2018

A chance to ski through a variety of environments (trees, highland plains, frozen lakes, hamlets) in the beautiful winter wonderland with ski tracks cut from the hotel door. Due to poor weather (gale force winds and heavy snow creating white out) there was one day where no tracks were cut (no ski day) and a second day a very limited set of track was cut (5.2 km loop around the lake).  Once the weather cleared all the tracks were cut again.  Hotel was fabulous with nothing too much trouble for the staff.  During the week (due to low numbers of guests) there was an a la carte menu with a choice of two starters, mains and desserts.  At the weekend there were two most impressive buffets.  The food was excellent.  Our only small grumble (apart from BA cancelling our flight home!) was that were was no ski instructor present during our stay so no one was able to advise on the waxing of our hire skis.

Bob   January 2018

An excellent, well organised holiday in a very good hotel, with great food. The tracks, and track cutting were great, and we were lucky with the weather

Anon   December 2017

We enjoyed the large snowy landscapes, the sledge pulling dogs and discovering a boat bus stop for a peaceful tea break.

G   December 2017

This was my first Inntravel holiday but it will not be the last. The timeliness, accuracy and detail of your initial responses set an excellent tone. The obviously excellent communication you had with the hotel made my preparations and stay very easy, and the Spidsbergsester itself exceeded all expectations of warmth, hospitality and 'hygge'. The ski-tracks through the silent forest were immaculate, and the plenty and variety of their buffets' spoilt even strict vegetarians for choice. It was only a 5-night trip but it was enough for me to become very fond of the place, the local sports, the people. I shall be back there and back to Inntravel. Thank you for an excellent experience.

Mrs AE Stewart  Westhill April 2017

Amongst the best cross-country skiing we have ever experienced with a wide variety of trail options including beautiful routes round mountains with spectacular views of the national park.

Mr M Jesson  Longfield March 2017

The hotel is excellent with very good facilities and has an exceptional location for Cross Country skiing.

The Skis and boots provided were of good quality and very comfortable.

We preferred the waiter service which we had for the first 3 nights rather than the buffet meals although the food was always excellent.

We also enjoyed the panoramic views from the dining room.

The staff were really attentive and helpful.

Cazza   March 2017

Amazing location for a family cross country ski  holiday. Hotel very comfortable, with a range of great facilities. Very high quality food and ski access from your door. Trails suitable for a range of abilities, our two year old skied from the hotel and our three year old was able to ski 4-5km a day on easy trails. We explored the high mountains with the children in a pulk.

Mr S Fairman  Oxford February 2017

Nothing prepared us for the beauty of the snow-covered landscape that changed constantly with the light and varying weather conditions.  Despite the -10 degree daytime temperatures we didn't feel the cold and we were able to enjoy staying out all day.  

Anonymous   February 2017

We loved the whole experience at Spidsbergseter, the cross country trails from the door were a delight. The rooms appeared slightly small to start with, but the friendliness and facilities in the hotel were wonderful. It can get busy at weekends but then it calms down during the week so you get the best of both worlds.

Mr J Campbell  Southampton February 2017

We really enjoyed the wide variety of ski trails and relaxing in the hotel's swimming pool after a hard day's skiing. The food was fantastic and the choice was amazing, especially at the weekend. Spidsbergseter has become our new favourite winter destination in Norway!

Mr M Gast  Malvern January 2017

Remind that if guest numbers at hotel are low meals will be 3 course menu with choice of two options for each course.

Provide a slightly larger scale trail map with more user information such as clearer indications of steepness of slopes.

Provide advice to travellers on bringing goggles/sunglasses to assist with flat light conditions.

All else absolutely excellent, I felt especially welcomed and supported, as a lone traveller, by the hotel reception staff.

Dr M Padfield  Loughborough January 2017

The mountains had so many moods, depending on the weather and time of day. Dawn colours were usually pink or apricot, but the sunsets were true Canaletto- colours; utterly magnificent.

We went to the summit of Svartfjellet (the Black Mountain), walking the last 0.5 km, to be rewarded by the most amazing views. We also had a truly amazing views of the Rondane massif from the peak near Kloptjonnet at the north of the map.

The more southern trails on the map are "softer" both in their gradients and the surrounding forest/ farmland views. In the north and east of the ski domain, there is very little vegetation and the views are wild and white.

Where the map indicates steep gradients, this is true!

Mr C Wigley  York January 2017
We had a great time, beautiful location, lovely people, relaxed and friendly hotel. I really don't think you could ask for more! Apart from the skiing, which was obviously why we went, the dog sled ride was terrific, really exciting. I will do that again!

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›