Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617003

+44 (0)1653 617003search
      our holidays > Cycling Holidays > France > Other Regions > Villages & Vineyards of Alsace

Villages & Vineyards of Alsace

Between the Rhine & the Vosges Mountains

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Angelina, Bedfordshire   September 2018

We loved this holiday, with varied cycling on woodland tracks, pretty quiet lanes and on dedicated cycle paths through vinyards. There were plenty of route options and information was given in the notes about places to visit and detours to make.  The temperatures in early September were in the late 20s to early 30s centigrade so it was quite hot for the cycling but we were never too far from a pretty village where we could stop for a drink and explore. We also found the local Alsace people were very friendly.  This is such a pretty region and I would recommend it to anyone including a stop over in pretty Strasbourg.

Julie   September 2018

An excellent weeks cycling and discovery holiday through the lovely villages and vineyards of Alsace with delicious meals and wine, especially in the restaurants in hotels La Ferme du Pape and La Cour du Bailli.

Mr DW Leicester   August 2018

Cycling was great, villages as old and picturesque as any we have ever seen complemented by wonderful Alsace food and wine. The quality of their meat is incredible (veal, beef, lamb, chicken and liver sampled) and we are mainly fish/veg eaters in the UK !

Highlight was probably the visit to Turckheim - the Musee Memorial des Combats de la Poche de Colmar was superb and very moving, highly recommend - short audio tour for about an hour. 

Mr M Brown  Llandudno August 2018

We went on three Inntravel cycling holidays last year and we have now been on two this year with a further one already booked.  You must be doing something right as we have thoroughly enjoyed each one.  Our only concern is that we might run out of the easier ones soon!

Dr D Barton  Leeds July 2018

Overall an excellent experience with beautiful scenary and weather (apart from cycling through one torrential downpour!). The route and guidance were very detailed and there was really no need to consult the maps which however were a useful backup. There were good options of shorter or longer more demanding routes on most days. For the more energetic, there was the time to undertake more severe climbs e.g. we did the Cinq Chateaux route above Eguisheim at the end of Day 1 and the Les Trois Epis on the last day cycle back from Kaysersburg (if you have the time, it is well worth hiring out the bikes for this final ride back to Eguisheim). Although all the overnight stays were very enjoyable, our favourite was Bergheim, partly due to the very atmospheric hotel and also the fact that the tourists don't seem to flock here (yet!). 

Mark Robinson   July 2018

Dinner at Hôtel la Cour du Bailli was wonderful!!

Anon   June 2018

We enjoyed discovering the Alsace region and sampling the food and hospitality. The 'notes' helped us get more from our experience and created a bit of an adventure! This has been our first holiday with Inntravel, we have been well looked after, have found everything easy going and would definitely like to cycle with you again.

Ms J Bloomfield  York June 2018

We loved the scenery, we loved the villages but we would describe this holiday as a sightseeing holiday by bicycle rather than a cycling holiday. The distances were much too short and, unlike other Inntravel tours we have been on, we found it harder to find our own longer routes. Not sure why, maybe because it is a more populated area than any we have been to before. 

Mrs A Saunders  Ilkley May 2018

We had a lovely week in Alsace and the weather was perfect for cycling. The maps and detailed instructions were excellent, we found highlighting the routes beforehand really helped. The staff in all of the hotels were very helpful, and happy to let us practice our French before moving on to English!

Our highlights were the stork sanctuary, visiting in May meant there were lots of chicks; wine tasting in Eguisheim and Bergheim; and the evening meals at both hotels.

Dr J Richardson  Taunton September 2017

Cycling through the vineyards during the vendange, being greeted by friendly cheers, reaching yet another perfect half-timbered village in time for coffee and patisserie. Good memories.

Mr D Montgomery  Ballyclare July 2017

Cycling route was very well planned, the villages that we passed through were beautiful and the scenery on the cycle paths was spectacular . We usually tried the longer route options each day and found that we still had ample time at each village without having to rush.

Mrs J Benders  Australia June 2017

We went on three cycling holidays and a walking holiday. Every holiday had highlights and we had a wonderful time experiencing the countryside of France. The notes for the cycling and the walking are very detailed and accurate which is always important. Treasures of Southern Burgundy includes a great ride through vineyards to Beaune and back. Riding in the Loire is generally flat and there are interesting chateaus to see. Overall my personal favourite was the Villages and Vineyards of Alsace. This ride has some slightly more challenging riding but also more variety in the scenery and things to do. I loved the ride to Dambach and back from Bergheim. The walking holiday was also great because you get away from the main roads and yet you are still on well maintained tracks. The walk from Port Le Gagnac to Loubressac was very scenic and gave us a good workout. My tip would be to get fit before your holiday and then you will have a wonderful time. We travelled in July and were surprised that it was generally cooler than anticipated. So another tip is to be prepared for variations in temperature and some rain no matter when you go. Inntravel is well organised and this made our holiday go very smoothly.

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers enjoyed the following cycling holidays: The Land of Kings (Loire & Sologne), Treasures of Southern Burgundy, Villages & Vineyards of Alsace followed by our Villages of the Dordogne walking holiday.

Lisa Stevens   United kingdom June 2017
We've just experienced our first cycling holiday with Inntravel and have had a fabulous time in the Alsace! Well directed cycle routes each day, cycling through stunning scenery and finishing the day in lovely, friendly hotels. Great bikes hired too, thankyou for a memorable break.
Mr R Alesbury  Waterlooville June 2017

This was our first holiday of this kind, and with Inntravel, and will not be the last. Inntravel exceeded expectations in every way from the initial booking to the accommodation and details of the suggested routes. The accommodation was perfect and all three made us feel very welcome and are perfect partners for Inntravel as they all have the customer's satisfaction as the number one priority. Let's not forget the taxi company or the bike hire company who were equally as attentive. This really was an excellent trip and I cannot praise Inntravel enough. Anyone looking for holiday a bit different from the norm should get in touch with Inntravel to see what they have to offer. We will definitely be using Inntravel again and I have already recommended them to numerous friends, family and work colleagues.

Jackie and David, Woking   May 2017
Cycling through birdsong and the vivid greenery of a burgeoning forest. A picnic lunch in shade by the vineyards near Hunawihr with 180 degree views of the Rhine valley. Our extraordinary first sighting of a stork - flying past our studio apartment window in Eguisheim, with a fish in its mouth! Three highlights from a very special holiday positively littered with exceptional memories.
We would highly recommend the Tarte Flambee at Auberge Saint-Martin, Kintzheim. The small size was plenty when served with a large fresh salad. Other notable eateries included Bratschtall Manala, Kayserberg, for relaxed friendly atmosphere (and huge puddings) and a boucherie in Eguisheim (A. Edel, on Grand Rue) provided us with splendid chevre quiche for a picnic lunch on our first day. Worth noting that the Haxakessel café/restaurant in Rouffach was really busy and would only serve a full meal on a Sunday. The other places highlighted in the notes were all closed.
Despite seeing plenty of stork action from our high-level perch in Eguisheim, we overdosed on storks, baby herons and coypu at the Naturopark, Hunawihr for over 2 hours – educational and entertaining.
This is our fourth cycling holiday with Inntravel and probably our favourite. Above average hotels in well-chosen locations married perfectly with considerate route planning to ensure a relaxing holiday.
Mr JF Rankin  St. Andrews April 2017

From my experience, I feel that cycling holidays are better not undertaken alone. Of course, I am rather old! However, the physical aspects of the holiday were not a problem, the mental aspects more so!

anon   September 2016

The cycle routes were the highlight, cycling through the vineyards, the beautiful villages. a very well planned and organised holiday. One of our best ever! Thank you.

Ms M McCaffrey  St. Albans September 2016

The holiday was fantastic and the best cycling holiday that I have been on, and I have been on quite a few! It was lovely to read the brief before each cycle ride and then be reminded en route of what had been said. It was like following an eye spy trail. There was plenty of time to do things like the Butterfly Park and Centre of reintroduction of the Storks, and the aquatic display in Hunawhr. The Hansi museum in the ancient house with the old spiral staircase in Riquewihr was incredible. The wine tasting in La Cave du Bailli in Bergheim was very special, the wine tasted like nectar. We were very fortunate to stay in the new apartments of La Bel, which is part of the Hotel Les Remparts, Kaysersberg. Francoise made us so welcome, and she was so helpful in informing us where to eat and when to use the hotel restaurant, in order not to clash with a large group. She made us feel like family. My bicycle was comfortable and the gears were so easy to use. The taxi service was admirable.  I would highly recommend this holiday and Inntravel to anyone who enjoys cycling and beautiful villages and countryside.

Ms R Cowperthwaite  Twickenham July 2016

Bergheim was our favourite place to stay, and we really enjoyed eating at the restaurant which is adjacent to the winery  owned by the same family - excellent food, and great choice of wine. At Hunawihr, we had very good Italian meal at the roadside restaurant at the south entrance to the town - O'goutchi. Good, friendly service and a nice outside terrace to sit on.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›