Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617005

+44 (0)1653 617005search
      our holidays > Winter Snow Breaks > Iceland > Reykjavík Northern Lights Break

Reykjavík Northern Lights Break

The world’s most northerly capital city

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anon   March 2019

The included Glacier tour was outstanding, and the guide very knowledgeable. We enjoyed eating at Fishmarkadurinn, and discovered a 20% off voucher in the book of vouchers that was available in the lobby of the hotel - definitely worth picking it up! Kol was also a good place to eat, also had a discount voucher and is very close to the hotel. The lift up the Hallgrimskirkja only takes 6 people at a time, and we didn't find stairs up, so the queue to go up can be long and take a lot of time. [Access is by lift only]

anon   February 2019

My personal highlight was the day with the Icelandic mountain guide. It was a magical day and although I was nervous about walking on the glacier our guide made us feel safe and took us up the glacier at a steady pace. He was also very helpful when viewing the Northern Lights helping people with their cameras making sure they captured this wonderful sight.

ANON   February 2019

We had a great time.  Iceland is an amazing and interesting place, well worth a visit. The hotel chosen by Inntravel was lovely and the staff we're very helpful and friendly. We'd really recommend it as a place to visit. However, our glacier walk was cancelled due to high winds - we understood this absolutely as the wind the previous day was very very strong - but everything was cancelled the south coast visit to the waterfalls, the meal and the north lights tour (the very name of the holiday) with no alternatives offered which seemed very odd. To be fair the tour was offered for the day after, but we had booked ourselves onto something else for that day. We ended up buying locally (which was easy) another northern lights tour that night and another tour during the day.

Anon   January 2019

Weather is clearly an important factor when travelling to Iceland: we saw no northern lights because most days it was cloudy and often raining. However I entirely appreciate Inntravel can't forecast so far in advance.

Wendy, Tasmania   January 2019

Our early January holiday was hugely enjoyable despite cancellation of the glacier walk due to heavy rainfall and an excess of cloud for the Northern Lights. Our expectations for winter weather were duly met. We adapted however and enjoyed Reykjavik's museums and architecture (the Harpa concert hall is stunning), and the Information Centre recommended a day tour around the Golden Circle which surpassed our expectations thanks to Atty, the local guide. It began with a swim at low-key Secret Lagoon in the late dawn surrounded by snowy slopes which was delightful. Everywhere the facilities for the many international visitors are terrific and we revelled in the quirky atmosphere, extraordinary nature, friendliness and excellent food. A lifelong dream fulfilled!

Anon   November 2018

The glacier walk was exhilarating as was Iceland’s unique scenery.

Mrs E Griffin  Preston November 2018

We loved this break. The scenery in Iceland is amazing. Golden circle tours and snæfellnes peninsular tours are a must

Blue Lagoon was lovely- book well ahead

Fishmarkt and Oster Budin were high quality meals

cheaper options Lamb Street Food and Fish & Co were really tasty 

Reykjavik Roasters was the best coffee in the city and only 5 minutes from the hotel

the bakery close to the coffee house did excellent cinnamon pastries 

northern light sightings are unpredictable so see them as a bonus

R & J Maitland, S & H Beioley  Gloucs February 2018
We were fortunate to escape the Beast from the East by going on the Northern Lights Break in late Feb 2018. The Odinsve is one of those ‘Inntravel does it again!’ hotels; close to the wonderful Hallgrimskirkja, calm, professionally run yet friendly. The Snaps restaurant next door does brilliant breakfasts (skyr, yogurt, fruit, shrimp salads, bacon, egg, waffles, rye breads and blackcurrant jam) as well as meals throughout the day. We don’t normally eat in hotel restaurants but this was exceptional; we ate there most evenings. The food - particularly fish and lamb - is outstanding; great ambience and clearly very popular with locals.
Trip highlights: the Glacier walk, led by Haraldur from Iceland Mountain Guides, who combined a passion for geology with a wicked sense of humour and ability to guide us safely up and down the the Solkeimajokull glacier. Haraldur went the extra mile in terms of looking out great (freezing!) locations for us to see the Northern Lights. A long day but worth it. NB, you need boots with ankle support as well as stout soles, although you can hire them from the tour company. The Arbaer Open Air Museum, a collection of around 30 historical houses which give a great insight into life - particularly the long, harsh winters - in Iceland over the past couple of centuries. It’s a 40 minute bus ride from town. Having had the great good fortune of having our flight home cancelled (because of Weather at Heathrow) we got to see Arbaer and eat in galleryfiskur.is, an outstanding fish restaurant five minutes walk from the museum.
We were glad to do the Golden Circle tour but would recommend seeking out a small minibus or specialist tour if possible, rather than the large Gray Line we took with a conscientious but uninspiring guide. Otherwise, Reykjavik is a very walkable city with interesting domestic architecture as well as some great public buildings, museums (many free for people aged over 67s) good shops and galleries. People we met spoke good English and were very friendly. Overall, a really interesting country to visit and you can gain some insight even on this short visit.
Finally, Sarah Moss’ book; Names for the Sea; Strangers in Iceland, as well as being lyrical in its writing, provides a fascinating insight into life in Iceland over the period of the financial crash and Ash Cloud chaos caused by the eruption of Eyjafjallajokull in 2010. Well worth a read.
Mrs H Beioley  Stroud February 2018

This was a fascinating holiday as Iceland is such a unique country, in our experience. We liked the Icelanders' humour and were impressed with the nation's inventiveness in harnessing the country's natural resources. A great hotel, very centrally located - most other hotels in the city seemed to be on the outskirts. The adjacent Snaps restaurant is also excellent with wonderful fish, lamb and salads. It has a lively ambience (in a good way) and is clearly very popular with locals. The glacier walk was interesting, some of us would have liked to have gone a bit further but the guide was terrific. We didn't get to the Blue Lagoon as we left it too late to book - three weeks ahead seems to be the minimum to get an acceptable time slot. Thanks Inntravel. Again! 

Ann & Terry, Leamington Spa   February 2018

The Iceland Mountain Guides trip was excellent - no Northern Lights unfortunately, due to cloud cover, but our guide kept trying, and the glacier walk was a wonderful experience.

Mr R Lait  Birmingham February 2018

Iceland is easily summed up as dramatic, friendly, beautiful, windy - and expensive, but worth a visit even if the Northern Lights stay hidden. Booking through Inntravel worked perfectly, as always, and in light of a 'no show' from the Northern Lights the glacier walk was the highlight of the week.

Mr E Brittain  Henfield January 2018

The Rift Valley and glacier walks were excellent.  Hotel staff were very helpful.

Mrs D Bramley  Louth November 2017

Don't get too hung up on seeing the Northern Lights; Iceland has so much more than this to offer and you can waste alot of time. Use the websites which tell you the likelihood of seeing them. On a rainy day The Settlement Exhibition and The National museum are fantastic - well set out, interactive, different - not dry/boring museums at all. Look out for Icelandic Street Food - especially in winter the seasonal specialities are delicious and the locals love to hand out free tasters to share their cooking traditions. Alcohol's high prices are legendary - so one place in the world where 'happy hours' are important to keep to budgets - keep your money for tours...they are run by well informed locals who can tell you all about the history, living in Iceland today, farming, geology and future plans - fascinating!

Mrs H Smith  Sheffield November 2017

All round an excellent trip.  Hotel very well situated near the main church and central Reykjavik.  We thoroughly enjoyed the included trip and the glacier walk was a highlight.

K Cullen, Edinburgh   March 2017

As always, Inntravel provided an excellent experience.  We enjoyed the suggested walk around Reykjavik, and the included excursion was fantastic.  We had an amazing walk on the glacier, followed by a successful hunt for the lights.  We hired a car for our final day and did the Grand Circle at our own pace - more enjoyable than a tour bus and probably no more expensive!  Iceland is very expensive so be prepared for paying a lot more than usual for meals and drinks...but it didn't hamper our enjoyment!  Oh, and wrap up warm!

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›