Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617005

+44 (0)1653 617005search
      our holidays > Winter Snow Breaks > Austria > Hotel Seerose, Fuschl am See

Hotel Seerose, Fuschl am See

Tranquil beauty amid Austria’s lakes

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anonymous   March 2019

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time.  The Seerose was a lovely hotel with a good feel and good staff.

The meals were very generous and we had a good room with a bath which was so welcome after a hard day’s walk.

We liked the fact that we could explore the area by foot or take the short bus ride to Salzburg and see another side of Austria.

A highlight was the walk from the top of the cable car from St Gilgen.  We would have liked it to have been longer and maybe should have taken the walking path down in the snow as well.

We felt the information on the snow conditions locally was not accurate and staff in the tourist offices didn’t know the walks personally.

The holiday for us was a great success.

 

Mrs K Slack  Nottingham February 2019

Snow shoeing was amazing, our first time. However very strenuous so not for the faint hearted. Walk around the lake was amazing with magnificent views and so peaceful in the snow. Beware the Schloss though, we had two glasses of wine only and it cost 25 Euro, bit steep we thought. Don't be afraid to visit the local bakeries and Gasthouses as the food and wine or beer is great and the welcome even better. English is not widely spoken but most of the young people have a basic grasp. Don't let this put you off as you will get by given the good nature of the locals. It’s quite fun really to try to communicate with signs, points and good natured guestures. WE HAD A FANTASTIC HOLIDAY.

Mr W Axell  Maidstone February 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed the snow shoe walk. As other reviews have stated, it's worth booking the lake view rooms.

R J Wilson   February 2019

The Seerose Hotel is delightful in a beautiful setting. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and nothing was too much trouble. Our room which over looked the lake was very spacious and well appointed. All the meals were excellent.

Mrs P Mackee  Durham February 2019

We loved the Seerose and Fuschl too. The staff were so helpful and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The quality of the food was outstanding and we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Seerose. We would be more than happy to recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a winter holiday in Fuschl Am See.

Mr K Martin  Stamford January 2019

Excellent holiday and excellent hotel this was our second visit and we will definitely be coming back again.

Mrs S Gilmour  Wetherby January 2019

Idyllic situation and excellent local transport, enabling all sorts of activities.

Mrs C Summers  Oxford January 2019

Do not go at this time of year as everything is shut! Best thing: visit to the thermal baths in Bad Ischl.

Mrs W Thombs  Redditch December 2018

Good bus travel close to the hotel for visits to Salzburg and local villages. Would recommend the sleigh ride experience and a visit to the beautiful village of St Gilgen.

Pat W   December 2018

Very good bus service from Fuschl going both in the Salzburg direction and towards Bad Ischl. We used the bus to St Gilgen from where there were some lovely walks (luckily the snow had not covered the walking paths). We had a delightful walk back from there over Mozartblick into the Ellmau valley and back to the village. We did the walk around the lake a couple of times (once in each direction) both times stopping at the superb fishery where we ate delicious smoked trout from the lake still warm! We also used the Cafe Flora in the village, a very friendly and welcoming place for a snack lunch, a warming hot chocolate or an early evening drink. The Christmas Eve gala dinner which followed the champagne reception, speeches and singing round the Christmas Tree was excellent and was the highlight of our stay.  

Tim Bowler   March 2018

Fuschl was a lovely place, with no need for a car as the bus service to Sazburg or St Gilgen is excellent. There were good walks around the area. The bakery and local shops provided enough to make a picnic lunch if you wanted. All the people were friendly and helpful. We felt very safe and comfortable. Beware, as we found Austrian food was very salty, to being sometimes inedible.

Mr K Martin  Stamford February 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and really enjoyed the walks around Lake Fuschl, self guided walks around Salzburg and Bad Ischl, the walk to Lake Hintersee from Faistenau and the Panorama Walk up the Zwolferhorn from St. Gilgen. We experienced bitter cold and glorious warm sunshine on our stay at the end of Feb/beginning March. Both were good. The only two recommendations we can suggest are not to go to Cafe Queen Katharine in Bad Ischl which you recommended and was very poor. Not surprising that there were no other customers at lunchtime when other establishments were busy. It was just odd and the food was poor. We did feel that the Cafe Flora in the square in Fuschl had good food, friendly and helpful staff and seemed to be open all the time. One further tip is to take note of bus and shop opening hours at weekends as they do vary from weekdays.

Anon   February 2018

The food and dining room service at the hotel Seerose was very good and catered very well for special diet - gluten free. Free travel to do skiing and snow shoeing was appreciated and made it all easier to accomplish.  The choice of walks in the immediate vicinity of hotel Seerose and further afield were excellent makes you want to go back in the summer when snow free. Overall a very good and enjoyable holiday 

Rose and Tony   February 2018

The Seerose is a lovely, friendly hotel, wonderfully situated on the lakeside and with good facilities. The staff are particularly helpful and pleasant and the Austrian cuisine is delicious! 

Anon   February 2018

Food - excellent. The situation of the hotel was excellent due to the fact that it was 5 mins walk to the bus stop to go to Salzburg, Bad Ischl and other lakes etc. Frequency of buses was excellent.

Mrs SE Widdowson  Dorchester February 2018

Obtain a good local map before travelling as the winter paths are not way marked, and the tourist maps provided are not of sufficient detail for some walks, particularly around Faistenau.

Mr R Roberts  Liphook February 2018

The walk in your pack from Strobl to St Gilgen included a lot of dull road walking particularly between Strobl and St Wolfgang. As other people had done it the day before we managed to cut this out by catching a bus from Strobl to St Wolfgang, (approx. 10min wait at the bus station in Strobl.) This option could be added to your instructions.

Dr G Allen  Derby February 2018

A very enjoyable stay with plenty to do - we enjoyed winter walking (especially the one along the Wolfgangsee), touring to Bad Ischl and Salzburg and cross country skiing. Not enough days in the week really. Staff and fellow guests all very agreeable.

Elspeth   February 2018

Beautiful views and good variety of walks. From Bad Ischl walk Franz Carl’s promenade.

Riponians   January 2018

Very good bus connections to Bad Ischl and Saltzburg. Walking poles and snowshoes/ grippers useful.

Mrs C Burley  Salcombe January 2018

My friend and I have just enjoyed a really fabulous holiday in this delightful village. Everything at Hotel Seerose was absolutely first class, from the wonderful lakeside location and spotlessly clean rooms to the charming staff and scrumptious food. Nothing was too much trouble and they really went the extra mile to look after their guests. A perfect base for exploring the area, with numerous walks on the doorstep, or from neighbouring villages. Highlights for us were a snowshoeing hike in the most glorious sunshine, the stunning views on the St Gilgen panoramic circuit walk and a sleigh ride through a magical, winter wonderland. Stop for Kaffee und Kuchen at the very welcoming bakers in Faistenau - so many delicious cakes and pastries to choose from. When we had finally had our daily quota of fresh air and exercise, we returned to the hotel for a swim in their 'pool with a view' and then curled up with a good book and gazed across the lake to the snow capped mountains. Just perfect! 

Anon   January 2018

An absolutely excellent holiday. Great hotel, food amazing. Could not fault it.

Liz and Gordon   January 2018

An excellent holiday, not quite as much snow as we would have hoped for! The cable car from St Gilgen up to Zwolferhorn and the panorama walk is a must on a clear day. Views are fantastic. The walk is not well-signed at the start, head off towards the hut just below the summit, Franzl's hut, path is then obvious. Lovely walk from Stobl to St Gilgen along the lakeside, the description says 'path climbs steeply', it does! But it is worth the effort. Took the slight detour at the top to see the view right along the lake. Also took the cable car up at Bad Ischl, only open certain days. There was too much snow at the top to walk anywhere as there had just been a heavy fall of snow overnight, and the paths had not been cleared yet, but I think there would normally be cleared paths. Hotel was great, food at night was very plentiful and delicious. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bus service was good and reliable.

Mrs R Hamborg  Liss January 2018

We had a truly wonderful week. Hotel Seerose was top-class. The food and friendly service were more than we could have hoped for, and the room was large and comfortable. We did opt for a lake-view room and felt that this was well-worth the extra cost. The swimming pool was a good resource, too. The lack of information was the only downside but we managed to find out what we wanted to know by visiting the local tourist information.

Mrs S Cumming  Wadhurst January 2018

An excellent holiday - as we went at the beginning of January there were not many tourists around so it was very peaceful (a plus for us!). Fuschl was very quiet as were other villages, as many shops/hotels were shut for the owners' holidays/refurbishments, and a lot didn't open until the end of March (didn't bother us). There wasn't any snow in the village but therefore the lower walking paths were mainly clear of snow so there was still some good walking (just hte occasional icy patch).

The hotel was excellent. Fuschl seemed to be a good base - the local 150 bus from Salzburg to Bad Ischl ran twice an hour so you could get to a number of other places very easily if required. There were two transfers to the village of Faistenau (free from the hotel) taking you to another area - for snowshoeing but there wasn't enough snow, but then there were lots of walks. We would definitely go back either in winter or summer.

Mr B Lear  Burgess Hill December 2017

Our holiday covered the New Year period and the celebrations engendered a real feeling of community.  The hotel staff are extremely professional yet very friendly.  There were the little touches like acknowledging a family birthday, and moving us to a lakeside table in the restaurant once one became available.

As walkers, we would reiterate that paths can be impassable even after a partial thaw.  Don't be surprised if you have to turn back, but there's often a bus!

LC, Hertfordshire   December 2017

From our initial enquiries, to the holiday itself, everything was handled seamlessly and professionally. Our group was split with family members travelling from Manchester and London and flights were tailored to ensure arrival times coincided within an hour or so, starting our holiday with us all arriving together at our hotel. The free shuttle to the ski slopes and to the sleigh ride were much appreciated. The proximity to Salzburg, St.Gilgen and Strobl enabled us to visit the surrounding areas and explore. Great location! Excellent New Year's break!

Anon   December 2017

Hotel Seerose is in an excellent location in a quiet village (in winter anyway) on the side of a lake from which you can walk and take local buses easily. The food was of a very high standard and the welcome from the staff exemplary. Transfers went easily.  Taking the cable car up from Bad Ischl was a highlight as was the horse drawn sleigh ride in Faistenau.  

Mrs J Cooper  Isle Of Man December 2017

The friendliness of all the hotel staff was exceptional. We were made to feel like valued guests at all times. We would also say that the chef is also amazing. The standard of all meals was extremely high throughout our stay. The local bus service was easily accessible and reliable so we were able to get out and about to see other interesting places in the area. Our first Inntravel "Snow Holiday" was certainly a very good experience.

Alan and Jean Flintham, Derbyshire   December 2017

An excellent hoiday, really first class food and friendly service in delightful surroundings. We only wish in hindsight we had upgraded to a room with a full lakeside view. Our highlight must be the panoramic walk on the top of the Zwolferhorn in bright winter sunshine.

Carol and Ramsay Edinburgh   March 2017

Breath taking view from our balcony across the lake, a joy everyday. 

Sue H.   February 2017

A brilliant hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. A very good choice of tasty food and some good Austrian wines. The views from the top of the St. Gilgen gondola and panoramic walk were amazing as we were lucky with fresh snowfall the night before. We also sourced some other walks with amazing views from the Tourist Office in Fuschl (check for opening times). We did not find the map in the notes supplied by Inntravel particularly useful as we didn't feel it gave us sufficient detail for winter walking. Consequently we purchased a higher quality map before we travelled ( WQ391 by Freytag and Berndt 1:50000). We also used local buses which were always on time.

Mr C Bolding  Leatherhead February 2017

The food at the hotel was outstanding. Staff all very friendly and efficient. Local bus service close to hand and always on time, enabling trips in all directions. Lovely swimming pool. 

Anon   February 2017

The location is excellent with plenty of regular and reliable buses to explore the region. We particularly liked the fact that it is not a skiing area so we were able to enjoy good walks in the hills and mountains Without the crowds.

Mr R Sergeant  Fareham February 2017

You didnt mention a trip to Hallstatt .. easy to get to via Bus to Bad Ischl Hautbahnhof and then 30 min train journey. Considering its a World Heritage site I'm surprised it wasn't listed as an option. It was a highlight of our trip .

Anon   February 2017

Tip: take a travel kettle to make hot drinks

Mrs J Leeson  Lytham St. Annes February 2017

Wonderful holiday. Hotel extremely comfortable, excellent location. It was like being in the middle of a Christmas card! Will return in the summer.

Dr K Thompson  Letchworth Garden City February 2017

Lovely hotel with excellent staff. The bus service is also excellent, with a frequent service and usually bang on time. The cable car up to the top of the mountain from St Gilgen is well worth doing.

Mrs S Reeder, Salisbury   February 2017

A week of warm welcomes, stunning scenery and exhilirating activity. Freedom to enjoy every moment in the way best suited to our needs and wishes: a delight in every way.

Mr RI Shuker  Horsham February 2017

The hotel provides an excellent base for those wanting a winter snow holiday without necessarily skiing. The hotel is comfortable and welcoming and its situation is perfect both for the immediate scenery and easy communication with other parts of the area.

Julie A   February 2017

Fuschl is a good place for winter walking giving good access to a range of walks and places to explore. Hotel Seerose is very comfortable, with friendly staff and you won't go hungry. You need to be mindful of local conditions as it can be foggy in Fuschl but sunny in St Gilgin, only 10mins away by bus. The trip up Zwolferhorn on a good day is fantastic with the walk to Pillsteinhohe filling your lungs with enough mountain air, to cause spontaneous singing of the Sound of Music. St Wolgang is lovely, and the church simply amazing. A trip to Salzburg is a full day but well worth the effort. There are cafes in every town, with mouthwatering cakes to refuel you at the end of your walk. Overall a warm and friendly hotel, with good food, in a lakeside location with beautiful scenery and good walking.

Tim & Janet   January 2017

Arriving to find Fuschlsee frozen, with huge numbers enjoying the opportunity to get onto the ice, was fantastic.

Hotel Seerose's pool and sauna were very welcome after time spent outdoors - it might be worth advising customers of standard Austrian sauna etiquette (eg: costumes are considered unhygienic, so nudity is normal).

The minibus service to Faistenau is a real benefit, and our request to be driven on to the Hintersee to give time to walk round the lake as well as simply between the lake and Faistenau was granted - worth knowing. 

All the staff provide excellent service, and are genuinely concerned for guests' comfort and enjoyment. They work brilliantly as a team.

Ice maiden   January 2017

Everything about the holiday was excellent,from the time we were meet at Salzburg airport by a member of Seerose hotel staff,to the time we were returned for the flight home. Even the weather performed,snowing for the first three days,blue sky for the next three days. The only problem was you tend to overdose on stunning views.

 

Anon   January 2017

Location - 40 minutes transfer from Salzburg airport.

Hotel: Brilliant transfer using hotel van; ideally located in small town with bus stop 10 minutes walk away; spacious lakeside bedroom with great lake views; food EXCELLENT- we were anxious it might be very stodgy, but the menus were inventive and interesting and very tasty; we especially enjoyed the starter salad buffet; breakfasts excellent, wide variety of possibilities. Nice pool and saunas, especially having 2 of different temperatures. Very good to have use of the hotel van twice a week to be taken to local walk/cross country ski area.

Points for improvement- reception staff not always on the ball and gave us incorrect information (eg about the St Gilgen cable car, which was closed); pool area too cold to enjoy the relaxing chairs around it. It would have been nice to know dressing robes were available for the pool/sauna, to avoid taking our own. Finally, for the more mature amongst us, a bench just inside or outside the front door for putting on our boots would have been helpful.

BUT - all in all, an excellent spot & we would come again

Mr P Franklin  Lewes January 2017

A lovely peaceful hotel with excellent staff. The highlight for us was the snowshoe walk from the base at Faistenau - this was arranged by the hotel who provided free transport to the start and pickup points. Having a good covering of snow was a bonus!

Mrs J Little  Buckfastleigh January 2017

My personal highlights were the snow-shoeing in fabulous scenery from Faistenau and afterwards visiting a local "hut" for gluwein. I also enjoyed snow tubing and sledging within walking distance of the hotel and also at Faistenau. Walks around Fuschl, Faistenau, St Wolfgang and St Gilgen were also lovely. Unfortunately the cable car at St Gilgen was closed during our visit.

Mr A Schofield  Birmingham December 2016

Definitely one of the highlights of our stay was the efforts that the hotel put into the Christmas Eve celebrations. There was a personal touch from the hotel proprietor which made our first Christmas away from home very memorable. A beautiful scenic part ot the world which we may visit again at another time of year. This is a recommendation in itself as we rarely holiday in the same place twice.

Simon & Judith, South Heath   December 2016

What a great way to spend Christmas. Hotel Seerose runs like a well oiled machine without being obtrusive. Our hosts, Franz and Gabi, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The staff are excellent, very frendly and helpful and we felt very much at home. There is plently of walking available and with the 150 bus you can easily access villages further down the valley or go the other way to Salzburg. The village of Fuschl is very quiet in winter with only one cafe open for drinks or lunch, but that is not a real constraint as there are so many other places to visit.

Mrs S Boughton  Letchworth Garden City December 2016

This is a lovely hotel with a very friendly attentive owner and staff, and it is situated in a lovely position on the shores of the lake.

Fuschl is a delightful village and cafe Flora was open all over Christmas, and is close to the new bus terminal by the church (the bus stop is no longer outside the hotel)

 

 

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›