Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617005

+44 (0)1653 617005search
      our holidays > Winter Snow Breaks > Norway > Fefor Hotel, Fefor

Fefor Hotel, Fefor

Highlands – a cross-country skier’s paradise

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs O Hammock  Oban March 2017

The hotel and location are perfect. We had a week there, then five days independent skiing and then back for two days when we were greeted with enthusiasm and such good humour. Despite the fact that there are many guests we were made to feel personally welcome and the second visit felt like returning home. The meals are superb with plenty of choice, there is food always available, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, views over the lake are fantastic and the cross country skiing would be excellent if we hadn't gone at a freak time where there was little fresh snow. We had a very good day skiing to Haakon the Seventh's hut and there are many more trails we'd like to try in the future.We are certainly thinking of returning and we rarely go back to the same place.

Mrs R Waldron  Umberleigh March 2017

This was our first xc trip - only 3 days but we came home feeling we had been away for a week.  There was plenty of skiing for us and it was lovely to come back in the afternoon to the hotel where we could relax over tea and cakes - no music or mobile phones were buzzing - just everyone chatting, playing games, reading - it was total bliss.

The buffet style meals suited us, and we took a tipple from the duty free to have before dinner in our room.

We will definitely be back - but this time for longer!!

Mr W Pares  Reading March 2017

Our second time at Fefor, and this time our adult son and daughter joined us for some of the time. Wonderful rooms and food, excellent weather and snow, lots of good exercise on the trails on which we were more adventurous this time. All the arrangements went completely perfectly. This is not a made up quote!! Many, many thanks to Inntravel and Fefor Hoifjellshotel.

Mrs J Lanham  Verwood March 2017

Fantastically positioned hotel with great views over Fefor Lake & mountains to the south. Loved the history of the hotel & the cosy lounges. It is a great place for a peaceful winter holiday although beginners may find the slope down to the lake a bit nerve-wracking & the ability to do a snow plough is essential!!

Dr K McLean  Denny February 2017

Fantastic hotel with a great range of trails, short and long

Ms L Watson  London February 2017

If like me you love an utterly peaceful, rather remote place with fabulous views, and a historic hotel with lovely old-style atmosphere, open fires, real candles, and lots of nooks and cosy corners to sit in, with welcoming staff and delicious food, then this could be for you.

Mr G Hughes  Welshpool December 2016

The only disappointment was my wife's main meal on our last night. She is both a vegetarian and gluten intolerant and had been provided with excellent and varied meals every evening apart from the last night when she was given a plate of almost raw vegetables and nothing else!!! However this did not distract from the overall quality of the food. For my part being a "normal" eater the food was excellent as was my wife's view apart from the last meal.

Inntravel response

We are pleased you enjoyed the holiday overall, but were sorry to hear that the meal provided for Mrs Hughes on the last evening was so disappointing. We will share your comments with the hotelier and monitor carefully to ensure there is no recurrence. Thank you for making us aware of this.

Jak  Kent March 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday.  Fefor Høifjellshotel is a delightful and unique hotel.  The friendliness and service from the staff is outstanding.  The scenery is breath-taking and the absolute tranquillity and remoteness of the area makes for an extremely relaxing break.  The extensive lounge areas in the older historic part of the hotel are comfortable, providing plenty of space to recharge one's batteries after a day's skiing. The walls are decorated with old photographs and such is the atmosphere created that you can almost imagine Captain Scott sitting in the library. Meals are delicious with a varied choice from the buffets. Norway is an expensive country but this holiday is extremely good value.  All meals are provided as well as tea and coffee (and cakes!!).  You don't need to spend another kronor if you don't want to.
Mr P Abbott  Budleigh Salterton March 2016
Be sure to book a room overlooking the lake - the view is stunning!
This is an exceptionally relaxed and friendly hotel. Lots to do if the weather closes in...swimming, sauna, board games, plenty of places to cosy up with a book, and freely available cakes and coffee. There was live music and lunchtime BBQs over Easter, plus activities for children.
Anonymous  . March 2016
We had an excellent cross country skiing experience in Fefor, Norway. The travel arrangements through Inntravel were faultless and the supporting information about the hotel and area were perfect. The hotel was very comfortable and as beginners to Cross country skiing we felt very positive about the tuition, ski hire arrangements and the ski trails. The surroundings were stunning and we loved the peacefulness. The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly and the food was delicious with plenty of variety. An excellent holiday.
Ms G Mehta  Middlesbrough March 2016
We go back year after year and just love it: p & q; friendly staff; home from home; love all the different nationalities in hotel (good job English is the lingua franca); food just marvellous both quality and amount; free drinks all day long which is very important for cross country skiers; really like Norway and the Norwegians. Snow was great this year too.
Mr N Forrest  Matlock March 2016
We were very impressed by Inntravel. The Fefor hotel is a gem for location, comfort and food. If your skiing is a little rusty just walk down the tricky bits, there are so few other people around it is not embarrassing. But equally be aware that you can be out in what seems a semi - wilderness with the need to be self sufficient.
Anonymous  . March 2016
Our second time here. Overall, excellent experience. Friendly staff. Cosy atmosphere. Lovely countryside. Super food. Catered well for my wife's gluten-intolerance.
Dr R Manning  Ipswich March 2016
The weather was fantastic!  I was also put with a group of friendly and lively Danes for meals, who made the whole holiday very enjoyable. It was great not having to prepare any meals or worry about transport arrangements.

Anonymous  . February 2016
All travel arrangements, including transfers, worked perfectly - as always on an Inntravel holiday. Lovely hotel, great ski trails and even great weather!
Very little to do if you don't ski or walk - which was perfect for me.
Mr J Campbell  Southampton February 2016
Having tried 6 other Scandinavian XC skiing destinations over the years we keep returning to Fefor because of its wonderful hotel and scenic trails. The food is outstanding and the service is so friendly that it hardly feels like a hotel!
Mr C Scott  Beccles January 2016
The hotel and the food were excellent, especially the food which was also unlimited; you could eat as much as you liked, which was good because vigorous cross-country skiing uses up a lot of energy.
Ms J Lim  London December 2015
Bring your own kettle, hairdryer and socket adapter.
Due to global warming, try to go after January, there will be more snow for more activities especially for kids.
AMM  . December 2015
The traditional Christmas (Eve) celebrations were a wonderful antidote to the more commercial Christmas that we have in the UK.  I know which I prefer!  It was lovely to see families celebrating together.
Note that Christmas decorations are put up relatively late (the tree didn't arrive until 23 December, for example).

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›