Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Switzerland > Villages of the Engadine

Villages of the Engadine

Engadine Valley - discover Switzerland’s most idyllic villages

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Yvonne, Bath   September 2018

We enjoyed each of the locations in the Engadine and the lovely hotels chosen for this holiday, with friendly staff.  We were lucky with the weather and the views were magnificent.  We appreciated the maps provided and the variety of the walks - we wished we had taken our binoculars for our visit to the National Park.

Mr N Page  South Africa September 2018

Another outstanding holiday with Inntravel, in fact our best with regard to walks, hotels, food, etc. The weather was superb, the add on nights at each hotel perfect as this valley has endless walks. The food at Hotel Privata was incredible, so much so that we said Aparthotel Castle couldn't be better. Well, it was. Absolutely incredible. Four courses of outstanding food, served by warm and friendly waiters. We couldn't have wished for a better ending to our holiday. The views from our room, or rather apartment, were stunning, and this was a perfect add on to an amazing holiday. We highly recommend this walk, and cannot fault the package in any way. Thank you Inntravel for a beautiful holiday. We can't wait to plan our next.

Mark and Anne, Salinas, Ca   August 2018

We wanted an introduction to Switzerland, and we got it.  The two trips back to back - Kandersteg [Lake Oeschinensee & Beyond] and Engadine [Villages of the Engadine] were fabulous.  In many ways above expectations.  My wife and I shout in unison "Well done, Inntravel!"  We'll be back.  We've already booked two trips in Portugal for next Spring. 

Ms L Phelps  USA July 2018

This really was a bucket list kind of trip. The lovely inns, the spectacular hikes, the incredible food, the beautiful and ancient towns - all combined to make a perfect vacation and way to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We upgraded rooms where possible and added the optional add-on trip to Hotel Castle. It was all worth it. We particularly loved the room at Hotel Meisser, and the food and room at Hotel Privata. But it was ALL wonderful. A few highlights included the little rustic huts with food and espresso (and beer for those so inclined) that were located in the middle of nowhere on a number of hikes. Such a lovely surprise and treat to stop by and have a bite to eat while doing some spectacular hiking. The towns are all beautiful and fun to explore. The food was fantastic. Each hotel had 3 or 4 course dinners. The food was prepared expertly, often from local farms, and delicious. The breakfasts and coffee at each place were fantastic. We looked forward to them every morning. It was fun to explore and easy to get around using countless kinds of transportation to the hikes - trains, buses, cable cars, funiculars, ski lifts, the Glacier Express, etc. We were particularly aware that any time we bought anything it was quite expensive, so even though this trip was a bit more pricey upfront (it included all breakfasts and dinners), it was really a reasonably priced trip. And I have to say I loved not having to choose where to have dinner at the end of a long day of hiking. We would recommend this trip to a wonderful and less discovered part of the world highly!

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers extended their Villages of the Engadine walking holiday with a 3-night stay at the Hotel Castle in Blitzingen, and a night in Zurich at the Hotel Adler.

Dr J Wittmann  Sevenoaks July 2018

This is a superb collection of alpine walks. There are grand vistas across the alps in every direction. In early July at least above 1800m there are fields full of wild flowers - take a guide. There are plenty of marmots but on this occasion we didn't see much else, except perhaps a fleeting glimpse of a golden eagle though it's difficult to be sure. The accommodation was all of high standard with one hotel, the Privata, being exceptional. Since optional walks are suggested at each of the locations, it is worth adding some extra days to be able to explore as many as possible of the optional routes. We took a day off and used our card providing free travel on the buses, Rhaetian railways and cable cars to explore further. This is a real bonus and we would recommend exploring the Bernina Pass by rail which forms part of the UNESCO World Heritage line (you travel on the other part if your journey home from Sils takes you via Chur). A very enjoyable holiday.

Clare and Ian   August 2017

The walk in the Swiss National Park is an absolute must!  Thank you for emphasising that in your notes. The area around Sils is breathtakingly beautiful; it has everything: from numerous walks at low and high levels as well as a vibrant village with excellent transport links. We cannot praise the Hotel Privata enough: a superb family-run hotel in the heart of Sils Maria, run with professional and friendly efficiency by Corina. The garden is a haven where you can take tea after a walk and the food is delicious.

Mrs J McPherson  New Zealand August 2017

The accommodation (and food) at all 3 villages was of a very high standard. Hotel Privata was the stand out with a lot of homely touches including afternoon tea served from 3-6 pm in their private garden. The menu, quality and presentation of food is first class. We had chosen to add an extra night in Guarda and Zuoz to allow some flexibiltiy in case of bad weather. As it turned out we had reasonable weather but it meant we could do more walks and pick the best days for high walks. I suggest you emphasise the ability to add nights for that reason. Also, when in Zuoz we took the opportunity to go back to Zernez to the Swiss National Park centre. We spent about 2 hours there and it was most worthwhile. The interactive displays and information presented gave us so much more understanding about the geological and social history of the region as well as the local fauna and flora. It really should be a must-see.

Anon   July 2017

The Engadine region is incredibly beautiful, rivaling any place we've ever visited.

Anon   June 2017

This was our second year with Inntravel.  Both trips were well planned with plenty of options to modify thanks to the excellent maps.  I would not have wanted to miss a single day.  The hotels, especially in the Engadin, exceeded all of my expectations.  The travel arrangements and time tables were clear.  We hope to take more trips with Inntravel next year. 

Mrs M Harris  Frome June 2017

Finding extremely rare Slipper Orchids in full bloom was a highlight and certainly this was the right time to do these walks as the Alpine flowers were a constant delight. We were told many of the meadows would be cut down within a week or 2 of our departure. Cable car right up to Corvatsch before embarking on that day's walk from the lower cable car station was not to be missed. Stunning scenery including glaciers reasonably close up. Seeing marmot + deer in the national park - the toy train picks up passengers right in Zuoz centre, a few yards from the hotel, by the way. So no need to use the train as directed. Packed, dirty snow from last winter forming walls and bridges in the national park valley despite the hot sunshine. (We had hot, sunny weather for virtually the whole week, which is not usual, apparently.) Do you mention the cattle in your notes? We had a few instances where cows with young were quite aggressive and happened to be on the path. There are notices around about this occasionally, but we think it's worth flagging up in the notes. We needed to do quite wide detours at times!

Norman and Marianne Revell   June 2017

The alpine flora were varied and stunning, including ladies slipper orchids.  We were very fortunate with the warm weather and only experienced 1 hour walking in the rain.  Swiss transport is second to none; the majority of footpaths are very well marked and a joy to follow.  The village of Guarda and the hotel there were an excellent introduction to the delights to come.  The end point in Sils was a suitable climax to the holiday, with magnificent mountains, delightful hotel with garden for afternoon tea, and a peaceful village.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›

A Very Grand Tour Indeed
'With its high ceilings and huge lounges, the Hotel Engiadina in Zuoz feels very grand, and it was no great leap of the imagination for us to picture upper-class Victorian travellers sipping tea in one of the salons or sampling the Swiss cuisine in the chandeliered restaurant.'
Staff travel diary