Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Switzerland > From the Eiger to the Matterhorn

From the Eiger to the Matterhorn

Iconic peaks of the Bernese Oberland & Valais
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anon   September 2018

Walking over Kleine Sheidegg and seeing the Eiger in glorious blue skies was a real highlight as was seeing the Matterhorn in similar blue skies with clouds in the valley, climbing through the clouds on the Gornergrat train.

Very special mix of walks and scenery - walking through vineyards, watching grapes being harvested and prepared one day, walking high pastures and forests the next, not seeing a soul for hours.

All the cable car and train journeys were spectacular, especially Sunnbuel.

Loved the mix of accommodation - the quirky Bellevue Hotel, Murren and the stylish Parkhotel Quellerhof, Leukerbad and Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria were particular highlights.

Seeing so many marmots plus chamois and ibex.

Would recommend getting fit for the holiday - two weeks' walking daily in hot conditions often up steep slopes was tiring at times. 

Earplugs for Salgesch are advisable!

Mrs H Smith  Sheffield August 2018

Every day in its own way was an adventure and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks. This was the second time we had walked around the Eiger area and we were delighted with the different routes provided on this holiday. Due to bad weather we did not attempt the Hohturli Pass but can thoroughly recommend the low level route to Reichenbach. The second week from Kandersteg to Zermatt was new to us and provided some excellent routes and cable car rides. On the last day in Zermatt we did not do either of the recommended walks but instead took the cog railway to Riffelberg station and had a walk up to Riffelsee and part way up the path to MonteRosa hutte with good views of the Gornergletscher and then had an excellent lunch at the Riffelhaus hotel with views of the Matterhorn. We would thoroughly recommend this holiday to anybody with enough woomph in their legs to do all the up and downhill! Certainly an achievement.

Mr M Pettifer  Tunbridge Wells August 2018

We had to adapt what we were doing due to bad weather a couple of times. On day 4, there was low cloud and poor visibility on the walk to Kleine Scheidegg. Once we got to Kleine Scheidegg we checked what the weather was like at the top of the Jungfraujoch and discovered that was above the cloud and so we went up there instead. It was well worth a visit. So I guess the advice would be if you have got poor weather on a day when you are walking around a place, it might be worth checking what the weather is like in other areas near by as it is so easy to get about by public transport.
The MeteoSwiss website / app is excellent for the weather forecast and was pretty accurate for the vast majority of our holiday. We would recommend checking the weather before arriving at Griesalp as there is no data reception there or any WiFi either.
In the UK people tend to assume you can pay by card everywhere but this wasn't the case for some of the cable cars. It might be worth pointing out that you should have cash with you for the days involving the cable cars.

Mrs B Hennessy  Guildford September 2017

Highlight: The Zermatt Glacier walk 

Anon   September 2017

It was our first time to Switzerland and it was a wonderful holiday. The country is beautiful and the ease of travel and high quality of lodgings was just fabulous. We will certainly return. 

Anon   August 2017

The word awesome is used frequently but the walking, scenery and overall holiday combined was truly awesome. 

Mr D Rackham  Pinner August 2017

Fabulous views on the high passes knowing you could only get there after a serious hike and we were with other keen walkers not mere tourists!

Mr B Gofton  Cupar August 2017

What on earth possessed two sixty year olds from going on a two-week hike across the Swiss Alps? Yes it was hard work and in your notes we were warned....but WE DID IT!!! The two high passes in a row were very challenging but we got over them both and were quite happy to finish that day. That being said, we are both very fit walkers and although we found the two weeks challenging, the benefits of the scenery and those fantastic mountains were well worth the effort. Maybe next time we will stick to Grade 2 with occasional hard bits.

Once again Inntravel, you have given us some great places to stay. Thanks to your team, on our rest day at Leukerbad, we spent the afternoon in the spa on your recommendation and well worth it to, as was the spa at La Ginabelle. Whilst it was tough, the pass at Hohturli was a pig but sitting at Bluemlisalp with cups of tea and rhubarb pie on a glorious sunny day made it all worth it. The Gemmi pass was interesting; the receptionist was amazed we walked down the cliff face to the town, even though we had a free cable car pass! Never again!! The final day, again in fantastic weather, we took the high route getting close to the Matterhorn, and wandered back to Zermatt having had probably the most expensive tea and cake at the restaurant Hermetje, but well worth it.

Brilliant two weeks for these ageing walkers. We also met other Inntravel-ers along the way doing the week's high route; all of us agreed that maybe these grade 3s are getting beyond us. However, when all said and done, we never gave up, and looked at what we had acheived during the two weeks.

Distance walked:- 175.6km - 109.1 miles (very little flat walking!!!)

Height gained:- 8,915mts - 29,248ft

Downhill:- 12,580mts - 41,272ft

No wonder we were tired!!

Thank you Inntravel: after 17 years you have never disappointed us, but maybe next year we will be a bit more realistic.

Dr K Wallman  Australia July 2017

Great holiday. Just need markers on last part of the route checked and refreshed. Walk into Kanderstag (Victoria Hotel from the hut) option one should be avoided in wet or misty weather as was difficult and dangerous in many parts.

 

Inntravel response

We highlight in the walking notes that the high level walk to Kandersteg should not be attempted in poor weather and we offer an alternative lower level route for that day.

Ms E Field  London July 2017

The holiday was fantastic-we enjoyed it immensely. We went with our two teenage children and we are all keen walkers. Some of the hikes were long and challenging which is exactly what we like as the scenery was unbelievable. For this holiday I would say you need to be pretty fit. Every day we seemed to pick a more beautiful picnic spot for lunch. The Inntravel walking notes and routes were superb and the notes are extremely accurate, including the walking times -everything went like clockwork and all the arrangements worked perfectly. Every day was an adventure and it was always a lovely surprise to see what that night's hotel and dinner would be like. If you like strenuous, beautiful, varied hikes and adventures I couldn't recommend this holiday enough! 

Some tips:It does help, if only to provide reassurance, to follow the route on the maps provided as well as following the walking notes. We marked and highlighted the route on the map with highlighter pen  before setting off and also took a compass. It is easy to buy sandwiches, fruit and nuts for lunch from the supermarket before setting off (usually a co op in every town!) and it is much cheaper than buying a packed lunch from the hotel when it is not provided. Always take full waterproofs and a warm fleece with you even if it looks hot and sunny. The weather changes quickly and suddenly in the mountains and back again (putting all your rain gear on is usually the trick to making the sun come out again!) We recommend going in the spa baths at Leukerbad. No matter how tired you feel after that day's long walk it is amazing to be in the huge outdoor spa pool looking up at the mountains all around and it is just opposite the hotel so not far to go. Buy the ticker from the hotel as it is cheaper. Drink Swiss Pinot Noir every night it is delicious!   

Mrs M Hall  Pickering July 2017

The whole trip exceeded expectations - many of the hiking ways were off the main tourist routes and this added to the overall enjoyment of the holiday. A varied range of hotels and venues provided an interesting balance. The alpine flowers, glaciers ,views and not least of all the walk by the Matterhorn on the final day made for a holiday never to be forgotten. Thank you.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›