Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Italy & its Islands > The South > The Amalfi Coast Discovery

The Amalfi Coast Discovery

Campania's UNESCO-protected coastline

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs K Bryant  Wilmslow May 2019

Personal highlights : Hotel Due Torri and Sentieri di Fortini on Capri. Husband adored Ravello.

Tips : No point trying to get tickets for ferry to Capri in advance. We (and a few other confused travellers) failed to manage it having trekked down to the Port at about 4.30pm on the day of our arrival in Sorrento. The ticket booths for several different ferry companies, were either closed, or staffed by rude, unfriendly people who didn't give us any helpful information. It is very confusing. We asked at our hotel and they advised us just to purchase them on the morning of travel, so we went down very early (Inntravel says an early start is essential), and somehow got on the first ferry at 7.15am, with all the workers ! (the tickets are for a specific ferry so you also have to decide which one you want to come back on). We managed to get coffee and croissants on arrival, and the buses on Capri worked perfectly as described all day. We actually decided to walk down the Phoenician Steps from Anacapri to Marina Grande after our hike, as described in a guide book we had, as we had plenty of time until our ferry back. It took about 50 minutes, with lovely views.

We visted Herculaneum on our first day, before travelling to Corpo di Cava to start our Inntravel holiday. We left our luggage at 'Left Luggage' at Naples Garibaldi Central Station, so had to come back to get it. We found that we could have left them at Ercolano Scavi station, and in that case caught the train directly from there to Cava dei Tirreni. There is also a 'Left Luggage' point at Pompei railway station.

Mr D Oldfield  Belfast April 2019

The staff recommended restaurant in Naples was every thing you said. Perfect to get a feel of local culture.

 

 

Bleausard   April 2019

Overall this was a superb holiday - the views were really spectacular on every day. It is arguably best to see this coast by walking along it - the coast road is very busy and frequently blocked by sheer weight of traffic, so this package lets your bags have the delays while you revel in fairly empty paths (except the Path of the Gods) and can enjoy the views. Despite a few wet days, which affected the choice of routes, this was great walking - all good, but the highlights were probably the Valle delle Ferriera and the Sentiero degli Dei (bit exposed in parts but wide enough!). The hotels were lovely; all had good points, any niggles were very minor, and the service, food and situation were all of a very high standard. However, if you are eating out - think how much cash you might need, and double it!! For the most part we ate in the hotels in the evenings, but in Sorrento we particulary liked Accénto and and Da Gennaro; Donna Sophia is also worht a visit, and they collect you from your hotel and shuttle you back afterwards (free!). We liked all the hotels, especially the Scapolatiello (great staff), the delle Sirene (best pasta of the week, against stiff opposition), although in strong winds it can be VERY close to the sea and the Helios (our option in Sorrento) - really charming and [in our opinion] much nicer that the huge Minerva - better views too? Personally we would avoid the Amalfi & bus option after the Valle delle Ferriera, as the town was very busy (even this early) and a real zoo around the bus stops. Overall - really recommended!

Mrs B Bookless  Newcastle Upon Tyne April 2019

It is a good holiday if you want to see the beautiful Amalfi coast. We worked out how to get from Roma airport to Roma termini, but a note telling us about the express train would have been helpful. Personally we would have preferred 2 nights in Sorrento rather than the 3 and I’m sure that could have been arranged but it was an afterthought for us.

The Spontaneous Hiker, Sydney   October 2018

What a last minute treat Inntravel were able to provide me. On a weeks notice, at the end of the season, their team pulled out all stops so that I could have a well earned break from a crazy schedule at home. As a solo traveller I had all the support that I required from Inntravel, and all the tranquillity I needed on the track. Whilst the Path of the Gods was busy, it wasn't too crazy, but most of the other days I had the paths to myself - totally free to amble along at my own pace and to glory in the views and wonder at the ascents and descents and all the people that had come before me. 

This was a truly memorable trip in an incredibly beautiful part of the world - varied, fabulous service, and a perfect break.

Again, thank you to Inntravel - you really are a world class leader in your field.

Mrs C Barker  Cambridge October 2018

The choice of hotels was excellent and the walks really good. It was pity some walks were lost to previous forest fires. One recommendation would be the walk out of Sorrento to the ruined villa on the headland and the beach beyond that.

INNTRAVEL NOTE: Localised forest fires in late September 2018 resulted in some routes having to be amended at short notice. We have scheduled a visit to the area in early 2019 to assess and update our routes.

 

Anon   September 2018

A highlight of the holiday was our time in Sorrento, Positano and Ravello. The walks were up to the usual standard we have come to expect from Inntravel. The ferry trip over to Capri and the subsequent bus journey is well worth the trouble for the beautiful walk from Anacapri.

Anon   September 2018

The whole holiday exceeded our expectations. All of the hotels were very well chosen, and the holiday felt like an adventure, with new vistas and experiences slowly being revealed day after day.
We totalled up the steps walked on the trip - just over a quarter of a million, and almost a thousand floors! So how come we put on weight? The answer is simple. The food throughout was amazing, and plentiful. Also a couple of small beers is usually accompanied with nuts and crisps. Naughty, but irresistible, and well earned.
One of us found the rocky, narrow and vertiginous sections challenging, but with a bit of help managed even the most demanding sections.

Helen Carver   September 2018

We booked extra night at the hotels, so we had 3 at each.This was such a good choice for us as we could recover from the walks and enjoy extra time in the places. (The temp was hot more than usual so we found this tiring when walking.) It was worthwhile booking a seaview with terrace. This enhanced our experience so much. For us, all the hotels were super and the staff and service so attentive.
Capri. We read the notes about taking the early ferry. By the time we got to the ferry we got the 09.40am to Capri. When we arrived the queue for the local bus to Anacapri very long and bus small! Took 40 minutes by the time we got the bus. The area was congested with big groups of tourists.
We thought the 09.40am ferry would be early enough. Well, it was not. In retrospect we should have made the effort to get a much earlier ferry. There was one at 8am.
Day 4. The walk in the Valle delle Ferriere. The limestone cliffs and landscape wonderful and of course more butterflies! I was sat on a rock having a drink of water listening to the goat bells and goatherd yelling at them. Suddenly a young man leading 2 horses appear on the path. One horse had a chain saw strapped to it. The other horse had other tools strapped to it. I assume he was a worker in the nature reserve about to do some habitat management. I indicated, could I take a picture but he indicated No. I was amused as we are volunteers with Glos Wildlife trust and Glos Butterfly Conservation (habitat maintenance). I would have loved a picture to show the reserve managers when we lugg the equipment to the area we work on. Though the terrain is not so rugged in Gloucestershire! We noted we saw 17 differant types of butterflies, some in abundance. Especially the Wall which is declining in the UK. A couple of weeks before this trip we went on a Butterfly walk organised by Glos Butterfly Conservation on Nottingham Hill near Cheltenham. The Target species was the Wall. We spotted ONE! The entire group was thrilled! On our walks we lost count of the Wall. So many! We also saw a Two Tailed Pasha just above Montepertuso.
We, of course, loved visiting such lovely towns and places. We appreciated the Italian culture.
All arrangements went like clockwork, which further enhanced our experience.
Thank you Inntravel!

Mrs L Kibeiks  Australia June 2018

Oh Inntravel you've done it again!  We just loved this holiday.  Wonderful accommodations, amazing walks and fantastic food.  Best hike and most challenging was day one from Corpo Di Cava all the way to the very impressive Sanctuary of Madonna Avvocata (optional extension).  The views on all the hikes were always amazing but each day after this hike, as moved slowly around the coast, we could see this monastery in the distance and we all felt such a sense of achievement having climbed to it.  

The hike to Ravello was also challenging to the Convent of San Nicola but also came with rich rewards.  The views are just incredible.  You get very used to the steps very quickly so don't be put off.  We passed donkeys laden with lemons, it was amazing. Ravello is just beautiful and one of our favourite villages.  We loved the Trattoria Pizzeria Cumpa Cosimo; Nonna Nata will feed you until she is satisfied you are full.  We had a lovely and very affordable evening here.

The hike into Valle delle Ferriere nature reserve is beautiful with a lovely descent into Amalfi.  We loved the little lesser-known towns of Minori, Maiori and Atrani with their tiny little pathways and little piazzas. 

Hotel due Torri was an incredible meal and we were all rolling back to our rooms that night. 

Buca di bacco in Positano was an outstanding hotel as was Hotel Minerva in Sorrento for their style and star rating.  What a treat.  However we equally loved the Hotel Delle Sirene for its friendliness and strong sense of family.  Our meals here were amazing.  Trust the recommended antipasto it will blow your mind.  

Capri was fantastic.  Make life easy and allow the Hotel Minerva to book your ferry.  It's cheaper than the advertised tours in town and they pick you up and return you to and from the hotel.  On arrival at the marina in Capri, go to the right off the pier and buy a ticket for the bus to Anacapri and get up and back before the crowds.  Then bus back to Capri or the marina and spend remaining time there with the return ferry ride close by.  Sometimes the wait for the return bus ride from Anacapri can be over an hour and if you leave this to last you will stress that you'll miss the ferry back. The views up there were incredible. 

We absolutely highly recommend this holiday.  Dont be put off by the steps.  Take it a flight at a time and you'll be surprised how quickly you just take them in your stride.  The views on each and every hike was breathtaking.  You really get a feel for the towns you hike into.  We essentially had the paths all to ourselves other than the odd lemon laden donkey, friendly village dog, duck or goat herd!  We were always warmly greeted on our arrival at our accommodations, and the food was fantastic and plentiful.  Breakfast buffets were brilliant.  Transfers were prompt and friendly.  A great way to get off the beaten track and see the real Amalfi coast.

Mrs W Reed  Henley-on-thames May 2018

Buca di Bacco was our favourite hotel and we ate in the restaurant both nights, food excellent and seemed comparable to other prices on Positano beach front. Sea view room excellent at Hotel Minerva, huge balcony with view down over Sorrento and Vesuvius - can't remember if we paid for an upgrade but if so it was well worth it. View from terrace at Villa Maria is wonderful - breakfast excellent, dinner is very expensive and high-end, but worth experiencing for one night because of the views! Pool at sister Hotel Giordano is lovely, we enjoyed using it both days. Coastal walks were all lovely, fabulous views and going in late May/early June the flowers were wonderful. It is definitely worth making an early start on the Path of the Gods - we started walking at 8.30 and didn't encounter any large groups - the closed section of the path is easy to bypass. The walk to Baia Jeranto from Marina del Cantone (short bus ride to Nerano cuts out the initial climb) is easy and scenic and leads to a wonderful little cove called Capitello for a lovely swim. We enjoyed the optional walk on the first day from Corpo di Cava, including the extension to Avvocata Monastery. Villa Rufolo in Ravello is well worth a visit for its history and views. Pompeii is well worth a visit and straightforward by train from Sorrento. 

Mr J Clark  Usk May 2018

The two best walks were from Ravello through the Valle de Ferreriere nature reserve - beautiful - and (particularly) the coastal part of the walk to the Hotel Sirene - which was teaming with wildflowers and so pretty. 

Dinners at Hotel di Torre and Sirene were very special (especially the Antipasto). We also enjoyed happening to team up with other Inntravellers (Jenny and Chris for the first few days and Isaac Ngee Hwai and family from New Zealand at Hotel SIrene).

The second part of the walk to Hotel Sirene was a little disappointing, in contrast to the first, and we wondered if the advice not to continue the coastal path is still wise (is it really that tricky?). The alternative (which we followed) was not so well described at one point - hence we missed a left turning, described as being opposite a signpost, which is no longer there and entailed turning down a road marked as a no through road.  We had to double back after it became clear we had over-shot.

Ms A Scott  York May 2018

The Valle delle Ferriere Nature reserve and the route from Colli di Fontanelle to Sant' Agata were very beautiful with spectacular scenery and superb displays of wild flowers. Our best meal was at Restorante Salvatore in Ravello. Top class food with a stupendous view up the Amalfi coast thrown in and all at a reasonable price.

On a practical note, we had planned to use our 2 days in Sorrento to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum on consecutive days so we bought Arte Campania 3 day passes at Naples train station on arrival (32 euros each). These are activated when you first use them which, in our case, was on the train to Pompeii from Sorrento. We got free admission to both sites plus the archaeology museum in Naples on the third day together with all train fares and buses. They more than paid for themselves and speeded up the queuing at ticket offices.

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers combined our Naples City add on with our 12 night Amalfi Coast Discovery walk

Mrs A Black  Chipping Campden May 2018

This was our first inntravel experience and we were very impressed with both the organisation of our tour, the hotels chosen and the super efficient luggage transfers. The itinerary was nicely balanced visiting both the popular sites as well as some more off the beaten track.

We were unprepared for how unbelievably busy Amalfi, Positano, the Path of the Gods and Sorrento all were. But some of the routes chosen were blissfully free of crowds and we loved seeing the more rural way of life inland.  It was unfortunate that the weather did not play ball for quite a few days and so many of the amazing panaromas along the coast mentioned in the notes were lost in the fog!  

All in all, we really enjoyed the trip and would definitely use Inntravel again.

Anon   May 2018

 

We took a boat trip to Capri whilst staying in Marina di Cantone, the cost was 40 euros - the boat took us on a tour round the Island, we had a pod of dolphins showing us their tricks,it was amazing, and then he dropped us at the harbour. We also asked a taxi driver if he would take us to other places to see or visit on the island, we negotiated the price for this but it was well worth it. We saw some spectacular views and walked round Annacapri. We went to Cumpa Cosimo Restaurant, we wouldn't recommend it, the food was not brilliant, in fact it was the worst meal we had whilst on this trip. We asked for the bill and an old lady came with a piece of paper and told us what we had had in food and drink and then told how much we needed to pay. After working out what we thought it might cost it was less than we thought. We gave the lady the money but she didn't give a receipt, not sure what you can make of that.

 

Mrs A Brown  Pitlochry April 2018

Very enjoyable holiday, good mix of walking and sight seeing. Lovely hotels in good locations. Dinner recommendation in Ravello (from Ravello car service) of Ristoranti Victtoria. Only small and no view but excellent food at reasonable price. Restaurants in Sorrento (recommended by Hotel Staff & taxi driver) - Donna Sofia very nice food excellent, and Ristorante Da Filippo large place excellent value. Both of them offer free shuttle bus as out off the main area. Hotel staff happy to book.

Walk of the Gods - there is a closed sign approx half way, but trail is passable with care.

Mrs N Meyers  USA October 2017

Excellent trip! Great way to explore the countryside, villages, and get a taste of the Italian life on the Amalfi Coast!

Mr T Cracknell  Ilkley September 2017

It was a fabulous holiday - the combination of spectacular walks and delightful small towns made this holiday particularly enjoyable.

Mrs C Newby  London September 2017

This walking holiday provided a lovely range of different walks. We loved the stunning scenery in the mountains and views over the coastal towns. And of course all the local food. It's worth noting when we did the holiday in early October that the local buses were very crowded. Also, be prepared for many many steps. Hotel Scapolatiello and Buca di Bacco were top quality hotels. I'd recommend doing a bit of research into restaurants in Ravello, Positano and Sorrento to avoid expensive touristy places. We enjoyed Da Salvatore pizza restaurant in Ravello and La Fenice in Sorrento.

Anon   September 2017

Every one of the walks included absolutely stunning views. Some parts of some of the walks (Valle delle Ferriere and Path of the Gods) though not technically difficult may not be ideal for people who suffer vertigo. There are many (short) ascents and longer descents, so walking poles may be advisable. All the hotels are marvellous, each with their own distinctive character. We had a brilliant holiday, topped off by a great sense of achievement at its end. Thank you Inntravel

Mrs R Milman  Woking August 2017

The perfect way to discover the delights of the Amalfi coast. The combination of challenging exercise, exquisite food and comfortable, accommodating hotels is hard to beat.  

Mrs E Smith  Bristol May 2017

We would recommend "Inn Bufalito" in Sorrento. The food was great and very friendly service. Vico I Fuoro, 21 tel 81 3656975

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›