Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > France > Other Regions > The Granite Coast of Brittany

The Granite Coast of Brittany

Brittany - a land of myths & legends

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Dr T Starck  USA September 2018

It’s hard to pinpoint a highlight as the whole experience was absolutely wonderful.  Inn Travel was meticulous in making every aspect of the trip easy to follow, smooth, and very easy to enjoy. The whole trip was seamless in transitioning from one place to another, and the choice of hoteliers was excellent. Packing appropriately is essential so we were prepared if the day were a little warmer or a little inclement. Reading notes were accurate and convenient to refer to en route. Note that the suggested walking times are definitely based on door to door and does not take into account lunch stops, photo opportunities, or just stopping and soaking up the visual beauty of the walk, so our walks were definitely much longer. Inntravel does point this out, however. All the meals were of an extremely high quality across the board, both with the dining experience and presentation and freshness of ingredients. In fact much better than what we hoped for, so glad we had some nicer non hiking clothes to change into. The picnics were all different and thoughtfully put together and we were excited to stop and see what goodies had been packed for us. We are finishing up our holiday on a river cruise, but definitely preferred our walking holiday and are looking forward to getting home and planning out our next one with Inntravel.

harper   July 2018

The best inn experience was the first one; the second hotel should be changed as it is a low grade hotel. The third hotel had a fabulous view but poor service. The only good food served for a vegetarian was the first one. The other two hotels just took off the main entree and threw on a few more vegetables. For Michelin restaurants this was shockingly poor quality.

Inntravel response

Although vegetarianism is becoming slightly more widespread in France, some French chefs still find it a challenging concept. We notify each accommodation of any dietary requirements at the time of reservation and then again, one month prior to arrival. The anglo-french hosts, Tony & Armelle, at the first guesthouse with just 4 rooms, take great pride in meeting individual customer needs. Their small guesthouse specialises in organic cuisine and can offer a wide repertoire of vegetarian dishes. The two other hotels on this itinerary are usually highly-praised for both their cuisine and warm welcome; they are family-run hotels whose restaurants specialise in the local fish and seafood.

Mr C Hyder  East Grinstead May 2018

We loved the Brittany coast and thought the walks were well planned and written up.

We felt really at home at Troezel Bian and loved the location and food at Le Manoir du Sphinx. The final days walk from Tregastel to Perros-Guirec along the pink granite coast was exceptional with the stunning rock formations.

The detail in the walks was excellent and it was difficult to go the wrong way - although we missed a couple of turn offs!

Tips - please provide a brief note about changes to the itinerary if all walks and nights are not included. I would prefer a longer walk option if possible (say 15 miles), although these can be worked out from the excellent maps provided. Some may be put off from the Brittany holiday by the shortness of the walks - we finished most days rather early. But my wife and our friends thought 10 miles per day was about right.

 

Mrs P Fahlman  Canada May 2018

We did the the Long Trail to  Rocamadour and Granite Coast of Brittany trips. They were both excellent with beautiful scenery and great food and accommodation.  This was our first trip with Inntravel and it will not be our last. We found Inntravel to be very professional and easy to work with. When our train was cancelled due to the strike they made alternate arrangements and were very helpful.
When staying at Loubressac, we'd highly recommend visiting the caves at Gouffre de Padirac. We added an extra night at Loubressac so we could also do the Autoire circuit walk and it turned out to be one of our favorite walks.
The walk to Cales is beautiful and we'd recommend stopping at the old mill.
The Hotel le Troubadour had excellent dinners and offered some special choices. We chose the veal chop and the seafood gratin and would recommend this as they were both superb, well worth the small additional cost.
In Brittany we highly recommend taking the boat trip to Sept Iles if the weather is good. Take the trip where you stop and can walk on one of the islands as the scenery is spectacular and there were many birds on the island. The lady at reception at Manoir de Spinx made the reservation for us as there is only one trip per day that stops at the island.

Anon   September 2017

Britanny has a beautiful coast so recommend enjoy every moment and don't rush it. Also, while in the area suggest visit St Malo (old town) and Mont St Michel - both are well worth the effort and easy to get to.

Mrs K Isaacs  Bristol September 2017

It was a lovely walk, quite different from our other Inntravel walks. Le Troezel Vras was lovely and peaceful but our favourite hotel was Le Manoir du Sphinx. It was in a spectacular position with lovely evening meals.

Mrs S Tantau  Australia August 2017

We enjoyed both our walks immensely - Brittany and Collioure to Cadaques are great destinations. Inntravel did a wonderful job with the organisation (couldn't have been easier), the choice of accommodation and the planning of the walks (great thought went into the routes and the notes leaving nothing to chance). We certainly love the concept of a slow holiday and there is no better way to familiarise yourself with a region and appreciate all there is to offer. We felt spoilt and well care for!

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers combined the walking holidays The Granite Coast of Brittany and Collioure to Cadaqués

Ms C Smith  USA July 2017

I loved walking along the beautiful coastal paths. The paths are exceptionally maintained and the views are breathtaking.

Mrs A Kennedy  USA July 2017

We loved this trip and highly recommend Inntravel. The hotels we stayed in were gorgeous.  We especially loved our stay with Tony and Armelle at Troezel Bian. The taxi driver left us off at the wrong place and Tony came and got us. The picnics they made were wonderful - all organic. They went above their duties as hosts to make sure we had a wonderful time.  I left my passport at the second lodging, called Inntravel and it was delived prompty to my new lodging.

Mrs J Mant  Oxford July 2017

Warm welcome, food and room at Troezel Bian was truly exceptional and a great start to the holiday. The other hotels, although less personal, continued the high standards of service and excellent food. Fabulous last meal at Manoir du Sphinx. And the walking was highly enjoyable too!

Anon   June 2017

This is the first time we have travelled with Inntravel, our friends have travelled with you before.  This is the way forward for us.  Different hotels, all very different, but all equally of a high standard.

Anon   June 2017

Excellent holiday, accommodation was very good and an eclectic mix, with very different locations, this added to the charm and enjoyment of the holiday. Inntravel have obviously spent a lot of time researching the area well to ensure a really enjoyable holiday.  We have used you before and we will again. Thank you. 

Mr D Hubbell  USA June 2017

Overall we loved the varied hiking experiences. Probably the most beautiful area was around the Maison du Littoral at Pointe de Chateau. Another highlight on that day was watching the harvesting activities on the oyster/moule beds. The second highlight day was the Port de Ploumanac'h with the tide mills and the hike through the Vallee des Traouiero. All of the accommodations, including the dinners, were excellent. Our very favorite was the Manoir du Sphinx with its constantly changing views of the sky and sea and the rocky outcrops, appearing and disappearing with the tidal changes. The first night's accommodation at Troezel Vras was particularly appropriate after our long arrival journey. The hostess was welcoming and friendly, and we enjoyed the Inn's rural setting and extensive gardens.

Mr J Shepley  Bolton September 2016

We have now had five walking holidays with Inntravel and enjoyed each and every occasion.  This walk around the coast of Brittany was no exception and we had a wonderful holiday. You always manage to find great places to stay together with perfect walks.  We can't wait to book somewhere else for next year.

Ms D Guyol  USA August 2016

Perros-Guirec is a lovely town and its beaches are beyond beautiful. 

Mr M Shmukler  London August 2016

We loved the walk, the coast and the places we stayed in except for few complaints listed. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and helpful. it is a beautiful part of the world, the food is interesting and tasty and we would recommend this trip highly. Probably look for an easier way to travel from UK.

Mr G Daniels  Sutton Coldfield August 2016

We were particularly lucky with the weather so saw the area at its best. Hard to single out highlights but the location of Manoir du Sphinx was stunning, and the dinner at Aigue Marine was superb.

Anon   August 2016

My personal highlights were the Troezel Vras chambres d'hote, and walking in the quiet countryside and out-of-the-way stretches of coast. A tip for people like me might be not to go in August.

But this sounds carping. It was the most wonderful holiday, from start to finish: the contact with your staff, who were so friendly and knowledgeable (I loved that you suggested the night in Paris, for example, instead of in London which might have been obvious); getting the pack of maps and information; the incredible care you took with every detail. How you booked the travel and everything went exactly by the itinerary.  

I went alone, and that was fine in every respect.

So thank you very much. I will definitely book with you again.

Ms P Tan, London   July 2016

We really enjoyed our time at the first guesthouse, The Troezel Vras. The guesthouse was charming, Madame made us feel at home and we thoroughly enjoyed her cooking, which was very good indeed. At the last hotel, Le Manoir du Sphinx, we loved the fantastic views from the room.

One gripe:  Although we love seafood, having white fish (all fairly similarly cooked) as the main course for five days in a row was rather monotonous. It would have been better if at the Aigue Marine, we had one evening to eat something different at the restaurants nearby.

 

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›

Bretagne's Cote du Granit Rose

“Forget frenetic-paced sightseeing. Just us traveling – no group – generally hitting the trails after breakfast at the crack of 10am, and we were feet up/shoes off by 3pm. No rushing – just savoring the views, the vibe, the picnics and the occasional path-side bar or café treat and libation.”

Read an Inntraveller’s photo diary of this holiday >