Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Spain & its Islands > Canary Islands > Lanzarote & La Graciosa

Lanzarote & La Graciosa

A land forged from fire

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Dr J Harland  Chipping Norton March 2018

Altogether this was a very enjoyable holiday. We already knew the island and where we wanted to revisit - and we are too old to follow much of the walking programme, but nevertheless we would be happy to go back again.

There are a few comments to make about the accommodation.  We had not really taken in the instruction to ring the owner to tell him of our planned arrival time.  However, we were somewhat disconcerted to find that there are absolutely no staff in the Casa  de Hilario after 2pm - and we arrived at 2.10pm to find the chamber/breakfast maid departing for the day - and knowing nothing about our arrival.  Although she called the owner it took a call from us to your office to get his attention. He suggested a room number that was not the twin room that we had requested.  He came over from the Casona about half and hour later and put us in another room which was quite acceptable. That was when he inducted me into the system of keys. In fact, there no fewer than three keys and a good walk between our room and the nearest kettle - and a fourth to open the barrier to the road outside. Perhaps a kettle in the room would have been a reasonable expectation!

The guesthouse was reasonably comfortable and always clean, with a decent breakfast and a very nice terrace from which to admire the view while one ate. One corner of the breakfast room had some remarkable sofas where we were very firmly told there was to be no shoes and definitely no food or drink!

The Casona where we supposed to eat three dinners provided a very poor meal on our first evening and we returned only once on Sunday evening when pretty much every alternative is closed. There appeared to be major staffing problems both in the kitchen and the restaurant: on the Sunday evening, when most of the Casa de Hilario guests were there, it was equally chaotic but at least the food was better. We were glad we were not staying there in the 'mother ship'. The position in the town is not so pleasant as the Casa, and it is hard to find. We did however eat very well at the Bodega which is next door to the Casa, and at La Era which is in a fascinating building and offers a warm welcome as well as good food.

At very least I think that either you or the owner should provide a decent sketch map of Yaiza. There is a delightful restraint in Lanzarote when it comes to plastering buildings and streets with the names of hotels and many other things. But it can prove frustrating. The hotel owner laughed at the idea of a sketch map but I think that many of the guests would appreciate it. It would also be a place to print his telephone number!

 

 

 

Anon   March 2018

Loved every aspect of our holiday. Walking was fantastic. We had a room upgrade and that was worth every penny. The meals included at the hotel were all good. Just thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Dr R J Hood  Blandford Forum February 2018

We had a good, varied and enjoyable week of walkiong and sight seeing on Lanzarote. We covered the whole island, but did not visit La Graciosa. We particiularly enjoyed and were impressed by the bus trip around the Timanfaya national Park. The volcanic activity is quite breathtaking, and the scale of the disruption defies understanding. 

We were also impressed by the Jameos del Aqua and the accompanying buildings, which are beautifully executed and immaculate. 

Cesar Manrique's house in Haria was also memorable for us. We do not often visit houses which we feel we would like to live in.   

Ms O Murray  Edinburgh February 2018

I had to contact Inntravel because I hadn't received the pack about 10 days before departure, apparently the original pack was lost in the post. The pack arrived very quickly at the secong attempt though. Perhaps an email could be sent when the pack goes out?
We had booked a twin room but were given a double on arrival. The owner wasn't in on the day we arrived (and wasn't much in evidence at all) but did arrange an alternative room when we spoke to him the next day. The restaurant waiter (Jonoy) was excellent, a real asset. We felt the hotel, although fine with comfortable beds, was slighly in need of an overhaul.
[The walking was] not exactly too easy but rather lacking in variety; not really the fault of Inntravel though, more the landscape of Lanzarote itself. We were lucky with good flowers on the Haria / Famara cliff walk (walk 4, not really vertiginous). The Femes circuit (walk 12) was nice and open; we thought the part flagged as possibly vertiginous near the end was one of the best sections; I think it would have been frustrating to have to retrace our steps so close to the end of the walk - would it be possible to set it the other way round so that those who wanted to could opt out earlier? Had a great day on La Graciosa, enjoyed the clamber up Montana Amarilla (route not on the map). We did a combination walk from Tabayesco (walk 37 on the map, made circular with a stretch of walk 33) - magnificently wild floriferous hillside: we missed the path up and had to do a lot of clambering but it was good fun!
Nothing to do with Inntravel but we had a nightmare journey back because weather conditions in Lanzarote meant that planes couldn't fly in the normal route and many failed to land, were diverted to Fuerteventura so there was serious chaos at the airport. Our plane left four hours late and had to make an unscheduled stop at Alicante for a crew change, so we arrived back about seven hours late!

Mr R D Sammons  Bromley February 2018

Great variety of walking options. Small personal and well located hotel. Winter sun.  

Mr D Simmonds  Fleet February 2018

Overall, a most enjoyable week. The Hotel Rural Casona de Yaiza was delightful and well situated. The staff were first rate and ready to help at all times. The room itself was not luxurious but perfectly adequate and what one would expect for a hotel in this location and type. More clothes storage might be an advantage, but the beds were most comfortable, not something one always finds, even in top hotels. The walks are well chosen and accurately described; the landscape is unique and fascinating. Even though our weather was below par, there is plenty to see and do if you are not walking. Driving is easy and the roads are generally excellent.

Ms C James  Twickenham January 2018

Good range of walks to choose from.  Also do take the time to see some of the Cesar Manrique places. We particularly liked the Fundacion Cesar Manrique and the Jameos del Agua.

Mr O Thomas  Bristol January 2018
This was an excellent holiday on a fascinating island. The suggested walks and "favourite things to do" kept us busy for the whole nine days that we were there. It is easy to get through a couple of shorter walks or combine them with the island’s main attractions to provide a really interesting day at reasonably relaxed pace. La Graciosa, however deserves a whole day to itself. Apart from the walks, our 'unmissables' were the Cesar Manrique Foundation (even if you do not like the art, you are bound to be impressed by the architecture); Jameos del Agua, and the Timanfaya National Park coach trip (unfortunately, we left it too late to get a guided walk). We also really enjoyed the Cueva de los Verdes and the Mirador del Rio and felt that we got our money’s worth out of the '4 Monument' ticket purchased on entry to the Timanfaya Park. Staying at the Casa de Hilario, we were really well-looked after and think that we probably had more space than at the main hotel. This more than made up for the 20-min walk to eat at the Casona in the evenings. The quality of food, service and warmth of welcome at the hotel restaurant was excellent, just what you need after a hard day walking amongst the volcanoes.
Anon   December 2017

Enjoyed the varied walking and the spectacular views. The trip to La Graciosa was great, it was a real treat to see how under developed this island remains. We visited all the main tourist attractions and bought the multiple visit ticket at the gates of Timanfaya National Park. The island is quite small with excellent roads and everywhere was immaculately kept. Arrecife itself was quite disappointing, not worth the trip when the cruise liners are in port! A very enjoyable holiday in the winter sun.

Mrs A Bone  Abingdon November 2017

Plenty of good places to eat, but the best within 10 minutes drive for lunch was Restaurante Playa Quemada - right by the sea, great tapas and mix of locals and tourists eating there.

Mrs Mac, Glasgow   November 2017

The holiday ticked all our boxes. It is amazing how 'off the beaten track' you can get on Lanzarote once you turn your back on the busy tourist resorts. Within 15 mins drive from the airport you are in a different world. The scenery on Lanzarote is amazing, simply driving on the LZ-67 through the National Park is an experience in itself. Yaiza itself is a charming little village with was ideally located for all our explorations.

Caisona de Yaiza is a wonderful little gem of a hotel and we couldn't have been happier with its location, our room, the views, the pool and the staff. We did a good number of the walks you offered and found your routes well researched and thought through. Highlights were the Playa del Paso walk, the Uga Circuit/La Geria vineyards and the Yaiza to Femes circuit, the latter being especially great not needing the car at all and great views throughout. We did the Caldera Blanca volcano circuit that was not included in your walking notes - which was the absolute highlight of the trip. Perhaps you should consider including it.

To sum up, it was the perfect holiday for us and we'll be sure to look into the other walking trips to the Canaries/Spanish Islands you offer.

Anon   October 2017

Did seven of the walks. Missed the ridges due to wind getting up for final five days. Loved Manchablanca. Also really worth a visit to Cesar Manrique's house in Haria.

Mr M Harrison  Oxford October 2017

HIGHLIGHTS: Modern Art Museum MIAC (at Castillo de San Jose in the port of Arrecife); 3 good restaurants in walking distance

Mr S Corner  Richmond October 2017

An island of discovery and excellent walking with well marked paths. One tip for walking is to walk early before it's too hot in the middle of the day and remember to use mosiquito repellent.

Mr F Marshall  Wotton-under-edge April 2017

The walk through the National Park with a warden seemed tailored just for us and we felt privileged to be on it.

Ms T Cheung  Caterham April 2017

I had never previously wanted to set foot in the Canary Islands, with their reputation for being prime stag/hen do locations filled with lobster-red Brits staggering around drunk and "British food" restaurants putting me off. After this trip to Lanzarote however, I can say I have totally fallen in love with the island and plan to visit all the others eventually.

The Casona de Yaiza hotel is only a 20 minute drive from the airport and is very easy to find. It's also very well located for visiting the rest of the island, with the longest drive being an hour to the very northern tip. It's a lovely, characterful hotel with very nice food and friendly, helpful staff. The staff will always try their best to fulfil requests as well - if you need an item of clothing laundered they will carry that off with their main load to be washed off-site, and they would be happy to pack a lunch for us to take for a walk (we didn't need either of these services in the end, but it was good to know!). The main problem that we had with the hotel was the noise, as since it is a converted country house there is no soundproofing at all. In fact sounds outside appear to be amplified and carried into your room. Take earplugs if you're a light sleeper! Having said that, I'm a light sleeper and apart from insensitive guests getting up very early to leave one day I was only really woken up by the en masse chirping of the birds in the morning. 

Walking in Lanzarote was more varied than we expected, ranging from stark, jagged lava fields and black sand beaches to surprisingly green mountains and pure white sand dunes. We loved the magnificent views from the top of Atalaya, the second highest mountain on Lanzarote. La Geria, with its grapevines tucked into their protective inverted cones, was also delightful to walk through. Wine enthusiasts will love exploring the many bodegas of the region, including the El Grifo Wine Museum. The lovely island of La Graciosa is also a must-see.

The Termesana guided walk in the Timanfaya National Park was brilliant and provided a lot of information about the island. We felt that having done the guided walk the subsequent trip we took to Montanas del Fuego wasn't really necessary, although there are some great views during the bus tour, as the sheer number of tourists made it feel extremely commercial and not like the natural wonder that it is.

For those after a nice sunset, El Golfo is the place to go if you fancy a tasty seafood supper with it. Otherwise we stumbled across an interesting little "island", La Isleta, just north-east of La Santa, that has uninterrupted views out to sea - quite peaceful and perfect for a spot of time-lapse photography. The Montana Roja, a relatively easily walked mountain near Playa Blanca, would make for a stunning sunset view also.

 Lanzarote won me over with its raw, natural beauty and the sheer warmth of its people. I enjoyed the holiday so much that I've been trying to cook Canarian cuisine since we got back in an attempt to recapture the atmosphere, but of course it's not the same as being there! We don't often return to places we've visited before, but we would very much like to go back one day.

Mrs J Gray  Newark March 2017

Excellent holiday in a great location & hotel. Fantastic service from start to finish. Will certainly recommend to friends.

Anon   March 2017

We were fascinated by the very fresh looking volcanic devastation, 300 years on. We particularly enjoyed the walk through the reserve with an incredibly knowledgable guide, the visitor centre itself, the short Montana Cuervo walk and, although more touristy, the bus ride through the park was also well worth it. This set the scene for the many walks through the volcanic landscape. We concentrated on the south of the island, leaving the north and La Graciosa for another time, yet still had plenty to do. Meals at Casona de Yaiza were superb. La Era was also good and may have had more traditional dishes including goat and rabbit.

maggie Worcester   March 2017

Hotel in lovely interesting setting and very convenient for various trips round island.  We couldn't get on guided tour of Timanfaya park but went on the coach tour which was one of the highlights of our visit. Another highlight was our visit to Cesar Manrique's house.

Unfortunately unable to do any walking due to sciatica.

Dr S Hill  Northwood February 2017

Walking tour in national park was outstanding and only sorry we couldn't get on to it on our 1st full day.

Your recommendations on eating out were very good.

Mrs D Carter  Pershore February 2017

Interesting and attractive walking with lovely architecture thanks to Cesar Manrique whose homes we visited. Very good guided walk in National Park with informative and friendly guide (Christina). The week before our holiday there had been a little rain which meant a profusion of wild flowers in the lava fields - a real bonus and treat. A piece of advice for future visitors - take your own books on flowers and birdlife in Lanzarote as we could find no bookshops since we did not wish to travel to Arricefe where there is a good bookshop apparently.

Catriona & Mark   February 2017

Highlights were Farmara Cliffs and walking from Yaiza to Femes.

Best part of the holiday was a concert we attended in Teguise.  urcell's opera "The Fairy Queen". Look at posters outside the supermarket in Yaiza to see what is on locally. Not a tourist event. Local folk came.  

Anonymous  Ashford February 2017

This was one of our best holidays; we enjoyed it from start to finish. We were very pleased with the hotel and our choice of room, as we were too with the range of walks recommended, including the fascinating guided walk in the National Park. We were also very impressed by the whole Cesar Manrique 'story' and his influence on the successful development of Lanzarote as a resort island and biosphere. Our week there surpassed our expectations and was made all the more memorable by the friendliness of the local people we met and the good quality food and wine to be found in restaurants all over the island.  (we would recommend to you one seriously good slow food restaurant we came across in Haria called La Puerto Verde)

Mrs C Stevenson  Northampton January 2017

We hired a bike in Playa Del Carmen and cycles 30k along the front with only 100m on the road. Lovely way to explore with no traffic and stop for regular refreshment. The shop advised where the less touristy parts of the island were to explore by bike. Cesare Manrique's home in Haria was lovely as was the trip to La Gracisosa-reminded us of Sark and wished we could have spent an evening or two here as well.

anon   January 2017

Visiting Lanzarote was a delight, no obvious commercialisation in the areas we visited, no intrusive advertising hoardings, many roads with speed limits, at 60kph, fabulous scenery and much of interest both geologically and historically. The Termesana guided walk and the guide were excellent.

Mrs L Jowett  Stockport January 2017

Highlights for us were the guided walk round the National Park, our trip to La Graciosa, Manrique's house in Haria and the Monte Cuervo. Going inside the crater was quite magical.

We did most of Walk 11 but had to turn back because of very high winds. Although you give a general warning about not attempting walks in high wind, l think you should give a particular warning about this route.

Anon   January 2017

The walking and the views and photographic opportunities. Wonderful. 

Especially enjoyed Lanzarote and La Gomera

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: This customer combined our Lanzarote & La Graciosa holiday with the 14 night Canary Islands Experience

Mrs H Southall  Kendal January 2017

Takes time and closer attention to appreciate the distinctive features of Fuerteventura and Lanzarote. Became absorbed by the volcanic character and the distinctive ecology. Sea swimming possible in January. Wished we had taken a good bird guide.  

At the building in the Timanfaya National Park found excellent small book 'Lanzarote, Blind crabs, Hoopoes and Volcanoes - a Guide to the countryside, plants and animals of an exceptional volcanic island.' by Horst Wilkins 12 Euros.

Anon   December 2016

The guided tour to the volcanic park was a brilliant way to begin the holiday as it set the scene & introduced us to our excellent Canarian guide Christiana.  We chose to do the bus tour straight afterwards which was informative & enjoyable.  

All the food was very good, the tasting menu at La Tagala superb.

We would have rated this holiday 4 stars if not for the weather - we had not expected to walk in hail!  However that is the risk we took with our dates.  Being able to walk up into the hills from our excellent hotel was great.

Mr Fuller, Swindon   November 2016

The guided walk in Timanfaya National Park was excellent and shouldn't be missed if available.

Mrs L Rock  Luton November 2016

The guided walk from the visitors centre at Mancha Blanca through the lava fields was extremely interesting. Christina our guide was excellent and informative, this really helped us understand the landscape we were walking through. Also the audio guide about Lanzarote and the points of interest which was part of the car package was useful.

Mrs S Mann  Woodford Green November 2016

Highlights were the walk in the Timanfaya Park, the walk up and around Tinasoria, the walk over to Femes, the Cactus Garden and the walk from Haria. We also really enjoyed the walk around Montana Cuervo which gives you the chance to walk inside a crater. Dinner at El Golfo watching the sun set were also delightful. Jose was a very helpful and friendly host and the other staff were also very pleasant.

Ms L Sykes  York October 2016

The Mirador Del Río and the Jameos del Agua were a big surprise. Teguise is a lovely town to explore, but not on market day,

The walk round Timanfaye was excellent. If you have done the walking tour, the bus trip round doesn't add anything. 

There is v little, if any shade on the walks and finding somewhere to sit was also a bit of a challenge.

We loved the seafood at El Golfo.

Mr R Dobson  King's Lynn March 2016
Lanzarote turned out to be a real eye opener. The volcanic landscape was awe inspiring and there were many highlights on our holiday. In particular we enjoyed our trip to the island of Graciosa and the walk along the beach to La Cocina cove nestling under Montana Amarilla. We returned to the port and enjoyed a meal overlooking the cliffs of the Risco. What a beautiful day. The other walks we undertook were also really enjoyable. We would also recommend the volcano bus tour for a real experience.
Apart from our Hotel La Casona (where the food was excellent) we were disappointed with the choice of places to eat in Yaiza, but that was more than made up by the choice in El Golfo. We found Jose's recommendation, Costa Azul, very good. There were plenty of locals in there - always a good recommendation.
We were quite late booking our holiday and so did not manage to get on the Timanfaya walk in the National Park. However we looked at the Natn. Park website and found that they organised a similar (free) walk from El Golfo with an English speaking guide which we did manage to get on and which seemed to cover much of the same issues. We suggest you draw attention to this for those who cannot get on the other walk.
Miss L Fotheringham  Dundee February 2016
Our second walking holiday with Inn Travel. From the time that we picked up our hire car till the time we dropped it off a week later everything ran smoothly. The hotel Casona de Yaiza lived up to our expectations and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with the breakfasts particularly to our taste - nice to have freshly brewed coffee and a varied selection of fresh fruit, cereals, cheese, meats and pastries. The guided walk in Timanfya National Park was a very informative and interesting addition to the holiday. Found it very easy to drive around Lanzarote as the roads are excellent and not too busy. I'm sure this will not be our last walking holiday with Inn Travel and have recommended them to several friends.
Anonymous  . February 2016
The boat trip across to La Graciosa is well worth it with lovely views of the cliffs on Lanzarote and of the two harbours at either end, as well as nice beaches on the island.  The north of Lanzarote is also much greener and very attractive as are the towns of Teguise and Haria.
Mrs S Webb  Crawley February 2016
Walking from the hotel over the hilltops to Fermes, the guided walk through the Lava fields with a guide.  Car was a bit basic! Not all the restaurants were open as stated.

Mr C Syer  Great Missenden February 2016
Think the three dinners in a week idea is a very good one.
Mrs K Stabler  Welwyn February 2016
We were disappointed that we were unable to get a place on the guided walk at Timanfaya, but the coach trip through the park is fabulous, an absolute must, and at a very reasonable price. Walk 7 gives you the opportunity to walk in the lava fields, which is quite an experience, and the views of the sea around Playa del Paso are stunning.
We would also recommend both Cesar Manrique museums, the artist had such an influence on the development of Lanzarote, and his ideas and architecture are fascinating.

Mr Mather  Blackburn February 2016
The coastline around Papyago, El Golfo and the north of the island is beautiful and wild. Manriques house in Haria was a highlight.
Anonymous  . February 2016
The guided walking tour of the National Park was cancelled because of bad weather, but the bus tour was  really excellent.
We loved the walk to Femes and had a  lovely lunch at Il Balcone, where the balcony is a wind-sheltered sun-trap, with a view down to the sea at Playa Blanca.

Mr C J Berg  Pontypool February 2016
A lovely small hotel with real character.  Yaiza is a very attractive village with all the facilities we needed. However we discovered some excellent restaurants in El Golfo (especially La Lapa), and this made the quality of the food in the hotel seem quite average.  We were unable to do many of the walks, but the booklet gave us plenty of other things to do. Lovely island and most is quite unspoilt and quiet.

Mr S Wright  Nottingham January 2016
Highlights - A wonderful introduction to the amazing landscape of Southern Lanzarote, with a wide range of walks and excellent route descriptions.
Recommendations - If staying at the Casona de Yaiza take a travel kettle and decent tea-bags. Worth a mention that if visiting the Visitor Centre at Timanfaya that there are no refreshments available there.

Anonymous  . January 2016
The highlights for us were the hotel (Casa de Hilario) its location (lovely views), the sheer variety of things to see and do. Obviously we were interested in the walks but the main highlights were the landscape and the two Cesar Manrique houses and his other interventions: contemporary art gallery, Mirador del Rio, Jameos del Aqua, the Cueva do los Verdes and Cactus Garden. We also found the restaurant recommendations very helpful and we enjoyed dining out.
Mr D Endicott  London January 2016
Lanzarote is not the most interesting place in the world.  The volcanic landscape can get boring.  But Lanzarote people work hard on their tourism the service and welcome was very high where ever we went and the weather was super.  Lots of sun during the day and warm enough in the evening to eat outside in a sheltered place.  We will go back for the sun.
Lanzarote converts  Bakewell January 2016
We loved anything to do with Cesar Manrique - Jameos del Agua and his house near Tahiche in particular. We also loved La Graciosa. Jose Ignacia has useful information. He told us to go to Timanfaya either before 10 or after 2 to avoid the coach tours! We went at 2 and got straight on to a bus going round. We also had a snack in the restaurant. You can only do so many walks over lava fields so we would recommend doing a walk in the National Park followed by one further north maybe round Haria. We found a lovely little snack bar by the sea in Arrieta full of local people. You could just sit and have a beer and a snack and watch the sea or the people! We didn't go to El Golfo but we will next time!
Mrs J Marshall  Reading January 2016
This was an excellent and very enjoyable holiday.  Our location was perfect - well away from crowded resorts.  All our Inntravel arrangements were seamless and we were very impressed with all aspects of the organisation.  
The accommodation was in a rural hotel, and as such we weren't expecting anything deluxe.  
We found the menu choices and the food in the restaurant a little disappointing, but service was friendly and the restaurant had a nice ambience.
Professor C Wall  Wirral January 2016
A wonderful holiday - our first visit to Lanzarote. We were lucky with super weather, and found we had taken too little for such warmth, so I had to rinse a few clothes. Variety of scenery, and the amount we learnt about volcanic country was excellent. We had been wrongly put off Lanzarote in the past, because we thought it was too touristy. Even the resort of Playa Blanca is tasteful and delightful. We learnt all about Cesar Manrique, and visited the two main houses and the Jameos de Agua and the Hervideros, as well as seeing many of his sculptures. His part in keeping the island unspoilt by tourism is impressive. It is essential to spend a day visiting his house in Haria and the Fondacion in Tahiche. We wish now we had used an extra day to see the National Park restaurant and visit the cactus garden. La Graciosa is lovely - especially on a sunny beach day. We just walked from the ferry around to the yellow mountain, and lazed.
We had 2 good meals at La Era in Yaiza, but it is hard to beat the hotel dining room.
The local wines are great.
Mrs K Tandy  Pulborough December 2015
We loved our week on Lanzarote and were amazed how easy it was to avoid the busloads of tourists. We hope to return very soon.
One highlight was the Termesana guided walk - we learnt so much from our very enthusiastic guide, and this really added to our holiday experience.
Another highlight was our day on La Graciosa - although we loved Lanzarote's volcanic landscape, La Graciosa provided a real contrast.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›