Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617001

+44 (0)1653 617001search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Spain & its Islands > Canary Islands > Lanzarote & La Graciosa

Lanzarote & La Graciosa

A land forged from fire

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mr M Harrison  Oxford October 2017

HIGHLIGHTS: Modern Art Museum MIAC (at Castillo de San Jose in the port of Arrecife); 3 good restaurants in walking distance

Mr S Corner  Richmond October 2017

An island of discovery and excellent walking with well marked paths. One tip for walking is to walk early before it's too hot in the middle of the day and remember to use mosiquito repellent.

Mr F Marshall  Wotton-under-edge April 2017

The walk through the National Park with a warden seemed tailored just for us and we felt privileged to be on it.

Ms T Cheung  Caterham April 2017

I had never previously wanted to set foot in the Canary Islands, with their reputation for being prime stag/hen do locations filled with lobster-red Brits staggering around drunk and "British food" restaurants putting me off. After this trip to Lanzarote however, I can say I have totally fallen in love with the island and plan to visit all the others eventually.

The Casona de Yaiza hotel is only a 20 minute drive from the airport and is very easy to find. It's also very well located for visiting the rest of the island, with the longest drive being an hour to the very northern tip. It's a lovely, characterful hotel with very nice food and friendly, helpful staff. The staff will always try their best to fulfil requests as well - if you need an item of clothing laundered they will carry that off with their main load to be washed off-site, and they would be happy to pack a lunch for us to take for a walk (we didn't need either of these services in the end, but it was good to know!). The main problem that we had with the hotel was the noise, as since it is a converted country house there is no soundproofing at all. In fact sounds outside appear to be amplified and carried into your room. Take earplugs if you're a light sleeper! Having said that, I'm a light sleeper and apart from insensitive guests getting up very early to leave one day I was only really woken up by the en masse chirping of the birds in the morning. 

Walking in Lanzarote was more varied than we expected, ranging from stark, jagged lava fields and black sand beaches to surprisingly green mountains and pure white sand dunes. We loved the magnificent views from the top of Atalaya, the second highest mountain on Lanzarote. La Geria, with its grapevines tucked into their protective inverted cones, was also delightful to walk through. Wine enthusiasts will love exploring the many bodegas of the region, including the El Grifo Wine Museum. The lovely island of La Graciosa is also a must-see.

The Termesana guided walk in the Timanfaya National Park was brilliant and provided a lot of information about the island. We felt that having done the guided walk the subsequent trip we took to Montanas del Fuego wasn't really necessary, although there are some great views during the bus tour, as the sheer number of tourists made it feel extremely commercial and not like the natural wonder that it is.

For those after a nice sunset, El Golfo is the place to go if you fancy a tasty seafood supper with it. Otherwise we stumbled across an interesting little "island", La Isleta, just north-east of La Santa, that has uninterrupted views out to sea - quite peaceful and perfect for a spot of time-lapse photography. The Montana Roja, a relatively easily walked mountain near Playa Blanca, would make for a stunning sunset view also.

 Lanzarote won me over with its raw, natural beauty and the sheer warmth of its people. I enjoyed the holiday so much that I've been trying to cook Canarian cuisine since we got back in an attempt to recapture the atmosphere, but of course it's not the same as being there! We don't often return to places we've visited before, but we would very much like to go back one day.

Mrs J Gray  Newark March 2017

Excellent holiday in a great location & hotel. Fantastic service from start to finish. Will certainly recommend to friends.

Anon   March 2017

We were fascinated by the very fresh looking volcanic devastation, 300 years on. We particularly enjoyed the walk through the reserve with an incredibly knowledgable guide, the visitor centre itself, the short Montana Cuervo walk and, although more touristy, the bus ride through the park was also well worth it. This set the scene for the many walks through the volcanic landscape. We concentrated on the south of the island, leaving the north and La Graciosa for another time, yet still had plenty to do. Meals at Casona de Yaiza were superb. La Era was also good and may have had more traditional dishes including goat and rabbit.

maggie Worcester   March 2017

Hotel in lovely interesting setting and very convenient for various trips round island.  We couldn't get on guided tour of Timanfaya park but went on the coach tour which was one of the highlights of our visit. Another highlight was our visit to Cesar Manrique's house.

Unfortunately unable to do any walking due to sciatica.

Dr S Hill  Northwood February 2017

Walking tour in national park was outstanding and only sorry we couldn't get on to it on our 1st full day.

Your recommendations on eating out were very good.

Mrs D Carter  Pershore February 2017

Interesting and attractive walking with lovely architecture thanks to Cesar Manrique whose homes we visited. Very good guided walk in National Park with informative and friendly guide (Christina). The week before our holiday there had been a little rain which meant a profusion of wild flowers in the lava fields - a real bonus and treat. A piece of advice for future visitors - take your own books on flowers and birdlife in Lanzarote as we could find no bookshops since we did not wish to travel to Arricefe where there is a good bookshop apparently.

Catriona & Mark   February 2017

Highlights were Farmara Cliffs and walking from Yaiza to Femes.

Best part of the holiday was a concert we attended in Teguise.  urcell's opera "The Fairy Queen". Look at posters outside the supermarket in Yaiza to see what is on locally. Not a tourist event. Local folk came.  

Anonymous  Ashford February 2017

This was one of our best holidays; we enjoyed it from start to finish. We were very pleased with the hotel and our choice of room, as we were too with the range of walks recommended, including the fascinating guided walk in the National Park. We were also very impressed by the whole Cesar Manrique 'story' and his influence on the successful development of Lanzarote as a resort island and biosphere. Our week there surpassed our expectations and was made all the more memorable by the friendliness of the local people we met and the good quality food and wine to be found in restaurants all over the island.  (we would recommend to you one seriously good slow food restaurant we came across in Haria called La Puerto Verde)

Mrs C Stevenson  Northampton January 2017

We hired a bike in Playa Del Carmen and cycles 30k along the front with only 100m on the road. Lovely way to explore with no traffic and stop for regular refreshment. The shop advised where the less touristy parts of the island were to explore by bike. Cesare Manrique's home in Haria was lovely as was the trip to La Gracisosa-reminded us of Sark and wished we could have spent an evening or two here as well.

anon   January 2017

Visiting Lanzarote was a delight, no obvious commercialisation in the areas we visited, no intrusive advertising hoardings, many roads with speed limits, at 60kph, fabulous scenery and much of interest both geologically and historically. The Termesana guided walk and the guide were excellent.

Mrs L Jowett  Stockport January 2017

Highlights for us were the guided walk round the National Park, our trip to La Graciosa, Manrique's house in Haria and the Monte Cuervo. Going inside the crater was quite magical.

We did most of Walk 11 but had to turn back because of very high winds. Although you give a general warning about not attempting walks in high wind, l think you should give a particular warning about this route.

Anon   January 2017

The walking and the views and photographic opportunities. Wonderful. 

Especially enjoyed Lanzarote and La Gomera

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: This customer combined our Lanzarote & La Graciosa holiday with the 14 night Canary Islands Experience

Mrs H Southall  Kendal January 2017

Takes time and closer attention to appreciate the distinctive features of Fuerteventura and Lanzarote. Became absorbed by the volcanic character and the distinctive ecology. Sea swimming possible in January. Wished we had taken a good bird guide.  

At the building in the Timanfaya National Park found excellent small book 'Lanzarote, Blind crabs, Hoopoes and Volcanoes - a Guide to the countryside, plants and animals of an exceptional volcanic island.' by Horst Wilkins 12 Euros.

Anon   December 2016

The guided tour to the volcanic park was a brilliant way to begin the holiday as it set the scene & introduced us to our excellent Canarian guide Christiana.  We chose to do the bus tour straight afterwards which was informative & enjoyable.  

All the food was very good, the tasting menu at La Tagala superb.

We would have rated this holiday 4 stars if not for the weather - we had not expected to walk in hail!  However that is the risk we took with our dates.  Being able to walk up into the hills from our excellent hotel was great.

Mr Fuller, Swindon   November 2016

The guided walk in Timanfaya National Park was excellent and shouldn't be missed if available.

Mrs L Rock  Luton November 2016

The guided walk from the visitors centre at Mancha Blanca through the lava fields was extremely interesting. Christina our guide was excellent and informative, this really helped us understand the landscape we were walking through. Also the audio guide about Lanzarote and the points of interest which was part of the car package was useful.

Mrs S Mann  Woodford Green November 2016

Highlights were the walk in the Timanfaya Park, the walk up and around Tinasoria, the walk over to Femes, the Cactus Garden and the walk from Haria. We also really enjoyed the walk around Montana Cuervo which gives you the chance to walk inside a crater. Dinner at El Golfo watching the sun set were also delightful. Jose was a very helpful and friendly host and the other staff were also very pleasant.

Ms L Sykes  York October 2016

The Mirador Del Río and the Jameos del Agua were a big surprise. Teguise is a lovely town to explore, but not on market day,

The walk round Timanfaye was excellent. If you have done the walking tour, the bus trip round doesn't add anything. 

There is v little, if any shade on the walks and finding somewhere to sit was also a bit of a challenge.

We loved the seafood at El Golfo.

Mr R Dobson  King's Lynn March 2016
Lanzarote turned out to be a real eye opener. The volcanic landscape was awe inspiring and there were many highlights on our holiday. In particular we enjoyed our trip to the island of Graciosa and the walk along the beach to La Cocina cove nestling under Montana Amarilla. We returned to the port and enjoyed a meal overlooking the cliffs of the Risco. What a beautiful day. The other walks we undertook were also really enjoyable. We would also recommend the volcano bus tour for a real experience.
Apart from our Hotel La Casona (where the food was excellent) we were disappointed with the choice of places to eat in Yaiza, but that was more than made up by the choice in El Golfo. We found Jose's recommendation, Costa Azul, very good. There were plenty of locals in there - always a good recommendation.
We were quite late booking our holiday and so did not manage to get on the Timanfaya walk in the National Park. However we looked at the Natn. Park website and found that they organised a similar (free) walk from El Golfo with an English speaking guide which we did manage to get on and which seemed to cover much of the same issues. We suggest you draw attention to this for those who cannot get on the other walk.
Miss L Fotheringham  Dundee February 2016
Our second walking holiday with Inn Travel. From the time that we picked up our hire car till the time we dropped it off a week later everything ran smoothly. The hotel Casona de Yaiza lived up to our expectations and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with the breakfasts particularly to our taste - nice to have freshly brewed coffee and a varied selection of fresh fruit, cereals, cheese, meats and pastries. The guided walk in Timanfya National Park was a very informative and interesting addition to the holiday. Found it very easy to drive around Lanzarote as the roads are excellent and not too busy. I'm sure this will not be our last walking holiday with Inn Travel and have recommended them to several friends.
Anonymous  . February 2016
The boat trip across to La Graciosa is well worth it with lovely views of the cliffs on Lanzarote and of the two harbours at either end, as well as nice beaches on the island.  The north of Lanzarote is also much greener and very attractive as are the towns of Teguise and Haria.
Mrs S Webb  Crawley February 2016
Walking from the hotel over the hilltops to Fermes, the guided walk through the Lava fields with a guide.  Car was a bit basic! Not all the restaurants were open as stated.

Mr C Syer  Great Missenden February 2016
Think the three dinners in a week idea is a very good one.
Mrs K Stabler  Welwyn February 2016
We were disappointed that we were unable to get a place on the guided walk at Timanfaya, but the coach trip through the park is fabulous, an absolute must, and at a very reasonable price. Walk 7 gives you the opportunity to walk in the lava fields, which is quite an experience, and the views of the sea around Playa del Paso are stunning.
We would also recommend both Cesar Manrique museums, the artist had such an influence on the development of Lanzarote, and his ideas and architecture are fascinating.

Mr Mather  Blackburn February 2016
The coastline around Papyago, El Golfo and the north of the island is beautiful and wild. Manriques house in Haria was a highlight.
Anonymous  . February 2016
The guided walking tour of the National Park was cancelled because of bad weather, but the bus tour was  really excellent.
We loved the walk to Femes and had a  lovely lunch at Il Balcone, where the balcony is a wind-sheltered sun-trap, with a view down to the sea at Playa Blanca.

Mr C J Berg  Pontypool February 2016
A lovely small hotel with real character.  Yaiza is a very attractive village with all the facilities we needed. However we discovered some excellent restaurants in El Golfo (especially La Lapa), and this made the quality of the food in the hotel seem quite average.  We were unable to do many of the walks, but the booklet gave us plenty of other things to do. Lovely island and most is quite unspoilt and quiet.

Mr S Wright  Nottingham January 2016
Highlights - A wonderful introduction to the amazing landscape of Southern Lanzarote, with a wide range of walks and excellent route descriptions.
Recommendations - If staying at the Casona de Yaiza take a travel kettle and decent tea-bags. Worth a mention that if visiting the Visitor Centre at Timanfaya that there are no refreshments available there.

Anonymous  . January 2016
The highlights for us were the hotel (Casa de Hilario) its location (lovely views), the sheer variety of things to see and do. Obviously we were interested in the walks but the main highlights were the landscape and the two Cesar Manrique houses and his other interventions: contemporary art gallery, Mirador del Rio, Jameos del Aqua, the Cueva do los Verdes and Cactus Garden. We also found the restaurant recommendations very helpful and we enjoyed dining out.
Mr D Endicott  London January 2016
Lanzarote is not the most interesting place in the world.  The volcanic landscape can get boring.  But Lanzarote people work hard on their tourism the service and welcome was very high where ever we went and the weather was super.  Lots of sun during the day and warm enough in the evening to eat outside in a sheltered place.  We will go back for the sun.
Lanzarote converts  Bakewell January 2016
We loved anything to do with Cesar Manrique - Jameos del Agua and his house near Tahiche in particular. We also loved La Graciosa. Jose Ignacia has useful information. He told us to go to Timanfaya either before 10 or after 2 to avoid the coach tours! We went at 2 and got straight on to a bus going round. We also had a snack in the restaurant. You can only do so many walks over lava fields so we would recommend doing a walk in the National Park followed by one further north maybe round Haria. We found a lovely little snack bar by the sea in Arrieta full of local people. You could just sit and have a beer and a snack and watch the sea or the people! We didn't go to El Golfo but we will next time!
Mrs J Marshall  Reading January 2016
This was an excellent and very enjoyable holiday.  Our location was perfect - well away from crowded resorts.  All our Inntravel arrangements were seamless and we were very impressed with all aspects of the organisation.  
The accommodation was in a rural hotel, and as such we weren't expecting anything deluxe.  
We found the menu choices and the food in the restaurant a little disappointing, but service was friendly and the restaurant had a nice ambience.
Professor C Wall  Wirral January 2016
A wonderful holiday - our first visit to Lanzarote. We were lucky with super weather, and found we had taken too little for such warmth, so I had to rinse a few clothes. Variety of scenery, and the amount we learnt about volcanic country was excellent. We had been wrongly put off Lanzarote in the past, because we thought it was too touristy. Even the resort of Playa Blanca is tasteful and delightful. We learnt all about Cesar Manrique, and visited the two main houses and the Jameos de Agua and the Hervideros, as well as seeing many of his sculptures. His part in keeping the island unspoilt by tourism is impressive. It is essential to spend a day visiting his house in Haria and the Fondacion in Tahiche. We wish now we had used an extra day to see the National Park restaurant and visit the cactus garden. La Graciosa is lovely - especially on a sunny beach day. We just walked from the ferry around to the yellow mountain, and lazed.
We had 2 good meals at La Era in Yaiza, but it is hard to beat the hotel dining room.
The local wines are great.
Mrs K Tandy  Pulborough December 2015
We loved our week on Lanzarote and were amazed how easy it was to avoid the busloads of tourists. We hope to return very soon.
One highlight was the Termesana guided walk - we learnt so much from our very enthusiastic guide, and this really added to our holiday experience.
Another highlight was our day on La Graciosa - although we loved Lanzarote's volcanic landscape, La Graciosa provided a real contrast.

Mike Barrell  Caldicot November 2015
We had a great inexpensive fish meal at the Especialidad en Pescado y Mariscos Frescos in El Golfo. It’s the last restaurant before the start of the walk along the coast and adjacent to the car park.
Walk 10 inside and around the volcano was particularly spectacular and interesting.

Mr T Lamb  Woking November 2015
For me the Termesana guided walk was a highlight, we had a very passionate guide who was hugely protective of the  area, and  I think instilled into the group just how significant what we were seeing was and how fragile too.
We took the bus trip through Timanfaya – breath-taking.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›