Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > Norway > Lofoten Cottages: an Arctic Island Discovery

Lofoten Cottages: an Arctic Island Discovery

Lofoten Islands – awe-inspiring landscapes

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Anon   July 2018

This holiday exceeded expectations on all levels. The accommodation was perfect and in an excellent location to explore Lofoten. The scenery is breathe taking and the views from Justadtinden brought a tear to my eye. The walks provided were varied and of differing levels of hardness although we would have liked more mountainous ones.

The facilities in the Rorbu were excellent. We ate in a few times as there are limited dining out options close by.

We highly recommend this holiday and would go back in a heart beat. 

Mrs DJ Cheshire  Bradford-on-avon June 2018

Experiencing the midnight sun at Eggum was one highlight for us.  Regarding walking we enjoyed the spectacular 360 degree views from Justadtind (walk 3) and standing in snow near the Munkebu mountain hut (walk 7). Nusfjord, the Viking Musuem at Borge and the boat trip up Trollfjord were all great.  We enjoyed some great fish meals out and dining in the restaruant on site, as well as some self catering in the cosy rorbu.   The scenery throughtout was stunning and we loved learning all about the harvesting, drying and export of stockfish!  The Lofoten Islands are a beautiful and interesting place to holiday.

Mrs L Smith  Yelverton May 2018

The holiday was tremendous and we thoroughly enjoyed the relaxation and the whole ambience of the Islands. Recommend this trip for those who love nature and the outdoors. Do not go if you want clubs, pubs and nightlife. This is an unspoiled place and long may it continue that way.

Ms F Scrivener  Lutterworth September 2017

Personal highlights - seeing the Northern Lights (get onto the internet to look at the forecast for these - to make sure that you go and take a look at the right time if the forecast is good!). Sea Eagles and lots of wonderful walks - with lots and lots of hill climbs (we are told by our GPS gadget that over the 2 weeks, we walked for around 80 miles and climbed at least 2 miles!). We learned to be wary of pictures of hikers on walking trails against red backgrounds and of talk of ropes and chains to assist with the walks!  These make for challenging, if exhilarating walks!

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers combined our walk, The Serene Hardangerfjord, with a single-centre stay, Lofoten Cottages - an Arctic Island Discovery

Mrs M Baxter  Maidenhead May 2017

An incredible place with lovely people and stunning scenery! Planned with perfection by the inntravel staff.

Mr M Boon  London September 2016

The Lofoten islands are stunning. The Rorbu cottages in Mortsund provided excellent quality accomodation and were an ideal base from which to explore the islands

Mr R Liddell  Sittingbourne August 2016

This was a memorable holiday.    The accommodation was warm and cosy.    The views from the Rorbu cottage were spectacular as was the Lofoten scenery.    The weather was surprisingly mild (shorts and t shirts when the sun shone).    The highlights were the walk up Justadtind on a stunningly beautiful day; (you could face in any direction and be absolutely gobsmacked by what you saw); the sunsets; the fishing trip down Trollfjord from Svolvaer (with fish soup included).    One recommendation is to be prepared to spend a lot because nothing is cheap!

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›

Land of the Midnight Sunbathing
“This otherworldly archipelago in the far reaches of northern Norway revealed itself to be a place of improbably jagged, snow-capped mountains surrounded by sea as clear and sparkly as liquid diamonds.”
Carl Wilkinson, Financial Times, 2 March 2012
To read the full article, visit the Financial Times website
Norway – Cod’s own Country
“Tiny fishing communities are scattered along the shoreline, the rust-red ‘rorbus’, their traditional all-wood fishermen’s cabins, standing out against the blue of the ocean.”
Wendy Driver, The Mail on Sunday, 13 January 2009
To read the full article, click here