Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617002

+44 (0)1653 617002search
      our holidays > Walking Holidays > France > Provence > The Provence Long Trail

The Provence Long Trail

The heart of Provence
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mr T Edwards  USA May 2018

Each day's walk provided unexpected beauty, variety, solitude, and cultural immersion. It was a thoroughly fulfilling journey from beginning to end.

Ms A Young  USA April 2018

This was a great trip. We enjoyed everything: the beautiful scenery on the walks, the interesting variety of accommodations, and the delicious food that we experienced along the way. The hosts were all helpful and friendly, and all of the pre-arranged taxi connections and luggage transfers worked like clockwork!

Mr J Paul  USA September 2017

A very enjoyable trip this past September with many and varied long walks through beautiful scenery. We were rewarded after a drizzly afternoon by a fantastic double rainbow at La Campagne Berne, which was at the perfect spot for viewing. The walk and visit to the Fort de Buoux was especially noteworthy, as was the walk along the tops of the cliffs above the Auberge de Seguins in its spectacular setting.

We were surprised, given the popularity of the region, that we met hardly any other walkers until we got to Fontaine de Vaucluse, where we met a few. 

AnnenKen   September 2017

La Campagne Berne: Relaxed and laid back, charming and rustic, Cafe Niozelles very good - we made up a circular walk of our own to include the Cafe, getting suitably lost, which brought home early the lesson of following the walk notes very carefully. Walks around here are a little "agricultural", limited access farmland.

Transfer walk to Forcalquier disappointing, mostly on tarmac, we chose to take picnic for which we were grateful as it seemed further than it looked on paper, we thought the diversion up to St Pierre worthwhile, even if you can't go into the chapel - if you have a suitably technical camera poke it through the mesh in the locked door for a very atmospheric interior complete with cruxifix. Final approach after the town, twisting and turning through new housing estate somewhat frustrating, although discovering the half open door to the garden of La Bergerie de la Beaudine was a great delight. Perhaps the relatively short distance along the main road could be indicated as an alternative, if the traffic isn't too bad. We did not feel like going back to Forcalquier but Les Terrasses de la Bastide is quite literally on your doorstep and perfectly acceptable if a little bourgeoise. Unfortunately Aux Deux Anges was fully booked but not having to trail out after a good days walk has great virtue. Virginie (and the dogs) made us very welcome.

Read full review >
Mrs W Moyles  Crowthorne June 2017

We are accustomed to the varied walks and accommodations that characterise Inntravel's holidays but on our Provence trail, Inntravel worked hard to create a personalised itinerary to adjust to our needs.

The Provence trail provided us with memorable walks to visit hill villages and to see vistas of purple lavender and valleys stretching miles around as well as that magical walk through the lush gorge at Buoux. This trail was interspersed with visits en route to a monastery; art galleries;a sculpture garden and the magnificent Roussillon ochre cliffs.Each day gave us a new experience to create long-lasting memories. The accommodations were equally varied: Bruno and Eric's beautifully renovated barn; the quaint Auberge de Sequins' warm greeting as we exited the gorge; the water-mill at Hotel du Poete to name just a few. What was uniform throughout, however, was the genuine friendliness of all the hoteliers and staff . The transfer of our luggage and, in a couple of occasions ourselves, was superbly organised and seamless.

We endorse Inntravel 's decision not to arrange holidays in July and August because of the heat. Contrary to certain politician's disbelief in climate change,the unusual intense heat mid-June meant we were faced with walking in mid to high 30 degrees and two walks we had to forgo! Nevertheless would we repeat this holiday? Oh yes, if only Inntravel didn't have so many others to try as well!

 

Ms N Mazgaj  USA May 2017

For the last seven years, I have traveled from the United States to various countries of western Europe with a group of fellow hikers.  We usually walk for a couple of weeks (anywhere from 100 to 200 kilometers) from inn to inn.  On two occasions, instead of making our own arrangements we decided to use the services of Inntravel (a walk through Catalonia in 2011 and this year on the long Provence trail).  We have just completed our hike in Provence, and have now made the decision that, from now on, we're going with Inntravel.  We have nothing but praise for this company that offers exceptional value for the price it charges for its services--knowledgeable, friendly, and patient office staff, prompt and clear communications during the booking process, thorough documentation to prepare for the trip, excellent in-country accommodations and welcoming hoteliers, reliable transfer of luggage and friendly drivers, nutritious picnics for walkers and very good restaurants when included.  But most impressive is the quality of the walking notes provided for self-guided hikes.  Inntravel self-guided walks take you into the heart of the country you are visiting, on beautiful mountain trails and country lanes, through picturesque villages, weaving and meandering throughout the countryside on a web of interconnecting walking trails. The notes are well organized, detailed, easy to follow, and clear about the terrain you will be walking on (quality, elevation gain, etc.)  And best of all, they alert you to historical and cultural sites you will be going through, and provide you with the background and significance of the site.  This year our two weeks walking in Provence exceeded our expectations in every way--we are even talking about doing it again.

Anon   May 2017

I look forward to using your services again.

Mrs L Archer  USA May 2017

Of our several trips in France, Provence the Long Trail has been our absolute favorite. Excellent hiking, notes, accommodations, and food. The air was always scented with roses, honeysuckle, Scottish Broom, and linden. In late May, I found 5 or 6 species of orchids. The people were all friendly. I am seriously considering returning to Provence same time, next year.

Ms S Fratepietro  USA April 2017

Provence is a beautiful area to walk in, but it requires an ability to endure long ascents and descents over stony and sometimes slippery, steep terrain.  The hotels are wonderful, as is the food, and the French people we met were uniformly nice and welcoming even though we did not speak French.  Inntravel walk notes were superb, as was the booking service before the trip.  

Dr P Oakley  Lewes June 2016

The walking was excellent. One of my best Inntravel holidays. The walks were quiet, with great variety, and the weather glorious. If I could, I would make the Provence Long Trail even longer or have 3 or 4 nights at every hotel. I have two highlights - the wonderful gorge on the approach to Boux (I half expected to see Neanderthals or Hobbits). So green, still and mysterious. The other was the river at Fontaine de Vaucluse. I have never seen such clear, clean water ... and the trout were enormous.

Anon   June 2016

Exceptional holiday.  The beauty of this holiday was that every place, every hotel and every walk was different.  If you didn't read ahead like ourselves the anticipation of discovering your next hotel was a regular highlight.  To have Eric and Bruno at the first hotel set the scene and the right tone for the rest of the holiday.  Well done InnTravel.  

The remoteness of some of the walks was amazing, some days we didn't meet any other person.  

As a naturalist the butterflies, dragonflies and birds were amazing and the time allowed for each walk made the enjoyment of these possible.  The sheer amount of hairstreak butterflies feeding low to the ground was incredible and to watch the 'beautiful demoiselles' dancing in great numbers on the river at Fontaine de Vaucluse was special.  

Mrs W Rolph  Ely June 2016

Either week would stand alone for pleasurable walking but the long trail gives an experience that offers absolute rural tranquility and rugged scenery in contrast with the bustle and interest of historic towns and villages. An unbeatable combination.  

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›