Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617006

+44 (0)1653 617006search
      our holidays > Short Breaks > Norway > Tromsø Northern Lights Break

Tromsø Northern Lights Break

Deep within the Arctic Circle

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mr A Evans   March 2017

An excellent short break which we thoroughly enjoyed. Lovely personal hotel without large groups, close to all activities.

We did the 5 hour snowshoe hike as an optional additional excursion. This was fantastic. The time includes a 45 minute drive each way but this gave us an excellent opportunity to experience the snowy countryside outside of tromso in daylight. the hike itself is about a 120 minute climb to the summit of a small hill and 60 minute return. The views on the weay up are stunning, let alone from the summit. Walking in the snowshoes was great fun and quite physical but as we are keen walkers, it was relatively straight forward. Hiking boots would be essential. We booked it in advance through the Tromso Outdoors website. Should a bit more be made of this walk in the Inntravel materials provided for the Tromso Northen Lights Break as many clients may already be keen walkers?

One other thing we discovered is that there are lots of walking and snowshoeing opportunities from the top of the cable car. This was quite a revelation. Once away from the immediate area of the cable car, there were very few people on a gloriously sunny day on the extensive, gentle slopes of the hill. If we do the Kirkenes trip [Around North Cape] which starts from Tromso, we will probably come a day early, hire snowshoes for about £20/day each from Tromso Outdoors and go up the cable car. 

Mrs M Sutcliffe  Manchester March 2017

We enjoyed the dog sledding excursion booked through the tourist office.

Mrs P Bramidge  France March 2017

The hotel is in a great position overlooking the harbour - very warm, comfortable, friendly atmosphere and we were impressed with the meals - especially the waffles in the afternoon! 

We booked a dog sledding half day excursion which was great fun - it included time to play with some husky puppies in addition to the sled ride, followed by lunch. We were lucky to have crisp snow and blue skies and it was a highlight of our stay. We also visited Polaria and the Arctic Cathedral - both well worth the time spent there.

R and B, Kent.   February 2017

We were fortunate to see the amazing Northern Lights on all three evenings in Tromso thanks to the clear, calm weather. From talking to others, this was quite unusual. The word 'awesome' is overused but was the only suitable adjective to describe seeing the Aurora. A half hour walk up the hill and out of the city was repaid with the best view, due to less interference from light pollution. This also enabled us to experience a city covered in a thick blanket of snow where life continues to function smoothly - such a contrast to England!

We went this far north hoping to see the Northern Lights and lots of snow and our expectations were more than met. We will definitely return.

One tip - snow grips were essential on the snow and packed ice which was found on most pavements and paths.

Oslo provided a complete contrast but actually felt colder due to the cloudy, snowy weather. The Oslo Pass is good value and there is more than enough to do to justify a three night break.

Mrs M Skinner  York February 2017

The "Aurora Chasing" night was the highlight of our holiday and totally exceeded our expectations. Dan from Arctic Experience was a real star, friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and enthusiastic - as well as a very good photographer.

It is worth thinking about researching and booking any other excursions e.g dog sledding, that you might want to do before you go as these can get booked up quickly.

Mr A May  Aylesbury January 2017

The 'Hunting the Northern Lights' trip was excellent - we had to drive a couple of hours to find a break in the clouds but it was well worth it. The tour guide Dan was first class, really knowledgeable and full of enthusiasm.

anon   January 2017

The trip to hunt the Northern Lights with Dan was excellent.

Mrs J Fisher   December 2016

We had a very exciting trip to Tromso - we were extremely lucky in as much that we saw the Northern Lights to their full potential, and also the fact that at the time that we went it was mild weather and not minus temporatures.  The fact that we went on a Monday we only had one chance to see the lights with Dan (included in our trip) because of this we also booked, separately, a trip with another company called Arctic Explorers for our first full evening in Tromso.  They were extremely professional company, and took you to a warehouse where you were given an insulated suit/boots/mitts.  They also provided hot drinks and hot soup.  That evening we were extremely lucky and apparently it was the best "show" that they had had for some 3 weeks.   I would fully recommend this company.  With Dan the next evening, he also provided hot drinks etc., but his suits were not so warm and we had to put them on at the back of the van when we arrived at the chosen destination for viewing.  I think we had been so spoilt the night before that although we did see them they were not as good as the night before.  The weather didn't really help that night either as it was a bit cloudy, but Dan certainly knew his stuff and tried very hard to find the lights for us, getting back into Tromso at 3 am!!  Overall a fantastic trip, and one I will remember all my life.

Mrs V Hart  London December 2016

It was a wonderful holiday to celebrate our Big Birthdays and we could not find fault at all.  We thoroughly enjoyed it and we have returned with some very special memories.  We would thoroughly recommend Dan for the Northern Lights experience and very much enjoyed husky sledding and cross country skiing. Thank for helping us to celebrate in such a special way - and for organising the birthday bubbles in Tromso. 

PC  . February 2016
Quite simply the most joyous, thrilling and generally fabulous short break of my life.

Ms C Whittall  USA February 2016
Tromso is a lovely city and February is a great time to be there if you aren't afraid of a little cold. Seeing the northern lights with Dan was definitely a highlight. It would have been helpful to know he would bring tripods for all guests wanting to take photographs.
Clare Griffel  Bristol January 2016
We would like to recommend the restaurant Skirri, between the hotel and the Polar Museum, particularly for the excellent local beer!
We also enjoyed a minibus tour with Wandering Owl, which took us to many lovely viewpoints in the countryside around Tromsø, and provided an excellent lunch en route.
Ms B Griffin  Ashtead January 2016
The whole weekend experience exceeded our expectations, starting with arrival at the hotel and finding it to be in an excellent location. Breakfast and evening meal were included, which was a nice plus, particularly as eating out can be quite expensive. There were two key highlights for us; the first was the Arctic X Northern Lights excursion with Dan. We were beyond lucky to have gone out on a clear and wind free night (Saturday 23/01/16) and, down to Dan's experience and expertise, witnessed (with complete awe) the aurora. We were very aware that there are no guarantees the aurora will appear so you can imagine our delight to be able to say that we came and we saw. The second highlight was the dog sledding excursion at Tromsø Villmarkssenter - a great morning out. Highly recommended. Tromsø is a delightful location in itself - we cannot wait to go back.
Mrs E Widdowson  Hitchin January 2016
The holiday was well organised and arrangements easy to understand.  Information was readily available.  Tromsø was a delight, more attractive than we had expected.  We booked a dog-sledding activity which was a great experience, and the included Northern Lights excursion was excellent, the guide (Dan) could not have been more helpful and was an enthusiastic and charming man.  All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Anonymous  . December 2015
We liked Tromsø - it was very Christmassy and the Norwegians were helpful and friendly. They spoke excellent English. I would go back again and try some of the other excursions.
Mr G Shaw  Witney December 2015
Arctic Explorer with Dan was excellent - very enthusiastic and informative.
Mr J Wilson  Coventry November 2015
Overall an excellent holiday, the quality of the information pack received by Inntravel before we set off set high expectations which were certainly met. The city walks should definitely be followed as they gave a great way to see the city. The tour run by Dan at Arctic X was exceptional. An incredibly passionate guy who takes great pride in making sure you have the best Northern Lights experience, which we definitely did.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›