Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617001

+44 (0)1653 617001search
      our holidays > Short Breaks > Norway > Tromsø Northern Lights Break

Tromsø Northern Lights Break

Deep within the Arctic Circle

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Ms P Scott  Wallingford February 2018

Being new to Inntravel, and having worked in tour operating (skiing and summer) I was most impressed as I am generally critical as you might imagine having been in the trade! Very well done. An excellent tour from that first phone call on a Sunday evening when I didn’t expect anyone to answer the phone to the end of the tour.  We will use you again definitely maybe for a walking tour. Please keep us on your mailing list and send brochures. Thank you to al involved.

Miss K Scott  Wallingford February 2018

HIGHLIGHTS: seeing the Northern Lights, 5 hour cruise & reindeer sledding. TIP: pay for excursions in the UK.

Anon   February 2018

Great city break. Enjoyed the Lights every evenings even from the hotel which has an ideal location and a traditional feel on the seafront. Unfortunate that most places are shut in Sunday. The Northern Lights excursion with Dan is a 'must'. So well-organised and keen to keep his guests happy with the whole experience. Well worth it.

JJ   February 2018

Based on our experience given that airport transfers were not included, SAS being a pretty basic airline and the one excursion we booked with Inntravel was cancelled at short notice...we feel we'd probably have been better just organising the whole trip ourselves.

J & B, Yorkshire   February 2018

The hotel was highly recommendable - enjoyed the waffles and the raspberry jam was out of this world.

Dan out 'Lights' guide was excellent - supportive, interesting to talk to about arctic living and survival (his work in the army!); refreshments lovely and plenty to go at - we enjoyed the bonfire while we waited for the lights to appear.....which lucky for us, they did!

Suggest book tours on the internet, buy return tickets on airport bus, take crampons for boots, and plenty of available funds to enable you to really take advantage of the experience of Tromso and the arctic winter

name   January 2018

dress warmly but not bulky , have easy on/off snow boots . Highlight aurora fantastic also pleasure to experience dawn to dark and all the shades of light in a normal work day time slot.

Mr D Pechey  Stockport January 2018

The Wandering Owl Arctic Landscape day trip was excellent with an engaging and knowledgeable guide.  The half day Dog Sledding activity at the Villmarkssenter Tromso was an exciting snow outing.  

Mr R Simms  Tamworth December 2017

Clarion Hotel With - excellent value as we also received complimentary afternoon tea and evening meal. View from upgraded room fantastic. 'Arctic X' excursion to view the Northern Lights was fantastic! We were lucky to see a fabulous show, but Dan the guide was an excellent choice, too! Very experienced and knowledgeable, provided hot food and drinks, warming fire and clothing if necessary and a fabulous video of the experience. Would recommend him highly!

 

 

anon   December 2017

This was a repeat of our trip taken in 2016. The weather wasn’t great for us to see whales but Dan's willingness to travel a good distance on snow-covered roads made sure we had a memorable view of the aurora.

 

INNTRAVEL NOTE: Dan led the Northern Lights excursion for these customers

Mr M Brown  Redhill November 2017

We couldn’t have asked for a better travel company. The service was amazing. The hotel was perfect and the activities unforgettable. I can’t wait for my next adventure with Inntravel. 

Mr A Evans   March 2017

An excellent short break which we thoroughly enjoyed. Lovely personal hotel without large groups, close to all activities.

We did the 5 hour snowshoe hike as an optional additional excursion. This was fantastic. The time includes a 45 minute drive each way but this gave us an excellent opportunity to experience the snowy countryside outside of tromso in daylight. the hike itself is about a 120 minute climb to the summit of a small hill and 60 minute return. The views on the weay up are stunning, let alone from the summit. Walking in the snowshoes was great fun and quite physical but as we are keen walkers, it was relatively straight forward. Hiking boots would be essential. We booked it in advance through the Tromso Outdoors website. Should a bit more be made of this walk in the Inntravel materials provided for the Tromso Northen Lights Break as many clients may already be keen walkers?

One other thing we discovered is that there are lots of walking and snowshoeing opportunities from the top of the cable car. This was quite a revelation. Once away from the immediate area of the cable car, there were very few people on a gloriously sunny day on the extensive, gentle slopes of the hill. If we do the Kirkenes trip [Around North Cape] which starts from Tromso, we will probably come a day early, hire snowshoes for about £20/day each from Tromso Outdoors and go up the cable car. 

Mrs M Sutcliffe  Manchester March 2017

We enjoyed the dog sledding excursion booked through the tourist office.

Mrs P Bramidge  France March 2017

The hotel is in a great position overlooking the harbour - very warm, comfortable, friendly atmosphere and we were impressed with the meals - especially the waffles in the afternoon! 

We booked a dog sledding half day excursion which was great fun - it included time to play with some husky puppies in addition to the sled ride, followed by lunch. We were lucky to have crisp snow and blue skies and it was a highlight of our stay. We also visited Polaria and the Arctic Cathedral - both well worth the time spent there.

R and B, Kent.   February 2017

We were fortunate to see the amazing Northern Lights on all three evenings in Tromsø thanks to the clear, calm weather. From talking to others, this was quite unusual. The word 'awesome' is overused but was the only suitable adjective to describe seeing the Aurora. A half-hour walk up the hill and out of the city was repaid with the best view, due to less interference from light pollution. This also enabled us to experience a city covered in a thick blanket of snow where life continues to function smoothly – such a contrast to England!

We went this far north hoping to see the Northern Lights and lots of snow and our expectations were more than met. We will definitely return.

One tip – snow grips were essential on the snow and packed ice which was found on most pavements and paths.

Oslo provided a complete contrast but actually felt colder due to the cloudy, snowy weather. The Oslo Pass is good value and there is more than enough to do to justify a three-night break.

INNTRAVEL NOTE: These customers enjoyed a city stay in Oslo following our Tromsø Northern Lights winter  break

Mrs M Skinner  York February 2017

The "Aurora Chasing" night was the highlight of our holiday and totally exceeded our expectations. Dan from Arctic Experience was a real star, friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and enthusiastic - as well as a very good photographer.

It is worth thinking about researching and booking any other excursions e.g dog sledding, that you might want to do before you go as these can get booked up quickly.

Mr A May  Aylesbury January 2017

The 'Hunting the Northern Lights' trip was excellent - we had to drive a couple of hours to find a break in the clouds but it was well worth it. The tour guide Dan was first class, really knowledgeable and full of enthusiasm.

anon   January 2017

The trip to hunt the Northern Lights with Dan was excellent.

Mrs J Fisher   December 2016

We had a very exciting trip to Tromso - we were extremely lucky in as much that we saw the Northern Lights to their full potential, and also the fact that at the time that we went it was mild weather and not minus temporatures.  The fact that we went on a Monday we only had one chance to see the lights with Dan (included in our trip) because of this we also booked, separately, a trip with another company called Arctic Explorers for our first full evening in Tromso.  They were extremely professional company, and took you to a warehouse where you were given an insulated suit/boots/mitts.  They also provided hot drinks and hot soup.  That evening we were extremely lucky and apparently it was the best "show" that they had had for some 3 weeks.   I would fully recommend this company.  With Dan the next evening, he also provided hot drinks etc., but his suits were not so warm and we had to put them on at the back of the van when we arrived at the chosen destination for viewing.  I think we had been so spoilt the night before that although we did see them they were not as good as the night before.  The weather didn't really help that night either as it was a bit cloudy, but Dan certainly knew his stuff and tried very hard to find the lights for us, getting back into Tromso at 3 am!!  Overall a fantastic trip, and one I will remember all my life.

Mrs V Hart  London December 2016

It was a wonderful holiday to celebrate our Big Birthdays and we could not find fault at all.  We thoroughly enjoyed it and we have returned with some very special memories.  We would thoroughly recommend Dan for the Northern Lights experience and very much enjoyed husky sledding and cross country skiing. Thank for helping us to celebrate in such a special way - and for organising the birthday bubbles in Tromso. 

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›