Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617001

+44 (0)1653 617001search
      our holidays > Family holidays > Austria > Tyrol Adventure

Tyrol Adventure

A fun-filled Alpine playground

If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs K Sichel  Southampton August 2018

The cycling in Leutasch to the Spirit Gorge followed by the walk into Germany was fantastic for our family and we had a wonderful day. The Wellness therapist at the Inntaler Hof was fabulous and provided the whole family with massage treatments which was a first for the children and an experience they really enjoyed.

Mrs E Hart  Wadhurst August 2018

The walk between the two hotels was one of our favourite walks - in fact my husband and youngest daughter walked back to the first hotel to pick up the hire car (16 Miles in total).

Mr G Barnfather  Washington August 2018

The thing that struck me most was that this was a very well thought out holiday with lots of attention to detail. The suggested itineraries were invaluable to keep our two boys, 8 and 12, busy every day, meaning we never heard the dreaded queston of 'what shall we do today?' It was good that the two hotels were different which made it feel like we had two holidays. Needless to say both hotels were first class. 

The Burney Family, Manchester   August 2018

What a wonderful bonding experience we've had as a family, with breathtaking scenery, long cycle rides and challenging walks, but enjoying the lap of luxury after hard days out in the field. We're already choosing our next challenge!

Anon   August 2018

The holiday was excellent. Perfectly pitched activities and great venues and we were surprised at how much space we had in the family apartments in both hotels. The only slight problems were the service at the gala dinner at the Inntaler Hof; they couldn't cope with that many tables at once, and we were kept waiting for a very long time and ended up eating at a different time to our children. And the hotel receptionist at the same hotel neglected to tell us that it was an Austrian public holiday on the day we wanted to go to Innsbruck after helping us with transport. This meant that much of the city was closed when we visited. 

Inntravel response

Both we and the Inntalerhof are sorry that the service was not of the standard usually associated with the hotel, which almost always receives excellent feedback. The owners have passed on their thanks for these comments.

Mrs Collier, London   August 2018

The Tyrol Adventure holiday was very good. Both hotels were good in different ways. There was lots to do as a family and the bikes hired were very good.

Mrs L Prince  Solihull August 2018

Many aspects of this holiday such as the rail travel and cycling were new experiences for our family. We would definitely recommend travelling by train; we sat comfortably watching the ever changing scenery and weather. The time just seemed to fly by and we arrived at each station eager for the next train rather than weary of travelling. The nightjet sleeper train was particularly exciting for the children, they couldn't wait to go to bed.

Cycling was definitely a family highlight. It was wonderful to be able to cycle on dedicated paths without worrying about traffic with only the sound of the river and the crickets to be heard. The second day of cycling was our favourite as the gorge was just spectacular. We very much enjoyed the adventure of walking between hotels and can thoroughly recommend breaking the journey for lunch at restaurant Roperstubn on the top of mountain - the children were happily revived by a plate of kaiserschmarrn pancakes - though they do require a hearty appetite! Our teenage daughter was thrilled that the Hotel Kristall was exactly as she had imagined a Tyrolean hotel, both inside and out.

Your itinerary and information was so comprehensive that I have little in the way of tips or recommendations to add. The funicular railway and cable car to Rosshutte in Seefeld was great fun.

INNTRAVEL NOTE: This family chose to travel by Eurostar from London St Pancras to Brussels travelling outbound via Stuttgart and Munich and by overnight sleeper train from Innsbruck to Cologne on their return. 

Mr J Stone  Liverpool August 2018

The landscape for this trip was absolutely stunning. We were lucky enough to have glorious weather and could enjoy not only the very pleasant cycling and walking, but also eating al fresco en route in the alpine huts/restaurants and in Seefeld and Mittenwald. Hotel Kristal was particularly friendly and had a lovely atmosphere, although our room was rather hot given the weather. The view from our room at the Inntaler Hof was beyond compare, and whilst it was more formal than the Kristal, sitting out on the terrace at the end of a walk was very relaxing.  The day cycling/walking to the Spirit Gorge was absolutely sensational and we will definitely return.

anon   July 2018

Really nice and relaxing holiday which was helped by the great weather but was affected by the poor restaurant service [at Inntaler Hof] and flight delays.

Anon   July 2018

My daughter found the gears a little difficult to adjust to on her bike. Fortunately, I speak German and the lovely man in the bike shop explained the problem. I think it might be worth checking the bikes and providing notes where necessary if the mechanisms are tricky. Overall, we absolutely loved the holiday and would love to book with you again. The scenery was spectacular and it was a joy to know what we were doing each day and not have to make any plans. Every day was a highlight but we did especially love the view from the cafe before descending into the wood and arriving at our second hotel.

Dr L Jones  Enfield July 2018

An excellent holiday. Everything went to plan. Accommodation was great. Food was fantastic. Facilities really good - swimming pools, table tennis, tennis etc.

Excellent hospitality. Fun chatting to other Inntravel guests as we "passed" them.

Will definitely use them again and recommend to friends.

Mr S Cahill  Ireland June 2018

The holiday was everything I hoped it would be. The hotels were excellent, the scenery amazing and the excellent cycling and hiking notes made it all so easy. We really enjoyed it and will be back again.

Pickards   August 2017

We had an absolutely fabulous holiday. Austria was a surprising gem, it was so beautiful and friendly. It simplified our day to day planning by having set activities that were appropriate and well thought out. If you wanted to add extra days into the holiday we would recommend that you do this at the first hotel which was set in a beautiful, relaxing location with lots to explore on your doorstep.

Mrs L Cockerill  Bristol August 2017

An excellent active holiday with fantastic scenery, coupled with delightful and interesting breakfasts and evening meals in two lovely hotels. 

Mrs R Capel Cure  Ongar July 2017

Another magical holiday with Inntravel. Spectacular scenery, and a wonderful combination of cycling and walking, which took us on another unforgettable adventure. 

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›