Call Inntravel on
+44 (0)1653 617003

+44 (0)1653 617003search
      our holidays > Cycling Holidays > Germany > Rügen – an Island Revealed

Rügen – an Island Revealed

Around a glorious German holiday idyll
If you've experienced this holiday first hand, why not write a review?

We are keen for as many customers as possible to review their holiday. To make it easier to do so, since 2 October 2015 we have included a specific review section on our post-holiday questionnaire, and this is what we now publish here, unedited. Read our full review policy >

Mrs M Turgoose  Exmouth May 2019

An absolutely brilliant holiday. At the end we really wished we could do it all over again. The quality of information, equipment and hotels were all excellent. As ever you choose small hotels with character and excellent service from very friendly people. Rugen was a fascinating place to visit, with such beautiful seaside towns and lovely villages. I think that we were lucky to visit in May because the rape fields were in full flower and were so beautiful - I would recommend this time of year for the trip. I really liked the fact that very few people spoke English either, made it feel like we were truly in a different place.

Mrs G Laing  Weymouth September 2018

It is a lovely walk directly from the hotel at Lohme through the Jasmund National Park along a well-marked trail to Sassnitz from where there is an hourly bus back.  Peters bakery and cafe on the seafront at Sassnitz for lunch.

Cyclists are well-catered for with a good network of safe cycle paths.  It is popular with locals and holiday-makers alike of all ages and abilities.

Anon   September 2018

Rügen is a beautiful island and deserves to be better known. We saw no UK visitors whilst we were there, and apart from a couple of Dutch cars one day, all the visitors were German. A knowledge of German helps.
The first day's cycling was the longest day by far. The bikes are heavy, solid models built to cope with the frequently very rough ground, and so by the end of the first day, and even though we would consider ourselves fairly fit, we were exhausted. But it did become easier as the week progressed.  Day 4 with a walk in the national park was lovely, and the hotel had plenty of leaflets with walking routes. We took the suggested extension on Day 5, which was worth it. However, even though we checked the wind forecast as suggested (it was apparently a light wind), the long push back to rejoin the main route was tough, fighting the wind. Fields are huge, with no hedges or trees to provide windbreaks. In the interests of soil erosion and cyclists, Inntravel should petition Rügen farmers to plant windbreaks! Even if you don't do the route extension, you'll still encounter the wind for long stretches on the final leg to the ferry. The last day, on the Island of Hiddensee, was an absolute delight - like stepping back in time. Peaceful, beautiful and yes, a little bit windy too in places.
We were so lucky with the weather though, with sunshine throughout. The rain began 5 minutes after boarding the ferry back to the mainland. There weren't many hills, and some had signs telling cyclists to dismount. Permission to walk and push the heavy bikes up hills was fine by me. Most cycling is flat or gently rolling, but the 19th century cobbles in some villages were tough going.
The included dinners at the hotels Solthuss am See and the Panorama Hotel at Lohme were good, although we thought wine was relatively expensive. Germans seem to eat earlier than us in restaurants and when we were half-way through our meal at the village restaurant in Schalpode, we were the only diners left. If it's not peak season, you might want to consider dinner and transfers 7-8.30 pm, rather than the 7.30-9.30 arranged for us. Given the issue we'd had with our taxi transfer to the restaurant, arriving 30 minutes late, we had still finished two courses well before 9.30pm.

Mr M Curtis  Bury September 2018

How did you arrange for the migrating cranes to turn up right on cue?  As we passed through Neddesitz, nine called and flew circling over us. And you arranged for the train to Berlin to stop in the middle of nowhere but there were cranes feeding nearby.

The dining experience at all places was very good but exceptional at the Panorama - plus the welcome by Herr Ogilvie.

The whole holiday was a fascinating insight into what makes Germany tick. The people were so helpful [and didn't laugh much at my abysmal attempts to speak their language].

Mr M Ouldridge  Exeter September 2018

We really enjoyed the Konigsstuhl Visitor Centre near Lohme. The day cycling around Baabe was lovely, and we also appreciated the chance to see the grotesque Prora building and the work being done to convert some of it into luxury apartments!

Mrs K Rodgers  Stockport July 2018

An awesome experience. Ruegen is a lovely peaceful island. The cycling was good. The staff at the Soltus hotel in Baabe were lovely and we were greeted with sparkling wine. Food on the island was superb. The bikes were great. First try on an e.bike. Will do again.

Mrs S Carmichael  West Kilbride July 2018

Ruegen is a fascinating island and a real treat for cyclists.  The cycle paths in some parts are the best we have experienced and although the cobbled streets were sometimes a challenge, overall the routes were excellent.  Looking back we wished we had spent an extra night at Hotel Solthus am See.  The day cycling around that area was one of the best, but we would also have liked to hop on one of the boats which stopped there, and explore the coast, and the hotel itself is lovely, with good facilities.  I guess there's never enough time to do everything.  We were impressed by how courteous car drivers were towards us.  Sadly we can't say the same for a very angry pedestrian in Sellin, who berated me first in German, and then in English, for riding on a quiet pavement, instead of against the traffic in a one way street! 

Anon   June 2018

It really was a holiday island. The seaside towns with their elegant buildings, beautiful white beaches and old fashioned piers were a delight to explore and Hiddensee with its traffic free roads was a real place to relax and unwind. We loved all the different fish that we were able to try along with some of the other local produce. 

Mr J Matthews  Lewes June 2018

An ideal island for a cycling holiday.  The Baltic sunset at Lohme is very impressive.  

Mr D Booth  Ulverston September 2017

Nothing open in Breege until noon but food and drink available at Wittower Fähre.

Fast moving traffic on road as warned about in cycling notes page 54.

Hiddensee sadly disappointing due to many visitors and this was not high season.

Bikes adequate, very heavy, which made them difficult to handle on the cellar ramp at the Scheelehof.

The cranes appeared on cue!

Mrs G Bullock  Burton-on-trent September 2017

Despite the awful weather, we had a really pleasant holiday, with plenty to see in a lovely peaceful part of Germany. We really didn't rate your recommendation for the fish shack in Kleine Zicke, but found another on a different day which was exemplary, in the harbour in Breege - fantastic. Sassnitz was a real disappointment and definitely not worth the trip, but most of the other places were great.

BCH   July 2017

A very enjoyable holiday with beautiful open landscapes and not much cycling on roads, certainly not too hard for a 71 year old and a 63 year old.

Mr G Walker  Helensburgh June 2017

Day 1 - Slow amble through poppy-edged fields, woods and little villages. Highlight was coming across small bar at Gross Stresow in the warm sunny afternoon to cool off with a refreshing beer.

Anon   May 2017

Another Inntravel holiday we fully enjoyed! Lovely cycling tours, very nice hotels with friendly staff and a good mix of cycling and relaxing.

To find out more or plan your trip

request a call back ›
email us ›
book online ›